Longevity logo

I’ve Discovered Why Americans are Overweight

Being health conscious is killing us

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Sarah Takforyan on Unsplash

As a kid, I loved gummies, those colorful chewy treats that held their flavor until they disappeared in my mouth leaving a tantalizing, sticky sweetness on my tongue. The best were those that started sour and turned to mellow syrup in my mouth.

So when pharmacies introduced medicinal gummies, I thought I had struck a sugar goldmine. My first exposure came when I got a cold and needed relief. So to shorten the lifespan of the illness I chewed two Airborne and allowed the childhood memories to flood my body. It was almost worth a sore throat.

Once my health improved, an adult gummy multivitamin greeted me each morning, figured I would be proactive.

But when I thought about it, why would I take one multivitamin when I could take several gummies to meet my needs? This seemed like a win-win. My body would be reinforced with all the needed nutrients while rewarding my taste buds.

  1. Vitamin D gummies to strengthen bones. I am old I can use that.
  2. Magnesium gummies, also known to promote bone health. The label said something else but strong bones, good enough.
  3. Calcium gummies, enable the blood to clot, muscles to contract, and the heart to beat. The heart part sounds pretty important.
  4. Iron, carries oxygen from our lungs throughout our bodies. Oxygen? Need that.
  5. Cranberries, for urinary tract health. Unfortunately, yes.
  6. Plant based Omega-3. supports heart, brain, and joint health. Maybe I could bend down again.
  7. Vitamin C, vital for the body’s healing processes. Oh, yeah!

A ritual developed

Each morning I would consume gummies with my coffee. It got to the point that I didn’t eat breakfast because the smorgasbord of gummies satisfied my hunger.

Here I mention that I am of an older age, retired and almost ready for social security. Media and morning talk shows pointed out the importance of supplements to support an aging body.

So I added to my daily regiment

  • Fiber gummies: daily probiotic. For when things got hard.
  • Hair, skin, and nails gummies to provide a youthful shine.
  • Memory and focus gummies for old-timers. Did you know as we age . . . I forgot what I was going to write here.

And I have stockpiled a supply for conditions that might arise periodically

  • Heartburn relief. Yes, in gummy formula.
  • Laxatives gummies. For the hardest days.
  • Restful sleep melatonin gummies

Then I substituted Nature’s Bounty Stress Comfort Gummies because they offer multiple formulas that work on the specific needs of the body. There are three different kinds available. Each in a different fruity flavor.

  • Peaceful Dreams
  • Peace of Mind
  • Mood Booster

It seemed like I found the fountain of youth

How can anyone grow old with an excessive amount of gelatin and sugar in their bodies!? The FoodsGuy even said gummies can practically last forever.

Gummy bears require very little care and maintenance to keep them good. Realistically, they will probably never go bad. If anything, you’re more likely to experience gummy bears drying out or getting hard over time.

If the product lasts forever, then it should produce an everlasting effect on my body. Don’t you think?

Recently, my husband and I started golfing together. Did I mention that we are retired? I usually only play 9 holes because I get tired, but after stumbling upon this ad, I am going shopping. I expect unlimited possibilities.

Golf CBD Gummy Drops (360mg)

$69.99

Looking for an easy way to take CBD before heading out and playing a full 18 holes? Try a bottle of our full spectrum CBD hemp oil gummies for golfers. Packed with 12mg of CBD that releases slowly through digestion, each gummy will provide the body with almost the exact same benefits as our other full spectrum CBD products, including over 100 additional cannabinoids, terpenes, flavonoids, and other vitamins and minerals. You can trust that what you’re purchasing from Frontier Jackson is the best product possible, as each item is lab tested and certified to help guide you down the right path toward a healthier, more balanced lifestyle.

Available for children

For all the parents who are reading this and thinking what a great way to get the children to take their medicine, I have news for you! Gummies come in many shapes and sizes for kids. I only wish Disney princess vitamin gummies where available when my kids were little.

And wait there’s more!

For those days when homework is a struggle, gummies are available in the pharmacies called Kids Smart and Super Kidz. Both are suggested to support memory and increase focus. If I had only known, parent teachers conferences might have been more positive.

Parents do not need to feel left out

Really, I am not pushing this product and no money is exchanging hands if you purchase any gummies, but I would be remiss if I didn’t mention many of the above gummies are also available for adults who have not reached the golden years. Some uses are listed below but there are probably hundreds more. I am looking for don’t kill your husband gummies. Have I mentioned we are both retired?

  • Breast growth gummies
  • Prenatal natal gummies
  • Diet gummies
  • Hair growth stimulator gummies

Gummies for dog

Finally, be aware dog stress gummies can be purchased on-line or at your veterinarian

Weight gain

Now to circle back to our original topic. Americans are gaining weight. Just look around because the evidence is in front of you wherever you look.

Consumers read headlines like this from CNN Health.

“Americans weigh more this decade, but fewer adults want to lose weight.”

We question why?

Why are we getting fat?

Why don’t we want to lose weight?

What is going on?

I started mental math. A process that is easier since I started taking my focus gummies.

Most days I consume almost 400 calories a day, every day, through gummies! No wonder, Americans display bigger bellies, rounder rumps, and hippo hips. Furthermore, this reveals why there won’t be any changes in the foreseeable future. We don’t want to give up our gummies!

So there it is, the cause of American’s increasing obesity — gummies.

While researching this article I did discover consumers should understand the pros and cons of medicinal gummies. This article is for your reference.

Do Gummy Vitamins Work, and Are They Good or Bad for You?

humor
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.