Longevity logo

How I Beat COVID-19 Hair Loss

By Lisa Moore

By CureZonePublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

I never thought I would lose my hair. I always had thick, shiny, curly locks that I loved to style and show off. But after I got COVID-19 last year, everything changed.

My COVID-19 experience

I was one of the unlucky ones who got infected with the coronavirus in the early days of the pandemic. I had a mild case, but it still knocked me out for two weeks. I had fever, cough, fatigue, and loss of taste and smell. It was the worst illness I ever had.

I was relieved when I finally recovered and tested negative. I thought I was done with COVID-19 and its nasty effects. But little did I know, there was another surprise waiting for me.

My hair loss nightmare

About three months after my infection, I started noticing more hair on my pillow, in my shower drain, and on my brush. At first, I didn’t think much of it. I thought it was normal shedding or maybe stress-related. But then it got worse.

I was losing clumps of hair every day. My scalp became visible in some areas. My ponytail became thinner and thinner. My hair looked dull and lifeless. I was horrified.

I went to see my doctor, who told me I had telogen effluvium (TE), a type of hair loss caused by a stressful event, such as COVID-19. He said it was temporary and reversible, but it could take several months to stop and regrow.

He also said there was no specific treatment for TE, but he gave me some tips to support my hair health and recovery. He suggested eating a balanced diet, using gentle hair care products, resting my hair, and trying red light therapy.

My hair recovery journey

I decided to follow my doctor’s advice and do everything I could to help my hair grow back. Here’s what I did:

Eating a balanced diet

I started eating more home cooked meals with a healthy balance of carbohydrates, proteins, and fats. I avoided junk food and fad diets that could deprive me of essential nutrients. I made sure to include plenty of protein-rich foods, such as eggs, nuts, beans, fish, and chicken, to provide the building blocks for my hair.

I also added more fruits and vegetables to my diet, especially those that are good for hair health, such as spinach, broccoli, carrots, avocado, berries, and citrus fruits. These foods are rich in vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and omega-3 fatty acids that nourish my hair follicles and scalp.

Using gentle hair care products

I switched to mild shampoos and conditioners that are suitable for my hair type and texture. I avoided harsh chemicals, such as sulfates, parabens, and alcohol, that could dry out and damage my hair. I also tried some natural remedies that may help strengthen my hair and stimulate growth.

One of them was coconut oil, which is a miracle solution that can not only effectively control post-COVID hair fall but also induce limitless health to your locks. I massaged it into my scalp and left it overnight before washing it off in the morning.

Other natural ingredients that I used were aloe vera gel, onion juice, green tea, fenugreek seeds, hibiscus flowers, and rosemary oil. I applied these to my scalp or rinsed my hair with them after shampooing.

Resting my hair

I also took a break from stressors like heavy-handed brushing and pulling and not using tools like hair dryers and curling and straightening irons. These could cause mechanical damage and breakage to my already fragile hair.

Instead of tight hairstyles that tug on my scalp, I opted for loose braids or buns that protect my ends from splitting. I used soft scrunchies or clips instead of rubber bands or metal pins that could snag my hair. And I didn’t forget to cover my head with a hat or scarf when I went out in the sun or cold weather.

Trying red light therapy

The last thing I did was try red light therapy. This is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level laser light to stimulate blood flow and cellular activity in the scalp. This may help increase the supply of oxygen and nutrients to the hair follicles and promote their growth.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be an effective treatment for various types of hair loss, including TE. It is also FDA approved therapy for safety and efficacy. You can get red light therapy at a dermatologist’s office or use a home device such as a red light therapy hat.

A red light therapy hat is a convenient way to get the benefits of red light therapy at home. It is a wearable device that fits over your head and delivers laser light directly to your scalp. You can use it for 15 to 30 minutes a few times a week while relaxing or doing other activities.

Red light therapy hat is safe for most people and has no known side effects. However, it may not work for everyone and it may take several months to see noticeable results. You should consult your doctor before trying red light therapy, especially if you have any medical conditions or are taking any medications that may affect your skin sensitivity or hair growth.

My hair growth results

It’s been six months since I started my hair recovery journey, and I’m happy to say that I’m seeing results. My hair shedding has decreased significantly, and I can see new hairs growing in. My hair looks fuller, shinier, and healthier than before.

I’m not sure which of the steps I took made the most difference, but I think they all helped in some way. I’m still following my hair care routine and using my red light therapy hat regularly. I’m hopeful that my hair will continue to improve and reach its full potential.

My advice to others

If you’re experiencing hair loss after COVID-19, don’t lose hope. You’re not alone, and there are ways to cope with this temporary condition. By following a healthy diet, using gentle hair care products, resting your hair, and trying red light therapy, you can support your hair health and recovery. By seeking support, being patient, and focusing on the positive aspects of yourself, you can overcome the emotional challenges of hair loss.

Have you experienced hair loss after COVID-19? How did you deal with it? Share your story in the comments below.

fitnessbodybeauty
Like

About the Creator

CureZone

Adrenaline-fueled blog with weight loss secrets, mind-blowing hair growth remedies, energizing pain relief techniques, and elevated overall well-being. Thrilling transformation awaits!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.