Longevity logo

A Room With A View

No matter the season

By Cathryn DennisonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Taken with the help of alexmatrixphoto (Check them out on Instagram!)

Whether it is a cool, quiet winter’s day or a warm, noisy summer’s one, sitting here while I read is one of my favorite things to do. The window is right by the heater, so in the winter, it is fairly easy to stay warm. In the summer, I put a box fan in the window to get more fresh air and a nice breeze right over me.

Getting lost in a book, web story, manga, or a random fan-fiction on the internet is so easy and doing it while listening to the sounds of the rain falling inches away or seeing the first snow of the year start to fall pulls me away from it all and back into the craziness and sporadic occurrence that is Mother Nature.

Call me a bit of a hippy, but when it can be a little difficult not to take a moment away from getting lost in a fantasy world of literature when you see a bit of color out of your eye in the late evening to crane your head and see this:

Taken with the help of alexmatrixphoto (Check them out on Instagram!)

True, the weather can be a little gloomy sometimes, but if it was perfect all of the time, then days or even moments like these wouldn't be as special as they are.

Watching the seasons pass by can be one of the most exciting things as my bookshelf, virtual or otherwise, continues to grow.

Spring comes and the trees start to grow their leaves while the birds sing. I can start to leave the window open during the days and get a nice breeze. Although, I sometimes have to break out the allergy medication around the same time.

Summer brings the heat and the humidity, which can make falling asleep while reading a little bit easier. There is still nothing quite as relaxing as taking an afternoon nap with the sun's rays over you. At the same time, when it gets near one hundred degrees, eating a few popsicles while the fan is keeping me cool is a simple and easy way of staying in whatever world I am traveling to.

Once Fall arrives, it's time to start getting a little cozy with a warm sweater, and maybe even a blanket or two. To stay in the mood, I also like to burn an apple-cinnamon or pumpkin-spiced candle, especially around the evening or night time.

Finally, one of my favorite things to do to my little reading nook is during the winter. String lights have always been one of my favorite decorations, whether it is around the holidays or not, and I love alternating the window's decor along with the seasons. Like so:

Taken with the help of alexmatrixphoto (Check them out on Instagram!)

It can get a little chilly right beside the window, but a cup of hot chocolate or a slice of warm apple pie can be one of the best things to warm me up while I'm going through page after page.

A little about my reading nook:

  • It's a storage ottoman that is about three and a half feet long; which is a little short for me to lay down in but is perfect to curl up in or sit on.
  • It is filled to the brim with notebooks full of books that I am working on and have been working on since I was fourteen; a little over eleven years ago.
  • I've only had it for about a year and a half or so.

Tips I'd give to make your reading nook more personal or comfortable:

  1. Pillows and blankets can be your best friend. If you're like me and your area wasn't designed for comfort, a simple pillow or a few blankets can help you get comfy enough to enjoy your book for hours.
  2. Surround it with things that keep you calm and grounded. Personally, I love bright, vibrant colors at any time of the day. Although, when I'm reading, I find myself comfortable when I'm around neutral colors or less vibrant colors. They tend to keep me less distracted, more solid, and just generally make me want to curl up into a ball and relax.
  3. Lighting is key, but don't go overboard. Remember, reading with lots of light is important for keeping your eyes healthy. That being said, you don't want to be blinded by a million lights. Try to have one or two around you that stay in theme with your relaxed mood. Do you prefer warm (yellow) or cool (white) lights? Do you want a light clip that can attach to your book or a traditional lamp that rests beside you? These questions can help you to pick out your best lighting.

Thanks for reading! If you liked my nook or the tips that came with it, give this a like and share it (it really helps). If you're interested in more of my work, check out my Twitter for live updates when articles, stories, and poems are available.

decor
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.