Longevity logo

Aging Women's Issues

I didn't want to hear it may be a chronic issue.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
5
Aging Women's Issues
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

My doctor appointment today with my primary doctor went like this:

Your urine test came back positive for a UTI, let me show you the results. It will automatically be sent in to be cultured and then we will let you know.

Since you have a recent history of UTIs, and it is close to the weekend, and you have the symptoms, we will treat you with an antibiotic. And because you got a yeast infection after your last two antibiotic treatments, we will give you a preventative for that.

I would like for you to do your kegels and I am going to suggest you go to physical therapy to build up your pelvic floor.

Wow!

I then asked, "Am I ever going to get rid of these UTIs?" Her response was maybe not, although she didn't say it like that. She first said she was not an artist but wanted to draw me a picture.

So picture this:

A line that is my body, then a bladder that looks more like a circle right next to the body with a straw coming straight out of that. Then she says that is when you are young and haven't had big babies. The urine all comes out through that process.

She knows my babies were 8# 15 oz. and 10# 6oz.

Then she draws another picture where the bladder is further down in the body. She explains that the bladder moves down over time and with having babies. and turns and now that straw to pass urine is bent in almost an L shape for the urine to pass.

Then she shows how the urine doesn't all pass making it ripe for infection.

She told me it may help when I pass urine to rock on the stool and bend to the side. She said, "Do you ever have more urine come out as you are wiping?" And yes I told her I have had that happen. She then said that is what she is talking about.

It doesn't come straight out anymore so we must make sure it is all out each time in the best way we can.

What a conversation!

And all of this in addition to the 1 pill antibiotic I am to take every time I have intercourse. She prescribed four pills a week, for months. I said, you know my husband is 73. I didn't say anything about my age. At our age and in our relationship twice a week is a success.

Wednesday and Sunday are date nights.

I suppose it is better than when my daughter, the registered nurse said, "Mom, remember to wipe from front to back!" She thought she was funny but when it is you having this problem, not much is funny!

When hearing about the rocking on the toilet seat my husband said, "I suppose we will be going through some toilet seats then?" I said I hope so! It just felt like no sympathy. I'm sure they are both tired of my having one thing after another and would probably prefer I not talk about it!

So, it is time to share with whomever is interested in reading this!

The altitude sickness is still with me. I have some tiredness, an occasional headache, and an upset stomach. I lost 5 pounds from lack of appetite so that part has been okay. It should be coming to an end and I hope to never visit that altitude again.

If it is up to my husband, we will not leave home again. And that is just when I had him talked into leaving Minnesota for a month in the winter. He says he is living his dream life here on our property. He works on our machines and our property and we spend time with family and friends.

And he is married to me! I guess that's a compliment!

self carewellnesssexual wellnesshealthaging
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol, your husband's remark about you rocking on the toilet seat. I hope you get better soon ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    If you don’t mind we asking, do you drink a lot of milk ? Sometimes drinking a lot of diary can cause uti for some people . I hope you get better and not have any UTI

  • Sheila L. Chingwa8 months ago

    Just gotta love being a woman. Such a trial.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.