Longevity logo

7 Reasons to Cultivate A Regular Yoga Practice

Benefits of Yoga For Body And Mind

By Reija SillanpaaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
7 Reasons to Cultivate A Regular Yoga Practice
Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

I have been practising yoga daily since the beginning of this year and have noted various improvements not only in my physical, but mental wellbeing, too.

1. Improved flexibility

In March 2019 I got diagnosed with womb cancer and had a hysterectomy, chemotherapy and radiotherapy to treat it. All the treatments, which thankfully worked, left me with reduced flexibility, especially in the pelvic and hip area targeted by the radiotherapy.

This inflexibility caused me discomfort. For example, with simple chores as bending down to tie my shoelaces.

Since practising yoga every day, I have noticed an improvement in my flexibility and experience less discomfort.

A ten-week study with two groups of athletes with one adding yoga to their training and the other doing their basic training only, found that yoga training significantly enhances the measures of flexibility.

2. Reduced joint and back pain

The cancer treatments also left me with joint pain, and I have long experienced back pain. Regular yoga practice can help with both issues, and since I have cultivated a daily practice, it has helped with both the joint and the back pain.

Before I took up daily yoga, I had stiffness and pain in my joints, mainly in fingers, wrists and knees. I can’t say the stiffness has completely gone now, but it affects me a lot less.

In a study Dr Kolasinski discovered that taking a 90-minute Iyengar yoga class once a week over eight weeks, reduced pain and improved physical function in people with knee osteoarthritis.

Yoga can help reduce back in two ways through strengthening the back and abdominal muscles and through stretching.

According to Spine-Health strong back and abdominal muscles can reduce back pain significantly. They also write that stretching is important for people with lower back pain and, for example, stretching the hamstring can decrease stress in the lower back.

3. Better posture

Good posture is important for a happy back. I’ve already mentioned that I have suffered from back pain for a long time and I have a terrible habit of slouching. Years marking my students’ books haven’t helped my posture either.

In yoga there is a lot of focus on the correct alignment, which is great for improving your posture. This leads to an improved posture over time.

I’m still guilty of slouching, but through yoga I’ve become more aware of when I’m doing it and adjust my position. And two-and-a-half months into my daily practice, my back pain is gone. Completely.  

4. Build strength

I never really associated yoga with strength, but I soon noticed that practising poses such as the blank and the boat regularly built strength in my whole body.

Since you are only using your own bodyweight in yoga, there is a limit to how much muscle you can build, so if you are after a bodybuilder’s frame, you will also need to hit the gym. However, if you are like me and just looking for a more toned body, then yoga is perfect for that.

Compared to weight training that targets a specific muscles, yoga poses involve the whole body. According to Ekhart Yoga when we practise yoga poses, other muscle groups act as stabilisers besides the muscles where the action is.

They give the Chaturanga Dandasana as an example of a pose working a range of muscles.

5. It's me-time

When I first started the yoga practice, I felt guilty taking that much time for it every day. It’s strange I never feel guilty going for a run, even though it takes up a similar time. Maybe it’s because I don’t enjoy running, but I enjoy yoga.

But I soon got over the guilt when yoga became part of the every day and a moment I cherish.

Turning up on the mat and tuning into the body instead of the mind, helps to put aside the to-do lists, worries and stress.

6. Better Mental Health

Since incorporating yoga into my life daily, I have noted an improvement in my mood. I am more positive; I have more energy and I am much calmer (the last point noted and much appreciated by my partner).

Yoga as exercise increases the level of serotonin, the ‘happiness’ hormone. It helps to stabilise our moods and supports well-being.

According to Deborah Khoshaba, Psy.D. practising yoga can relieve stress and calm the nervous system.

7. Increased Productivity and Dedication

I did not expect yoga to benefit my writing practise, but since I have been hitting the asanas (yoga poses) daily, I have been writing so much more.

Practising yoga clears my mind, freeing space for creative ideas. Sticking with yoga has helped me to stick with challenging writing projects and work through blocks with my novel-in-progress.

And it is not just my writing practice that has benefited from yoga. Dedicating time to daily yoga has helped me to stick to a healthy diet, a running routine, and a more regular bedtime.

***

Incorporating yoga into my daily routine has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. It has improved my mental and physical health.

I have chosen to practise yoga every day, but finding the time to do it even a few times each week may be enough to make a difference to your health and wellbeing.

yoga
Like

About the Creator

Reija Sillanpaa

A wise person said, "Be your own audience". Therefore, I write fiction, poetry and about matters important and interesting to me. That said, I warmly welcome you into my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.