Longevity logo

Childish Wishes

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 17 days ago 3 min read
3
Childish Wishes
Photo by michael podger on Unsplash

Sitting by the window a sigh escaped my lips, it had been raining for days. I was looking forward to a clear day where I would ride my bicycle in the streets feeling the wind in my hair and the sun on my face.

My dream of cruising through the  neighborhood was broken by the pouring rain. It just wouldn't let up.

Every time I passed by a window I stopped and peeked out but all I saw were looming dark clouds that were ready to burst at any given moment.

Wishing for the rain to stop or have a break was not working either. I was becoming desperate so the next best thing I did was to google, 'How to stop rain?'

Scrolling through the search results I came across an interesting post titled; '3 Effective Ways To Stop Rain'. Clicking on it I was taken to the article - reading through it.

It seemed pretty childish to me but I decided to indulge in these childish acts just so that it stopped the rain.

Now I am standing in my backyard garden under an overhead shed and I began with the number 1 method on the list - Rain Dance. Moving and twirling  I completed the little rain dance, I hope no one saw that, this is embarrassing.

Waiting for a few minutes to see any sign of rain stopping but no it didn't work. Moving on to the second method on the list - I cleared my throat and began to sing poems about sunny days.

Nope! Nope! Not working at all. Trying the last method I took out my sister's lucky penny and made a wish.

I headed inside because I was freezing out there. Putting the penny back in my sister's room I rushed to the window.

The rain persisted it felt as if it was teasing me with its constant presence.

Waiting did not seem to be an option any longer because it would soon be evening and then this ride would not be as enjoyable.

Taking matters into my own hands, I donned a raincoat with waterproof boots and bravely ventured out into the storm.

Pedaling I took off on the streets, feeling the raindrops pelting down on me - chilling me to the bone but I didn't stop.

I wanted to cycle and I wanted it now so I raced through the streets, and then it happened.

The pouring stopped it was now just a pitter-patter. The sky was starting to get bright as the clouds were parting - a sliver of sunlight peeked through the gloom. This is unbelievable - my wish came true, the childish methods worked?? I am confused!

Putting the confusion aside, in elation I rode my bicycle reveling in the freedom of the open road and a clear sky.

I was now able to fully experience the thrill of riding. On my way back a beautiful sight set the scene.

A rainbow stretched across the sky seeming to remind me that wishes do come true. And as the sun set on the horizon, I knew that I would always cherish this experience.

Getting off the bicycle, I headed inside putting away the wet raincoat and boots.

Sitting by the fireplace I let myself warm up. Pulling the cushions near me I laid down soaking up the heat.

The chill that had managed to seep into my bones was vanishing. The colour began to return to my skin it was no longer pale - the heat was doing its job.

Have you ever indulged in such childish acts?

Have a Sunny Day!

See Ya Next Time!

lifestylehumorfeatureadvice
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran17 days ago

    Hahahahahahahahha can't believe those methods worked! And nope, I don't think I've tried anything like that 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    https://youtu.be/VMJFWiZ-bOc one of my fav songs...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.