Poets logo

I would rather feel the pain and cry

a villanelle

By Caroline JanePublished 19 days ago β€’ Updated 19 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
I would rather feel the pain and cry
Photo by Naveen Chandra on Unsplash

I would rather feel the pain and cry

Than have to look you in the eye

and say I never even tried to fly

To see your lips tremble the word why?

For me to fabricate another lie

I would rather feel the pain and cry,

swallow my pride and hold my head high

and suffer the laughs as I fail my first try

than say I never even tried to fly

I may not reach the stars in the sky

I am not a capable kind of guy

but I would rather feel the pain and cry

For the choice is simple: we do or we die

And, although it is likely I will fail as I try

I would rather feel the pain and cry

Than tell you I never even tried to fly

Villanelle

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (28)

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer9 days ago

    Well done, this is one of the harder poetry forms I think, and you made it look effortless. TS well deserved!

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Wonderful poem with relatable descriptions! Congrats on TS!

  • Awesome writing, keep it up!

  • Azeem Writes17 days ago

    Great and really beautiful poem. congratulation on your top story.

  • Linda Goodman17 days ago

    Beautiful work! Congratulations on your top story

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    Congratulations on TS

  • Anu Mehjabin18 days ago

    Impressive work! Your poem beautifully captures the essence of resilience and determination.Well done! And congrats on your top storyπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Sarah Wilcox18 days ago

    Congratulations on TS! I can see why, this is amazing thank you for sharing! πŸ‘

  • Sweileh 88818 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)18 days ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story!!! Yay Caroline!! πŸŽ‰

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Poignantly penned!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • The Dani Writer18 days ago

    Hoooooooooooooooo!!! This is lesson HEIGHTS! Fantastic top story! Beautifully written!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Congrats on the TS πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • shanmuga priya18 days ago

    Congratulations πŸŽ‰

  • Paul Stewart18 days ago

    What did I say? Congrats on another well deserved Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Part of feels this is a valuable life lesson, part of me is thinking, "damn, girl. Didn't break your leg skydiving?" Yeah, I'm nuts and possibly insufficiently caffeinated.

  • Gosh this was so poignant, emotional and relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Beautifully written & so true! I especially love: β€˜ I would rather feel the pain and cry Than tell you I never even tried to flyβ€™πŸ’œ

  • Donna Fox (HKB)19 days ago

    Well this was painful and relatable!! Great work here Caroline!! I love what you did here and ow authentic/ genuine this feels!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 19 days ago

    Well done!

  • Beautiful πŸ’”

  • Christy Munson19 days ago

    Beautiful poem.

Caroline JaneWritten by Caroline Jane

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.