Longevity logo

How I Grew My Hair Faster and Healthier with Braids and Red Light Therapy

By Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always struggled with my hair. It was thin, brittle, and prone to breakage. I tried everything from expensive shampoos and conditioners to supplements and oils, but nothing seemed to work. I was losing more hair than I was growing, and I felt insecure about my appearance.

One day, I came across an article online that claimed braids could promote hair growth by protecting the hair from damage and stimulating the scalp. I was intrigued by this idea, so I decided to give it a try. I searched for some braided hairstyles that suited my hair type and length, and I found some beautiful options. Some of the braids that caught my eye were:

Micro braids: These are tiny braids that are woven tightly on the scalp. They can last for months and are easy to style in different ways. They also allow the scalp to breathe and prevent tangling and frizzing.

Loose bun: This is a simple way to style braids into an updo that keeps the hair off the neck and face. It also reduces tension on the scalp and edges, which can cause hair loss.

Beaded bob: This is a fun and trendy way to add some flair to braids. The beads can be customized to match any outfit or mood, and they also add some weight to the ends of the hair, which can help prevent split ends.

Cornrows: These are classic braids that run along the scalp in straight or curved lines. They are easy to maintain and can be worn for weeks. They also create a sleek and neat look that can be accessorized with clips or pins.

I chose to go with micro braids because they seemed to offer the most benefits for my hair growth goal. I went to a professional braider who did an amazing job of creating hundreds of tiny braids on my head. She also gave me some tips on how to care for them, such as washing them once a week with a gentle shampoo, moisturizing them daily with a light spray or oil, and sleeping with a silk scarf or pillowcase.

I was very happy with the result. My hair looked fuller and longer, and I felt more confident. I also noticed that my scalp was less itchy and flaky, and my hair was less oily. I received many compliments on my new hairstyle, and I enjoyed experimenting with different ways of styling it.

However, I wanted to boost my hair growth even more, so I started looking for other natural methods that could help me achieve my dream hair. That’s when I discovered red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-intensity red and near-infrared light to penetrate deep into the cells and stimulate healing. It has been used for various medical and cosmetic purposes, such as skin rejuvenation, wound healing, pain relief, and inflammation reduction.

But what interested me the most was its potential for hair growth. According to some studies, red light therapy can increase blood flow to the scalp, activate the hair follicles, increase the production of energy molecules (ATP) in the cells, and reduce inflammation and oxidative stress. All these factors can contribute to healthier and faster hair growth.

I decided to try red light therapy at home using a device called a red light therapy cap. It is a cap that has LED lights embedded in it that emit red and near-infrared wavelengths. It is designed to fit snugly on the head and cover the entire scalp area.

I followed the instructions that came with the device and used it for 20 minutes every other day. The cap was comfortable and easy to use, and it did not produce any heat or pain. It felt like wearing a regular hat.

After about three months of using the cap along with my braids, I noticed a significant difference in my hair. It was thicker, stronger, shinier, and longer than ever before. I also saw some new hairs growing along my hairline, which had been receding before.

I was amazed by the results. My hair had never looked so good in my life. I felt like a new person.

I still use red light therapy cap regularly as part of my hair care routine, along with my braids. I switch up my braided styles every few weeks to keep things interesting and prevent boredom. I also make sure to eat a balanced diet rich in protein, iron, zinc, biotin, and other nutrients that support hair health.

I am very happy with my hair growth journey so far, and I hope to inspire others who are facing similar challenges. If you are looking for natural ways to grow your hair faster and healthier, I highly recommend trying braids and red light therapy cap. They have worked wonders for me, and they might work for you too.

What do you think of my story? Have you ever tried braids or best red light therapy for hair loss? Do you have any other tips or tricks to share? Let me know in the comments below. I would love to hear from you.

healthbeauty
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.