Longevity logo

Breakfast with A Side of Drama

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 14 days ago 3 min read
4
Breakfast with A Side of Drama
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Sitting in the kitchen savoring every bite of the breakfast while enjoying the beautiful scene of nature outside, I am at peace.

This peaceful moment didn't last for long, a loud stampede echoed in the silent hallways, followed by the kitchen door banging open.

My brother stood there huffing and puffing, half-step with hair in a mess, the shirt half-buttoned, different socks on both feets and jumbo night slippers.

I guess those were cause of the stampede. I was wondering why he got up early, jogging my memory I finally got my answer.

Their entire campus was going on a trip and the students were required to come early or they will miss the bus.

I didn't bother getting up, this is a perfect morning entertainment and I'm going to enjoy it.

It was like he was running late and here he was desperately trying to getting in proper shape which he was failing to achieve.

I watched as he rushed to the coffee maker, poured in the water and randomly selected coffee grounds from the drawer.

Flicking the brew button he took few steps back fixing his shirt and tying up his tie.

A irritating gurgling sound filled the air looking for the source my eyes fell on the coffee maker. Is that smoke I see?

Suddenly, the coffee maker began spewing everywhere like a mini volcano erupting.

I saw him panic as he rushed to turn it off. The machine was off but the cabinets the counter top and the floor were covered in coffee.

Even his shirt was drenched and there were coffee beans in his hair. I wonder what he will do now.

He did something totally unexpected - he ran from the kitchen leaving behind the mess.

No sooner did he leave did he come back with mom, who was now staring at the mess in disbelief and amusement.

Hitting him on the head I watched both of them clean up the mess. The kitchen was now sparkling again. The coffee-maker was in a bag - I'm assuming it is going to be replaced or repaired.

Turning to my brother who was now clinging to my mom's legs like an overgrown Koala bear, with watery eyes he said to mom it's too late my bus is gone.

This is expected since he is the dramatic one in the family but I saw mom give a sigh, shaking her head she told him that she had messed with his alarm clock but an hour ahead so that he wouldn't be late.

His expression changed to glee and he skipped like a little girl to his room for a much needed shower.

I could his terrible singing even in the kitchen. Enjoying the peaceful morning with a siblings like this is very hard. It is a good thing neither of them are morning birds.

Mom sat down with me and together we enjoyed the meal ignoring the terrible singing in the background.

Washing the dishes and putting it on the drying rack. My brother pranced in the kitchen clothes in order and so is the hair.

Giving off a twirl he ruffled me hair, hugged mom and sat down on the table shoveling in the morning meal.

Leaning back on the chair he sighed, shaking his head and said, "Well, at least I know one thing - I definitely won't be late for work today!"

Giving a snide remark I told him it is only because of mom or he would have gone to an empty campus.

Saying that I left to my room for moment of much needed peace.

wellnesslifestylehumor
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    Hahahahahhahahahaha I love that your mom messed with his alarm clock!

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    Siblings have to get the last word in, right? lol

  • Ameer Bibi14 days ago

    Amazing story you described every scene or moment in very attractive way

  • I am back to say you it is a nice work. Super writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.