Longevity logo

Lazy Weight Loss

How to Lose Weight Without Exercise

By Jaquelyn CannonPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Image Retrieved From: Diet Detective - https://dietdetective.com/after-fat-2/

Let me start off by saying that exercise is great, if you have the motivation and time to do it. But if you don't, then this article is for you. This article is for the people who want to lose weight while sitting on the couch.

First, let me give you a little bit of my background and then we will dive right into the steps of lazy weight loss. (Feel free to skip down to the weight loss steps if you really don't care about my background. I won't mind) :) But for those who want to know, here is my story. Growing up, I was an every-sport-kind-of-girl. My dad coached me in basketball and softball. And I also did competitive cheerleading and gymnastics. So as I kid and well into my preteen years, I could pretty much eat whatever I wanted without any consequences. But then my parents uprooted and moved the family across the country, and when that happened, I stopped playing all sports. And to be honest, I was pretty okay with it. I wanted to just be a teenager and not have all of the responsibilities that came with playing sports (practices, games, competitions, etc.) And even though my amount of physical exercise changed, my eating habits really didn't. I continued eating whatever I wanted. At first it wasn't a problem; I had a pretty decent metabolism so it wasn't a big issue. Then I had my first child, after she was born, I continued eating the way I did when I was pregnant, and that was when I first started gaining weight. That was almost 7 years ago. Since then, I have gone through a drug addiction that caused severe weight loss, then getting sober, which caused some weight gain, and then another pregnancy, which actually kicked my metabolism back in (thank God). So now, I actually have a pretty normal metabolism, BUT I still don't want to go to the gym; with two kids and with college starting back up soon, I don't have time for it. And to be honest, even if I did, I still would not want to go.

So if you are like me, and you have no plans to exercise in the near future; here are some ways to lose weight without the gym membership:

  1. Take iodine. Iodine is a key element to stabilizing your thyroid, and giving your metabolism the boosts it needs. You can find out if you are iodine deficient by doing the iodine patch test. You can look up a more detailed way to do the patch test online, but it's pretty simple so I will try to sum up how you do it: all you do is put a decent size (about 3in. x 3in.) square patch of iodine on your arm. If your skin soaks up all of the iodine within 24 hours, then you are most likely iodine deficient. (I most definitely was). If you are iodine deficient, that could be a key reason as to why you are gaining weight — or not losing it. So the solution is simple; get a bottle of iodine and put one or two drops on your tongue each day and once the drops hit your tongue, immediately drink a glass of water. Do not let the drops just sit on your tongue or it will burn a bit. Also, do not take too much iodine or it will defeat the whole purpose of taking it. One or two drops is plenty. Less is more with this stuff.
  2. Drink water. I know you have probably heard that a million times, but please just give it a shot. Cut back on the sodas and replace them with water.
  3. Don't eat until you're stuffed. I know this one is kind of common sense, but sometimes, we all need a reminder. Don't eat until you are absolutely stuffed.
  4. Eat. Sounds pretty contradictory, but there is actually a science to it. Make sure you are eating several small meals a day. When you skip meals or don't eat often enough, your body goes into a starvation mode, and then when you finally do eat, your body stores the food in case you don't eat for a long time again, which messes up your metabolism. I have experienced this firsthand. When I was in addiction, I would not eat for long periods of time. So then, when I finally got clean, my body started storing everything that I was eating because it thought I might starve myself again. Trust me, that is not something you want to go through. But if it's something you are already going through, then read step one again.
  5. Eat on smaller plates. You may have heard this one before but it is worth mentioning. When you eat on smaller plates, it looks as though you are eating more food. Therefore, you trick your brain into thinking that you ate a lot of food when really, you ate a smaller meal. You will end up feeling more satisfied without feeling stuffed. It's a win-win.
  6. Apple cider vinegar. This stuff really is great for almost anything. Take a small shot of apple cider vinegar each day and experience all of the benefits you gain from it, including weight loss.

All of these tips are simple ways to lose weight without exercise, and without making an extreme change to your diet. And I hope they help you to achieve the body you want.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Jaquelyn Cannon

"The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places." -Ernest Hemingway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.