Humans logo

Looking for love again?

A story about a gal who has been single for 2 years.

By Bev Peterson ReynoldsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Looking for love again?
Photo by Ahmed Yameen on Unsplash

Let me introduce myself. I am Valerie age 45 and single again after a fierce divorce.

Its been 2 years since I even thought about dating a man. But lately I am getting the lonely blues to spend time with someone.

Alot of my friends encouraged my to go on a dating website. I debated and then consulted with my friend and she led me onto a very well known dating site.

I signed up and started my search. Posted my pictue and a bit about me.

Before I knew it I had several "likes" and someone wanted to chat with me! I said oh why not?

So I started talking to this friendly guy, he was about my age and we had so much in common. After a few days of talking to him off and on, he asked me to meet him for dinner.

I said yes. It was a public place and I thought why not? So we agreed to meet at 7 PM at very fancy upscale dinner club.

He showed up promptly at 7PM and we were seated at a table across from each other. He looked really handsome! I was so excited.

So talked and he asked if I would like a glass of wine? I said yes.

He asked me if Merlot was alright with me? I said yes. Its perfect.

We shared a glass of wine and ordered a wonderful dinner, enjoyed a lovely conversation. He was such a gentleman. I thought can this be true?

So it was the end of the night. He walked me to my car. He gave me a peck on the cheek and asked for a 2nd date. I wholeheartedly said yes!

So I got home and I was bouncing off the walls. Could this be true? Did I finally find someone for real?

The next morning I got a message on my phone from him and he asked me to go out this afternoon to the local park where they were having live music.

I said Yes! Like a little girl on her first date. I felt comfortable enough to give out my address and came to pick me up at 1:00 PM.

He drove up in a fancy red corvette, He had the top down . He got out and opened the door for me and I slowly got inside. I wore a dress so I tried to be graceful.

We drove about 5 miles down the road to a local park, there was live music, vendors selling flowers, jewelry, crafts.

There was a stand selling liquor beverages. He asked me if I would like a glass of Merlot? I said yes I would. We got our glass of wine and sat on a blanket. Listened to music and talked about our past and things we liked to do. I felt very comfortable around him and I was thinking I really hope this is the one. I have been so lonesome in the past 2 years that it felt good to have a man interested in me.

After the music had stopped playing around 5 pm, we walked around some more and looked at the vendors.

He asked me if I wanted to go home or go out to dinner?

I said how about you come to my place and we can cook something together?

He said, Yes! I would love that.

We got into his car and drove back to my house where we got comfortable and cooked Italian Spaghetti, Salad and a glass of Merlot.

It went so good all evening so spend time with him. He asked me at the end of the night if we can do this again? I agreed and he smiled back at me and before he left, We kissed at the door.

Bev.

dating
1

About the Creator

Bev Peterson Reynolds

I am a retired nurse from Minnesota.

I have a lot of spare time and do enjoy writing stories and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.