Longevity logo

Channel Your Stress

How a Healthy Outlet for Creative Expression Can Help You!

By Jonathan The WandererPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Sometimes just breathing isn’t enough... sometimes we just need to yell. Having grown up in an environment that had me constantly on edge, I can attest that having an outlet for our energy is one of the most important places we could place our willpower. A child’s tendency to become its environment as it grows into an adult is too great to acknowledge and not attend to.

So many of us have the skill to progress so much farther in life than our awareness allows us to, and all that holds us back from grasping our dreams is the subconscious habits formed by constantly identifying with our immediate reality. In tense situations, emotions are taken in, and embraced somewhere within as personal qualities, rather than channeled through and out of the body. Those that have outlets of expression, and those that hold onto each and every feeling, emotion, and thought that they procure are very easily torn apart.

Having existed in both ends of this spectrum, I believe in the healing power of creative expression for people of all ages. As a child my first passion lay in writing, for it allowed me to get thoughts out of my head that I wasn’t comfortable sharing with my judgmental immediate family. I found solace in poetry and clever articulations of words, and I embraced this as an artistic avenue that I could carry with me throughout my life. I eventually evolved my craft into drawing, usually sketching with colored pencils, charcoal, and other fancy pens I could find at local shops. I would focus on a feeling within me that I planned to give life, and I would let the pen be the instrument for the song I would try to write. I would never see an image in my head prior to the end result, I though of the act of drawing as a translation.

When I reached high school, I had saved up enough to invest in equipment for music production. This is where I found a haven like I had never before dreamed. I played guitar from the age of four, and reaching a point where I could now create a whole compositional world to illustrate my stories in such an immersive form gave me the perfect place to get my thoughts out and clear my mind.

I never had many people to trust with my true thought processes and feelings, although eventually later in life I found the perfect people to surround myself with. However, during the time I didn’t have a safe place to vent about life, these art forms kept me sane and collected.

I knew many kids my age with broken homes and difficult situations like me, and even they had gone out of their way to find the resources for creative expression. Most of the connections I made growing up were through artistic collaborations, especially music. I used to escape to a friend’s house where we would set up our laptops and keyboards, and make arrangements all day.

One of the greatest things about having a healthy, divine, and creative place to express yourself is the fact that when you meet people through these avenues, it will only be on an identical healthy, divine, and creative level. This is the best way to attract the right people into your life, and I discovered that by sitting back within myself, and tuning into which frequencies needed to be channeled, and which ones belonged in my interaction with the world.

Of course cases with more intense feelings and emotions than mere keyboards and pencils can handle, so physical exercise comes in handy when you don’t want to break your valuables.

Having a place to yell brings peace, because when it’s time to breathe there is no suffocated exclamation blocking the breath. I recommend yelling into a guitar with your fingers. It will ultimately reflect externally how much you internally transmute and release.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan The Wanderer

I am a traveling artist documenting my thoughts and experiences as I experience funny and beautiful places and people! Donate if you feel called!

IG: @blissful_abundance

[email protected]

Venmo: @finessethematrix

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.