Longevity logo

How to Dump a Mean Doctor

The sooner, the better.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

In order to be a happy person, you have to be around happy people who do not have a need to bring you down. Seeking out happiness means you need to be around positive individuals. I had a doctor who said gleefully that without my government help, I’d be a homeless bum. Well, thanks, that’s not funny. She laughed about this way too long, which is why I told her not to speak to me like that. Then I decided after I went home from this visit, to dump her, because I will not withstand being talked to like that.

Dumping doctors who do not serve you can be beneficial to your mental health. I had one psychiatrist who said, “You know, germs” when I was going to count my Zyprexa, I walked out that door really fast. She mistreated me, so I left. I found a much more compatible psychiatrist at some point. She was able to handle my religious beliefs a bit better than the other one I had seen, who had been Hispanic and my age. I do not tolerate stigma well. I leave the room if somebody stigmatizes me. To quote Cartman on South Park, “Screw you guys, I’m going home.”

I have had one other psychiatrist my age who did get mad at me for waking up in the middle of the night. You see, I don’t know what it is like to sleep the whole night. I have incremental sleeping habits. I sleep when I can, I take what I can get. I’m working on the middle of the night, but sheesh, you do not have to yell at me for this. My endocrinologist has never created a situation where I feel bad. In fact, she is most supportive, and before I go off the deep end while ranting about doctors who failed me, I’m going to say that I have good ones too.

My old endocrinologist pretty much yelled at me when I called in early one morning since no set had stayed put, and I was changing my set a lot having a huge panic fit. I was also running out of infusion sets. I finally got the last one to work. Granted, I should have called my insulin pump company. But I needed to know how many units I had needed to correct by injection.

I dumped my first two adult endocrinologists. The first one was insensitive, and the second one, well, was also insensitive. My thyroid, however, finally stabilized under her care. My first endocrinologist was the one who finally uncovered my thyroid problem, which went undiagnosed in high school even if I had painful cramps during that time. I go many times with my gut feeling on who to trust. As in, I trust what I feel around somebody, and put-downs make you feel dragged down so if I’m around somebody like that, I deliberately kick them out of my life and never see them again.

Dumping a toxic person is easy when you have an excuse. My current psychiatrist is someone I trust. Trusting people is no easy feat for me as I used to be paranoid constantly about who to trust, starting in high school. In college, I had thought this to be a personality disorder but I’m not sure. I read a workbook on paranoia because I felt I needed to work through the symptoms. I’m now working on body dysmorphic disorder as well. I dump doctors who do not serve me, who are disrespectful, and who want me to do something radically different. I once had to deal with a covering physician who didn’t give me NPH insulin but Lantus instead. Lantus is a new insulin I felt iffy about. He was a covering physician who screamed at me for wanting NPH, but granted, I was fighting him a lot and wouldn’t budge. So I was forced to use Lantus. Sigh. I never have to dump female doctors, just male ones. My physical therapist pinched my butt. I knew he was going to do that so I stayed put to see if he would. When he did, I managed to complain as well as to switch physical therapists.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.