Longevity logo

Just Checking In—Resolution Journey

A Journey to a Happier Me

By Dana CarrierePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I just got home from my parents'. I was there for the whole weekend for the second time this year. Of course, as many know, that when you are at your parents, the snacks are endless and the food is better than in your own fridge, and so that was a challenge. Although this is true, I held it together this morning and only had a healthy cereal with no sugar, apple juice (not the healthiest), but I am proud to say, since home this evening, I have drank nothing but black coffee and water. This was hard, considering black coffee is nasty, but I feel like a disaster and a half without caffeine in my system; a lot of it.

Tonight, I had to go to Shopper's Drug Mart to pick up some last minute meal planning ingredients for the week, as nothing is open past 6 PM on Sunday nights here in Manitoba, and so I picked up some cheap brown rice and plan on making a stir fry for the week for lunches. I have decided that I am going to try out intermittent fasting and just see what the results are, and so the plan is to eat breakfast before I leave, have lunch around 11 AM and then I will not eat until the following morning other than drinking a lot of water. I have decided to do this just to test the waters and see if there are results, and so I will keep y'all updated as I go. I have decided to set a workout schedule and, instead of paying money for a gym membership during the winter, I have decided, why not do cardio outside and go skating at the rink just down the street, go for long walks, and do at-home workouts with the weight set I bought myself back in June? We can then see if it is possible to dramatically lose weight without paying the $44.95 monthly gym membership, because, as I said before, I am looking to lose my weight as cheap as possible as a girl who needs to pay her bills. I am hoping to set up a budget to breakdown for you all, so that way you can see what I am spending monthly, although that will take some time to put together, as I am just in the beginning days. Other than my New Year's Resolutions progress, I thought that I would take the time to introduce myself a little bit more this time. My name is Dana, as you can likely see as I am the author. I am from a small town of probably about 450 people just outside of Winnipeg, Manitoba. I am currently working multiple jobs while taking online classes in business, which keeps me super busy, but sadly, not active enough, which is my reasoning behind the lifestyle change outside of work and school.

The whole reasoning behind me being obsessed with losing weight but not progressing into anything serious was likely due to facing so many negative comments towards it and me building up a stubbornness towards admitting that maybe these people were right and I should become healthy, but instead, I was stubborn and decided that I would think negatively towards these people and have a "don't care" attitude that was not getting me anywhere. I would binge eat and watch Netflix, wasn't super active, and this made me gain more and more weight. I then would continue to look at myself negatively. Boyfriends would come along and leave super quickly, considering I was so insecure and not fond of the way I looked. This was the reasoning behind me setting these resolutions this year. This is not fair to myself. I am committed to at least trying this out and I will hopefully see the results I deserve by next year after a lot of hard work and temptation resisting. We'll see.

Again,

I will chat tomorrow,

XOXO Dana (Still, I just loved that show so much).

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.