Longevity logo

Heal With Eucalyptus!

The New Remedy For Everyday Mishaps

By Ashley TerrellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Healthline

I've always been interested in learning about evergreen's natural healing properties. Though I'm passionate about food, I don't share the same thrills when it comes to cooking and baking-related burns.

I don't know about you, but I'm not a fan of wasting my salted butter on my relieving burns.

On the other hand, standing up for long hours in the kitchen can increase the necessity for muscle recovery. Constant temperature fluctuations between the huge walk-in refrigerators, creating orders around humidity and heat in the kitchen can compromise your immune system, leaving you vulnerable to common cold symptoms.

There are multiple reasons why I became interested in learning more about natural healing properties. Additionally, I suffer with year-round allergies.

One day, I told my doctor about my allergy concerns and my dislike for using over-the-counter, also known as OTC, remedies for occasional cuts and burns. She suggested that I look into using eucalyptus to help reduce my coughs, colds, nasal congestion, and muscle aches.

Eucalyptus smells like menthol and can be found in over-the-counter products like VaporRub and various muscle creme rubs.

Eucalyptus began growing in Australia alongside 400 species of this evergreen tree. As part of the Myrtaceae family, eucalyptus is known as gum trees and stringybark trees. The evergreen species can grow up to 40 feet tall. The leather-like leaves can grow up to 10 feet wide.

Here are a few reasons why I switched to using eucalyptus for everyday mishaps.

Photo credit: Art Naturals

Did you know eucalyptus is packed with antioxidants?

Neither did I!

Antioxidants are essential for cell damage repair and protection against oxidative stress.

According to Very Well Fit, eucalyptus is packed with plant-based compounds, like catechins, isorhamnetin, luteolin, kaempferol, and quercetin, which help reduce inflammation and risk of cardiovascular deficiencies.

Antioxidants play an important role in our immunity system. They ward off bad elements that decline our health.

The antioxidant properties in eucalyptus doubles as a disinfectant. Eucalyptus leaves are used to treat wounds and prevent infections.

An early 2016 study showed eucalyptus oil and antioxidants can become an alternative remedy for certain infections.

The anti-inflammatory properties of eucalyptus oil can be used to combat germs and mouth odor. The oil of the evergreen acts as an antiseptic, which helps prevent plaque, tartar buildup, and tooth decay.

Eucalyptus has been a GODSEND for my allergies!

One thousand humidifiers in a cold and lintless room would be heaven for anyone dealing with allergies. No crowd participation required.

Eucalyptus is a godsend to allergy sufferers.

I understand completely what my doctor suggests I research and considering using. I encourage you to have a conversation with your physician or doctor prior to implementing eucalyptus into your daily regimen.

Eucalyptus oil acts as a decongestant when inhaled or used in a vaporizer. It help loosens phlegm and mucus that may cause interruptions within your day or sleep.

A plant-based compound known as cineole found in eucalyptus oil can help reduce mucus buildup in your chest and lungs.

A 12-week study of 32 participants given eucalyptol daily saw a reduction in asthma symptoms as well as a reduction in needing medicines by 36%.

Photo credit: The Spruce

How I use eucalyptus in my home...

I like to add a few drops of eucalyptus oil to the water of my humidifier. The light aroma the evergreen oil grants my home is refreshing.

I've discovered shampoos and conditioners infused with eucalpytus leaf extract are great buys as well! My hair is thick and stands a lot of heat and humidity, so I appreciate eucalpytus oil on my wash days for extra relief.

According to Very Well Fit, a study of 34 participants used eucalpytus leaf extract on their heads saw a significant reduction of scalp redness, itchiness, and dryness.

Guess what's infused in my kitchen hand soap and toothpaste now?

Yep, eucalyptus!

health
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.