Longevity logo

Gray hair and young

By Grace Bennet

By LifePulsePublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

I used to hate my gray hair. I started going gray when I was 25, and I felt like it made me look old and dull. I spent years coloring my hair, trying to hide the gray roots that kept growing back. I was afraid of what people would think of me if they saw my natural hair color.

But then something changed. I had an allergic reaction that made my lips swell up for a few weeks, so I skipped my monthly hair color appointment. My roots grew about an inch, and I started noticing the salt-and-pepper pattern of my natural hair. I realized that it wasn’t so bad after all. In fact, it looked kind of cool and edgy.

I decided to give it a try and see how I would look with gray hair. I went to a salon and asked for a pixie cut, a short and sassy style that would make me look younger and more confident. I also asked for some highlights and lowlights, to add some color and dimension to my hair. The result was amazing. I loved how my gray hair looked with the new cut and color. It made me feel more like myself, more authentic and free.

I also learned how to take care of my gray hair, using the right products and treatments. I found out that gray hair tends to be more dry, coarse and brittle than other hair colors, so it needs more moisture and nourishment. I started using a gentle shampoo, a hydrating conditioner, a deep mask, a heat protectant spray, a styling product and a finishing product that were specially formulated for gray hair. They helped me keep my hair healthy, shiny and smooth.

I also discovered red light therapy, a non-invasive technique that uses low-level red light wavelengths to stimulate the cells in your scalp and hair follicles. This can increase blood circulation, oxygen and nutrients to your hair, which can promote its growth and health. Red light therapy can also help reverse gray hair by increasing the production of melanin, the pigment that gives your hair its color.

I bought a red light therapy head cap, a device that fits over your head and emits red light wavelengths to your scalp and hair. It is an FDA approved light therapy device that is convenient, safe and affordable. I use it at home for a few minutes a day, and I have noticed a difference in my hair color and quality. Some of my gray hairs have turned back to their natural color, and my hair feels thicker and stronger.

Going gray has been one of the best decisions of my life. It has taught me to love myself as I am, without worrying about what others think. It has also given me a new sense of style and confidence. I feel more beautiful and happy than ever before.

If you are thinking about going gray, don’t be afraid to try it. You may be surprised by how much you like it. You may also find out that going gray doesn’t mean looking old. It means looking fabulous!

Here are some tips on how to go gray without looking old:

Get your support team onside: Going gray can be a big change, so you may need some encouragement and support from your friends and family. Tell them about your decision and why you want to do it. Ask them to be positive and supportive of your choice. You may also want to join some online communities or groups of people who are going through the same process as you.

Get sassy: Going gray doesn’t mean you have to be boring or bland. You can still have fun with your style and personality. Try some new outfits, accessories or makeup that suit your gray hair and make you feel good. Experiment with different colors, patterns or textures that complement your silver strands.

Reconsider your make-up and wardrobe colors: Going gray can change the way you look in certain colors or shades. You may want to avoid colors that are too harsh or dull for your skin tone or hair color. Instead, opt for colors that are warm, bright or vibrant for your complexion or eyes. For example, you can wear white, red or blue clothing to contrast with your gray hair.

Reconsider your glasses too: If you wear glasses, you may want to update them as well when you go gray. Glasses can frame your face and accentuate your features, so you want to choose a pair that flatters your face shape and hair color. You may want to avoid glasses that are too dark or heavy for your gray hair. Instead, opt for glasses that are light, colorful or stylish for your look.

Focus on staying young in other ways: Going gray doesn’t mean you have to stop being active or healthy. You can still stay young in other ways by taking care of your body and mind. You can exercise regularly, eat well, sleep enough, meditate or do yoga, read books, learn new skills or hobbies, travel or volunteer. These activities can help you stay fit, happy and youthful.

Look on the bright side: Going gray can have many benefits, so you should focus on the positive aspects of it. For example, you can save time and money by not coloring your hair anymore. You can also embrace your natural beauty and authenticity by showing your true colors. You can also stand out from the crowd and make a statement with your gray hair.

Keep color soft: If you want to add some color to your gray hair, you should keep it soft and subtle. You don’t want to overpower or clash with your gray hair. You should also avoid colors that are too artificial or unnatural for your hair. Instead, opt for colors that are natural, warm or cool for your hair. For example, you can use a toner to add some silver, lavender or rose gold hues to your gray hair.

Avoid severe cuts: If you want to get a haircut for your gray hair, you should avoid cuts that are too severe or harsh for your face or hair. You don’t want to make your gray hair look more stiff or brittle. You should also avoid cuts that are too trendy or edgy for your age or personality. Instead, opt for cuts that are classic, versatile or flattering for your face or hair. For example, you can get a pixie cut, a bob or long layers for your gray hair.

Going gray can be a wonderful and rewarding experience if you do it right. You can go gray without looking old by following these tips and tricks. You can also enjoy the benefits of having healthy, strong and beautiful hair.

bodybeautyaging
Like

About the Creator

LifePulse

Experience an electrifying health blog! Unleash weight loss, hair growth, pain relief, and total well-being secrets. Your answers are just a click away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.