Longevity logo

Consumer Warning: Do Not Steam Iron Clothes While Wearing

Laugh at yourself and you will never be bored

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Michel Stockman on Unsplash

When traveling in our RV, I have started carrying a steam iron to spruce up wrinkled clothing that has been packed and squeezed into tight spaces. To be honest, usually we dress pretty casually, but on this day, it was Easter and we planned to attend church. I use a steam iron when we travel because it is small and portable plus there is no need for an ironing board. Clothes can be hung from a hanger over the door and steamed.

While wearing a light skirt accessorized by a heavy sweater, I noticed the pocket on the sweater folded over. Using my fingers, I manipulated it by folding it back in forth attempting to reform and shape it to lay flat; it remained stubborn and creased. So, I reached for the steam iron and plugged it in to warm up.

The pocket challenged me with glares and taunts. I heard it ask, “Watcha gonna do about it?” It scoffed at my hesitation which I ignored, but the heckling and name calling pushed me over the limit. Nobody, well no sweater, would get away with calling me a quitter.

It is essential to point out that the sweater pocket was constructed of the same heavy material as the garment. So, in essence, I wore three sturdy layers of clothing. I viewed myself as well protected as I contemplated steam ironing the shirt that I wore. Acknowledging that little time remained before the church service would begin, I caved to the pestering sweater and plugged in the steam iron.

On the handle a sticker warned, “Caution Steam is Hot.” My mind made a mental note to be cautious. A memory of Stella Liebeck flashed through my mind. In 1994, Stella was the lady who ordered a cup of coffee at the drive through window of McDonald’s. When the coffee tipped, the lid popped off and the contents caused severe burns to her body. Stella sued and won a settlement of almost 3 million dollars.

Many times, my husband and I have laughed at the stupidity of the situation. Duh! Everyone should know coffee is hot, that’s the whole idea. It is supposed to wake you up and warm the soul. We place the incident in the “You can’t fix stupid” category. Randy also believes McDonald’s should have won the lawsuit when sued by Stella because as he says, “She only has herself to blame.”

Thankfully, I am much smarter than Stella. She put the coffee between her legs when driving. I carefully (notice, I was being careful) pointed the iron at my upper, right thigh being vigilant to not touch the material. Nothing happened at first and then it did.

Like the initial blast of smoke from a locomotive, steam burst forth. I remember thinking there should have been a constant steady flow of steam, not an explosion. I also remember feeling pain but ignored it.

With the folded pocket conquered, my husband and I walked the short distance through the RV park to enjoy the Easter service. My thigh felt tender when the fabric rubbed against it but not until I used the restroom did I understand why. Once I gathered and raised the fabric to use the toilet, I noticed three blisters of various sizes. They resembled coins: a quarter, nickel, and dime.

Wow! Who knew steam could get that hot? My husband says he knew.

Always going for the joke, I shared my experience with friends, and we all laughed. My husband shook his head and said, “Didn’t you see the warning label?!”

Over the next few day days after my encounter with the heat breathing steam iron, the blisters festered, reddened and inflicted pain. Damn, they hurt. I guess maybe the warning on the handle was accurate to warn users to be cautious, but in my defense, it did not warn against wearing the clothes while steam ironing.

____________________________________________________

Want to hear more stories from the road?

Golfing With My Husband is Fun! Really it Is





humor
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.