Longevity logo

7 Ways To Sneak In More Steps

Painless Fitness

By Donna GerardPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

10,000 steps isn’t that difficult, yet there are days when my step goal is elusive. I have been proud of myself for getting my steps in halfway through the day, and I have taken “the walk of shame”, striding around the block at 11:00 at night because I’m still 1000+ steps short. Worst of all are the days that I really could have gotten my steps in but didn’t, and for no good reason. We’ve all been there. Whether your goal is 10,000 steps, or 5000, or you walk like you’re training for a marathon (kudos to you!), here are some ways to sneak in extra steps so you’re not walking in place next to the bed for those last 200 steps before turning out the light.

1. Park in the back of the parking lot.

This is an oldie but a goodie. When you’re going on your Target run, park far away from the entrance. You’ll gain steps both coming and going.

2. Make your shopping errands double as a fitness activity.

Whether you have a long list of purchases or you just need a couple of things, make the store work for you. When I go to any store, I walk the aisles. Even if I just need a loaf of bread and a carton of milk, I start at the produce section and work my way through aisle by aisle. If I’m close to my goal, I’ll even walk the perimeter of the store for good measure.

3. Lighter Loads, More Trips

Gone are the days when I used to load bags on my person like a pack animal. I was bound and determined to get everything into the house in one trip. Then I got to thinking that if I take two bags at a time, I will need to make more trips. More trips equals more steps. So if it takes 53 step to get from the trunk of my car to my kitchen counter (yes, I know this), and I have 6 bags of groceries, I will make 5 trips into the house. If I remember to leave the trunk open, then I have to go out to close it, giving me 2 more one- way trips. This inflates a 53 step task up to a 371 step accomplishment.

4. Walk in Place While Microwaving

Let’s face it. Waiting for the microwave to work its magic is dead time. Whether the leftovers need three more minutes or your coffee is reheating for 30 seconds, that time has potential. While the food is heating, I’m stepping. I watch the clock and switch activities every 10 seconds. I start with walking in place. Then I do knee lifts. Back to walking. Side steps. Walking. High kicks. Walking. Butt kicks. Walking. Repeat, or add another element. When I’m really ambitious I add arm motions, giving myself a slight cardio kick. It’s not a whole lot, but formerly wasted time becomes a little jolt of steps and fitness.

5. Take a Walk Break

You’ve been sitting at your desk working. You need a mental break and your back could use a stretch. How much time can you spare?

If I can spare 20 minutes, I walk around the block the long way. 15 minutes? I walk around the block the short way. In 10 minutes I can go to the end of the street and back. If I can only spare 5 minutes, it’s a great time to walk to the nearest corner and back. If the weather isn’t conducive to going out, I swear by a 500 step video on YouTube by Leslie Sansone Walk At Home. She has a whole series of videos ranging from 5 minutes to full body workouts. (This is not a paid endorsement. I’m just passing on what works for me.) If you work in an office, a quick walk around the building or just the parking lot is better than nothing.

6. Use the furthest bathroom.

Granted, this is for non-emergency use and must take into account usage competition and the existence of more than one bathroom. So if I’m sitting downstairs binging Netflix and I’m going to do a bathroom run before my next episode, why not go upstairs and get a few more steps? If you’re at work, why not use the bathroom on the next floor (taking the stairs, of course), or the one further down the hall, or walk the long way? Multiply this by your number of trips. It might be worth your while. I sometimes take advantage of when my dog has to go to the bathroom. When I let him out into the backyard, I take a quick walk around the perimeter. It all adds up.

7. Be a Perpetual Tidier

I have learned that I can get a lot of steps in my house. Rather than stacking stuff on the stairs to go up later, I bring them up now. When I’m done with my coffee cup, instead of waiting to put it in the dishwasher when I’m going to the kitchen anyway, I make a special trip. Not only am I getting more steps, but my house is cleaner, and I don’t end up having to spend a block of time de-cluttering when things get messy, at least in theory.

Oops. I forgot to bring my cup to the kitchen. It’s time to make a special trip.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Donna Gerard

Every day the world starts anew. Reframe your troubles, take a look around you, and get busy being you.

Author of Who's Tougher Than Us? The Realities of Teaching. Check it out on Amazon or go to my website, donnagerard.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.