Longevity logo

Chaos In Aisle 5 - A Grocery Trip Gone Wrong

Excerpt of my Day

By StaringalePublished 13 days ago 2 min read
2
Chaos In Aisle 5 - A Grocery Trip Gone Wrong
Photo by Maria Lin Kim on Unsplash

It's Tuesday afternoon, the atmosphere is chilly with no sun in sight and the clouds filled the sky.

We are running out of groceries, so my brother and I are roped into going on a trip to the grocery store.

Sitting in a car with blaring music that makes your heart beat 'dum' 'dum' 'dum' was not what I planned for the afternoon.

As the car stopped in front of the grocery store I quickly got out calming my erratic heart. I can never understand the people who enjoy listening to music on road trips.

Stepping into the store, my brother rushed past me straight to the snacks section.

I have to deal with this troublesome kid now. Grabbing him by his ear, I steered him in the right path.

Ignoring his displeased face, I went ahead, putting the meat in the basket followed by vegetables and fruits. Grabbing a carton of milk, we headed towards the grain section.

Leaving him pouting by the trolley, I went to grab the rice, flour, and pulses. With a pack of rice in one hand and flour in the other, I went back to the trolley and put it in.

Another trip for the pulses - as I stood there cross-checking with the list, that's when it happened.

The volume in the store just went through the roof following a 'Thump' 'Thump' 'Thump'. Quickly turning around, I saw the reason for the chaos.

You know those small car-lifter machines that are used in grocery stores? It was this machine that was the reason for the chaos.

It seemed like the machine malfunctioned - the jumbo flour bag it was carrying dropped and burst open.

It was a mess, the flour was everywhere - the floor, the shelves, the stuff, the poor people, including my little brother.

The gobsmacked expression on his face told me that he was both shocked, surprised, and annoyed. He definitely needed my help, but first, an important task to complete.

Clicking a few pics for sibling blackmail is an important task of life. With the snapshots done, I went pulling him out of his shock, rushing to complete the trip and put him out of his flour-covered misery.

Tallying it up at the counter and paying, we put the grocery bags in the car. Gesturing towards me for 5 minutes, he threw his car keys and went inside the store again.

Sitting at the driver's seat, I ignited the engine and turned the car around just in time to see my brother coming out wrapped in bubble wrap - he didn't want his car seats to be dirty. If only he cared this much about his room, too.

Parking the car, I watched him run with a speed of 120 inside. Ah, poor little brother. Taking the grocery bags, I put them on the kitchen counter and went to find the rest of my wayward family.

Sharing the story and the pics with mom, we laughed together. It just gave my day a little laugh and shine.

Have you ever experienced such a disaster with flour? Do you have blackmail on your siblings?

organiclifestylehumorfeature
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kamal O. Touhami11 days ago

    Great article mate. really enjoyed it.

  • Even though it was a wrong trip, I feel it was the right trip on your day. Hahaha. Thank you for sharing!

  • Hahahahahahaahahaha I laughed so much when he came out in bubble wrap! I don't think that I've had a disaster with flour before. I'm an only child but I do like to blackmail my cousins and friends hehehehe

  • Sweileh 88813 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep giving more

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.