Longevity logo

Holy Crap I'm 40: Aquasize Edition

Who says you can't have fun in a pool?

By Banji GanchrowPublished 8 years ago 3 min read
Like

Turning 40 is an adventure. Everything I have eaten or learned or cried over or loved has taken me to this age. My mother would always say that, "The alternative is worse." Which basically means that if I wasn't turning 40, it would mean that I am dead, so I should be grateful for the new decade I am about to embark on. Things I didn't have to worry about in my teens or 20s are now at the forefront. But I will keep breathing, put a big smile on my cynical face and carry on. After all, 40 is the new 30 and 30 is the new 20, so perhaps, I am still really 16.

Man, it's hot in here....

Since I have turned 40, I have had the privilege to experience many different firsts. This is encouraging because if you are in your 20s and you are reading this, you might think that the only thing you can experience for the first time in your 40s is incontinence. Don't worry, that fun is still yet to come, even for me. But the firsts I speak of are the first time I realized that there were so many grays on my head that pulling them out with a tweezers would only make me bald, the first time I said "man, it's really hot in here" and everyone else in the room was freezing(whilst I started sweating and looked like I had taken a shower in my clothes), the first time I had an "I'm 40" mammography (not as fun as the hot flash), the first time I realized it was easier to read without my glasses, and then there was what happened most recently.

My friend and I, for the first time, and I'm sorry that we didn't invite more people to come because laughter IS the best medicine....we did AQUASIZE. In a pool. With other people watching.

Fashionable head wear is required in the pool...wtf?

Let me begin by saying that my friend is much younger than I am. And when I say much, she still has a 3 as the first digit. Between the two of us, the average age in the pool came down about 40 years...When we get to the class, the lifeguard with the two hearing aides speeds over to us with his walker a-blazing and says, "Ladies, you are going to need to wear some sort of plastic over your heads because your hair is too long."Wait, there is a pool full of 85 year old women with possible bladder control problems and I need to put a bag over my head? Yes, we did. My friend and I put these adorable and fashionable little white plastic garbage bags over our heads. Short hair is something to look forward to when you are even older than 40 and plus side is you won't have to wear a bathing cap. Or baggie.....And then the fun really began.

Moving and grooving with the oldies

Aside from feeling like we were on the set of Cocoon...it was quite humorous. Now I am fully aware that if God grants me the ability to live to an old age, I am going to be one cranky bitch-but, I hope I will be able to have a lovely pink hairdo and green eye shadow, with matching earrings, and be able to get my fat tushy into an aqua size class-because these women were having a ball. And I think the two men were also enjoying themselves. We splashed around, used styrofoam weights, kicked and splashed and had a grand old time. Again, old, being the operative word. But everyone's limbs were moving and hearts were beating, so we were all ahead of the game.

As for my friend and I...well, we were just happy that we didn't see anyone we knew.....

agingbodyfitness
Like

About the Creator

Banji Ganchrow

Self-proclaimed writer, masters in social work. Has driven 3 sons to 22 baseball stadiums. Hopes, because of this, they will never put her in a nursing home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.