Longevity logo

Know My Name

A Cancer Story and A Fighter

By Scarlett PricePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I asked permission to write about a young woman's story. Her mother gave me the approval in hopes that by everything that I do on my behalf and everything her family and mom does, makes a world of difference for her. Let me introduce you to her. Her name is I'eshea Gibson, a mother of two beautiful children and fighting stage four stomach cancer. My hope is by the end of this story you'll remember her name each time the word "cancer" echoes.

On January 3, 202o, a GoFundMe page was created and Michele updated us to say, "Pregnant I'eshea with baby number two, Kyler had to be delivered early due to medical conditions. She is in the fight for her life. She has congestive heart failure with two leaking valves. Another medical condition came up and Kyler remains in the NICU. I'eshea was released home to be with her two-year-old daughter. Our family doesn't normally ask for help but under these circumstances, we need any help we can get."

Kyler wasn't full term but due to I'eshea's health, Kyler had to be delivered on December 23, 2019, by emergency C-section. It was soon discovered shortly after that unknowingly, I'eshea had stomach cancer and to this present day, she is in stage four. Both her children are thriving and their mom still fights for every day she can get. Overwhelmed, I'eshea's mom Christy politely asked for everyone to allow them time to process everything and be with each other during this whirlwind of events that happened so suddenly. Christy is as strong-willed as they come and that's where the fighter in I'eshea comes from. With our entire world in a global pandemic with Covid-19, it couldn't make things any harder. With I'eshea's mom and family taking to social media for love and support from afar it's more than enough when you can't physically be there.

Christy wrote about how heartwrenching it is to see her baby in pain and wish to take it all from her. She goes on to tell about our guidelines in place at hospitals and her daughter having to be rushed out by ambulance then placed in ICU and told that she can't be with her daughter. How she wanted to scream, cry, and fight to get to her baby because even though she may be grown, your children will always be your babies. My family knows this family and is touched deeply by what they are going through and want to help in any way we can. I know in the pandemic that we are struggling financially, is true for everyone, and doesn't help make this family's situation any better. I'eshea has so many who have poured out their hearts of messages of love and support. Reminding her that she has an army behind her every step of the way. You hear of the word cancer or heart problems your heart sinks because of our instinct of fear. It is okay to have fear, to cry, to scream, to be mad, to question because we are human and far from perfect. The best thing about all of it is that we don't have to go through it alone.

I write because it's my passion but I also write to let every person out there I help in some way or enlighten that they aren't alone. I'eshea is about to turn twenty-three and I hope to get many of you to simply wish her "Happy Birthday" and remember her name when you hear the word "cancer." I have made her family a video to show my support and to take you on her journey. I will provide the links below to access to watch and to go to the "Team I'eshea Page" to wish her a Happy Birthday. For every tip given to this piece, every read this piece earns will be donated to the family. To be considered a read you will have to read it from top to bottom to count and it must gain around thousands of readers to earn anything.

If you are going through cancer or any medical conditions please know that you aren't alone. Cancer is ugly and can damage so much but it can never take away the love people have for you. Amid all our trials and the pandemic we face, remember to be humble and kind. We may be distant but have ways to be close. More positivity and less negativity. Build people up and help humanity to be whole again.

Happy 23rd Birthday I'eshea! Remember My Name.

health
Like

About the Creator

Scarlett Price

I am a mom, and a domestic violence survivor. I love writing, reading, yoga, cake decorating and baking. I recently took up belly dancing. Writing is my passion and healing. Stay positive!

https://linktr.ee/mullinscasey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.