Longevity logo

5 Easy Self-Care Acts

Because you deserve it.

By Chanel LPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have seen a lot of self-care posts lately and it got me thinking about how often I actually focus on myself. I realized that with my busy schedule I have been neglecting what matters most: ME. I have also been on a personal journey the past few years to feel more like my authentic self, which has included trying new things and breaking out of my comfort zone. Honestly, at first, I was skeptical about this whole self-care movement. But since I was on this personal journey and all, I gave it a try. Safe to say I was pleasantly surprised.

1) Take a Nap

I have a habit of not taking enough naps, even though I absolutely love them (who doesn’t right?) There is always something going on in my mind. Doesn’t it always seem like you think about the most menial things when trying to relax? SHUT UP BRAIN AND SLEEP.

So in the name of personal growth, I have been trying to put aside my anxious thoughts and allow my body to recharge. Let me tell you, it was not easy at first. Breaking habits take time, but eventually, I found what works best for me. I am personally all about the rain sounds; there is nothing like the sound of rain hitting your window to put you to sleep.

2) Meditate

This is something I have only been able to embrace lately. Honestly, I always thought that I didn’t need meditation to de-stress. Boy, was I ever wrong. After being tired of feeling constantly stressed, I finally decided to give it a try. Since I have the attention span of a three-year-old, I looked for the shortest mediation video on YouTube. I never knew only a few minutes could change your life, but it truly can. Just try it. You won’t regret it.

3) Listen to Uplifting Music

Who else has that song or playlist that gives you that extra confidence boost and makes you walk down the street like a bad a**? Anyone else thinking Beyoncé? I highly suggest putting your valuable time and effort into creating a playlist that gives you that feeling. We have all heard that music is good for the soul but sometimes all we need is to listen to our favorite song to give us that spark again. In no time, you will be feeling like the Queen B herself.

4) Go for a Walk

I find the best medicine is being out in nature and breathing fresh air. There’s no feeling like it, so why not get more of it? You don’t need to run a half marathon; go for a quick walk around the block if you are low on time. Whatever it takes, just do it and thank yourself later.

5) Say Something Positive About Yourself

This can sometimes feel like the hardest thing to do, but it is the smallest change you can make that will make the world of difference. It doesn’t matter as much what you say (as long as it is positive), it matters that you are saying it in the first place. I personally, try to say something positive out loud once a day. It takes practice and perseverance, but you’ll get there.

A journey of personal growth and self-care doesn't happen overnight and often we forget to focus on ourselves. And you know what? THAT’S OKAY. We are all just trying to make it through this thing we call life. But I have found that in the places of most discomfort, you find out the most about yourself.

So try something new, or don’t. Either way, just do you.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.