Longevity logo

Lupus The Wolf

A story about a struggle with auto immune disease

By Bev Peterson ReynoldsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lupus The Wolf
Photo by Aziz Jus on Unsplash

My story starts out in 1989. I was working as a Certified Nursing Assistant. I was noticing I was feeling more tired and had a terrible rash on my arms.

So I went to my family doctor and he said its from the chemicals you use at work. So as time went on it continued and didn't get any better. He ran some tests and told me he would call me if there was anything specific to worry about. That weekend I went camping and we laid on innertubes on the lake and I literally got so sunburned I couldnt stand it.

I got home and had a message on my phone (this was before cell phones) that I was diagnosed with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. I was mortified!

I immediately called the dermatologist and told him about my sunburn and he said oh my you better get in here right away so we get treatment started and give you ointment for the sunburns.

He then referred me to a rheumatologist. At that time he ran a battery of tests and determined that I indeed did have SLE. He started me a high dose of a steroid, called Prednisone. I took that for quite some time.

I was enrolled at College to become a Practical Nurse. I did go to school regardless of bad I hurt from head to toe. I took turns driving with another gal who was going to become a Practical Nurse. We studied all the way to school. I nearly left school because of the math. I hired a tutor and passed.

I became a LPN and landed a job in a small hospital. I was working in ER one night and became extremely ill. I was urinating blood and thought I just had a Urinary Tract Infection.

I went to my family doctor and he shook his head and said you need to go Mayo clinic In Rochester MN. I was taken there by my mother. I was so ill I couldnt get dressed so I went in my robe.

I remember being wheeled in, checked in and got a room. At the foot end of my bed was at least 8 doctors who all wanted to examine me.

I was then diagnosed with Lupus Nephritis. which is Lupus in the kidney where the kidneys are affected. I still urinating blood.

I had a kidney biopsy to diagnose the Lupus Nephritis. Which wasnt a walk in the park!

I was put on a medication that would reverse my kidneys to some degree but I would never be able to have children. I knew what I had to do.

I did the treatment which lasted about 6 weeks, I was being treated for Diabetes, hypertension, obesity.

I had a doctor for every diagnosis. I applied for Social Security Disability and was denied x 2. I got a lawyer and was approved.

I stayed on SSDI for 8 years. In that 8 years I had weight loss surgery and lost 200 lbs. Got divorced. Met a new man and was married again in 2006.

I was able to go off SSDI in 2010. I practiced my LPN by doing Nursing home charge nurse, Live in's with elderly, I took care of young adults with diseases. Then in 2013 we moved to Colorado.

I cared for a young girl and didnt really care for that since I had no children of my own. I landed a great nursing job in a very upscale nursing home where I absolutely loved working.

With the crime, drugs, high price of rent my husband and I decided to move back to Minnesota.

I ended up working in a less than desirable nursing job and my husband got a job at a place he hated.

One day I was getting into my husbands SUV and missed the step and landed flat on my back in the parking lot. I went to my family doctor where she took x rays and discovered I had a fractured pelvis. I was on LOA and never did recover.

I then applied for SSDI again and got on it in 3 months. I am still on SSDI but I am able to work from home assisting others who want to go on SSDI. I am a advocate. I work 3 days a week. I have a great boss and I am very happy with job.

I have a very ill husband who had is colon removed 4 years and is battling something called Pouchitis. He is not a well man. I care for him and 2 beautiful black cats.

My life isnt always pain free. I deal with kidney failure as my numbers keep dropping. I have the diabetes under control as I take a weekly injection called Trulicity. It has helped me to lose weight as well.

I dont know how long I am meant to be on this earth. But I will cherish every day that I am given by the grace of god I am still alive.

health
Like

About the Creator

Bev Peterson Reynolds

I am a retired nurse from Minnesota.

I have a lot of spare time and do enjoy writing stories and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.