Longevity logo

Can Too Much Vitamin C Cause Hair Loss? A Personal Story

Hailey Jones

By Vitality VibePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

I have always been a fan of vitamin C. I love citrus fruits, and I take vitamin C supplements every day to boost my immune system and keep my skin healthy. I thought I was doing something good for my body, until I noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual.

I was shocked and scared. I had no idea what was causing my hair loss. I went to see my doctor, who ran some tests and asked me about my diet and lifestyle. He told me that I had a condition called hypervitaminosis C, which means that I had too much vitamin C in my blood.

He explained that vitamin C is a water-soluble vitamin, which means that the excess is usually flushed out by the kidneys. However, if you take too much vitamin C for a long time, it can build up in your tissues and cause problems. One of the symptoms of hypervitaminosis C is hair loss, because vitamin C can interfere with the absorption of other nutrients that are essential for hair growth, such as iron and zinc.

He advised me to stop taking vitamin C supplements and reduce my intake of vitamin C-rich foods. He also prescribed me some iron and zinc supplements to help restore my hair health. He said that it would take some time for my hair to grow back, but it should eventually return to normal.

I was relieved to know the cause of my hair loss, but I was also frustrated that I had unknowingly harmed myself by taking too much vitamin C. I wondered if there was anything else I could do to speed up my hair growth and prevent further damage.

That’s when I came across an article about red light therapy for hair loss. Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level lasers or LEDs to stimulate blood circulation and cellular activity in the scalp. It can help improve hair growth by increasing the supply of oxygen and nutrients to the hair follicles, reducing inflammation, and promoting the production of collagen and elastin.

I was intrigued by this idea, and I decided to give it a try. I bought a red light therapy cap online, which is a device that you wear on your head like a hat. It has small lights embedded in it that emit red light at a specific wavelength and intensity. The cap is battery-powered and wireless, so you can use it anywhere and anytime.

I started using the red light therapy cap for 20 minutes every day, following the instructions that came with it. The cap was comfortable and easy to use, and it felt warm and soothing on my scalp. I didn’t notice any side effects or discomfort from the treatment.

After a few weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed that my hair was shedding less and looked thicker and shinier. After a few months, I saw new hairs growing in the areas where I had lost them before. My doctor confirmed that my vitamin C levels were back to normal, and that my iron and zinc levels were also improved.

I was amazed by the results of red light therapy for hair loss. It really helped me regrow my hair faster and healthier than I expected. It also boosted my confidence and self-esteem, which had suffered from my hair loss.

I still use the red light therapy cap occasionally as a maintenance treatment, but I don’t need it as much as before. I also learned to be more careful with my vitamin C intake, and to balance it with other nutrients that are important for hair health.

If you are suffering from hair loss due to too much vitamin C or other reasons, I highly recommend trying red light therapy for hair regrowth. It is safe, effective, convenient, and affordable. You can find many options online or in stores, but make sure to choose a reputable brand that has good reviews and customer service.

Red light therapy for hair loss is not a miracle cure, but it can make a big difference in your hair quality and quantity. It worked for me, and it might work for you too.

Have you tried red light therapy for hair loss? What was your experience? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

wellnesshealthdiet
Like

About the Creator

Vitality Vibe

I hope you will join me on this adventure of becoming health warriors. Let’s make health our priority and happiness our goal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.