Poets logo

What We Are

What We Can Be

By Cathryn DennisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

What am I?

I see all of these people saying who they are:

A fighter, a survivor, an inspiration, a hero

Then I hear people saying how they are:

Lonely, anxious, tired, depressed

Next, I hear people say why they are:

Abuse, neglect, failure, and triumph

More than anything, though,

I hear people say what they are:

A man, a woman, a girl, a boy,

Gay, Straight, Trans, Pan

American, European, Asian, African

Christian, Catholic, Muslim, Pagan

White, Black, Hispanic

Right, Wrong

Everything and nothing

Human...

Then, when they are done, they ask the question.

What are you?

I freeze, not knowing what to say.

Do I tell them?

They just told me what they are.

They watch me, waiting for what I say.

I take a small breath, look at them, and say…

“I’m a person.”

They look confused.

Obviously, I’m a person. What was I talking about?

I must be one of “those”.

Those people who are regarded as insane

Those people who ‘defy definition’

No.

I’m not one of ‘those people’

I don’t defy definition.

By definition, a person is a human being,

Regarded as an individual.

I don’t want to defy this.

I want to be defined by this.

See my gender.

See my age.

See my sexuality.

See my nationality.

See my religion.

See my skin color.

But don’t just see one or two.

See all of it.

It’s what makes me what I am:

A person.

I feel many things:

Love, compassion, empathy, understanding

Anger, fear, despair, jealousy

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve had to fight.

I’ve won

I’ve lost

And I’m sure you have to

These are all what makes me a person.

They are what make you a person, too.

Together, we are people.

True we make up a group that can

And will

Be identified by our

Gender

Religion,

Motion and Emotion

Nationality and Sexuality

However,

We do not see each other by the labels,

Classifications and denominations that others will do.

We see each other

For what we truly are.

That is what I am

It is what I choose to be

You can choose this, too.

Look past the years of being taught selfish ways.

We are all taught these ways at some point, and too many people choose not

to see past it.

Too many of us shut our eyes to the pain and suffering that these walls

cause.

But it’s not too late.

You can see through it all, the wall that separates us.

You can break through it, even now.

It’s never too late to break out of this cage of intolerance and hate

It’s never too late to be free; free to see and find things you never could have

before.

You can find friendships and love if you only look.

That is all anyone wants is to be loved.

That’s all anyone needs.

We just need a person, two, or even a hundred to stand beside us, touch our

hearts, and tell us that we’re not alone.

Those are our people.

And you can be that person.

If you just open your eyes and see.

So…

What are you?

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.