Journal logo

So Many Vocal Stories

Too Many For One Person To Read

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 28 days ago Updated 28 days ago 3 min read
19
Image by Marisa Sias from Pixabay

Introduction

The are close to a million stories on Vocal and I believe about 800,000 members. I don't know how many of them are V+ members but it is irrelevant for this piece.

This is about how I am often overwhelmed and so appreciative of those that I see be supportive of me and others on the platform.

The music is "I'll Be There For You" by The Rembrandts, which is the theme from Friends, because, hopefully we are friends on here.

So What Is My Problem?

I like to connect with people, so if I find a story I like, I check a few others by the creator and then if they all hit the spot I subscribe. I also share a few Vocal Creator profiles on my Creationati section on my Vocal profile, though I think some are now inactive, and most don't even know they are there (though three or four do).

This means that my notifications get flooded with publications, which does affect me badly, but there is no way around it because Vocal refuse to see it as an issue. My subscription feed gives me the option to pick and choose what in a more sedate way.

But I see so many stories and I think, that I can't read or even acknowledge as many as I should, and that makes me feel useless, incompetent and unsupportive. I know that is competely wrong but I still feel like this.

Ironically the Vocal Leaderboard emphasises this in me, so I try not to check it out to make me feel a little better, but I know I need to go there to congratualte the ones who get the success. We do need to engage with each other and acknowledge the good work that others do because often we are beneficiaries of what they do, and they give us a goal to aim for.

I do try to read stories but feel I don't do enough. I see lots of other creators commenting on and sharing others stories and I think "I should be doing more of that".

The thing is that sometimes my writing, like with this piece, stops me from reading because this is holding my attention, I don't think that is wrong because we want to share our thoughts and creations and provoke reactions from our friends and other creators.

I have lived with this feeling for a long time and I know that it will keep on making me feel this way.

I suppose this is reflected in the number of books that I have bought and still have to read. I currently have three on the go, "Imajica" by Clive Barker, "The Pie At Night" by Stuart Maconie and "Carol" by Patricia Highsmith, and they are just the ones that I am reading, there are a lot more I have to read as well.

These are what I read outside of Vocal, as well aplaying games, walking , watching TV and listening to and playing music.

Conclusion

When I miss your stories, it is not because I am being lazy, although I feel that I am, it is because my time is taken up by other things. There are too many stories on Vocal for me to read, even just in the communities that I normally contribute to. but in the same way, I know that the only person who will ever read all my stories is me. Two thousand and one hundred Vocal stories is way beyond any intellect, not least because my writing jumps over many Vocal communities and genres.

If you have got to this point, thank you so much for your engagement and support, and would love to know what you think about all this.

social mediaVocalproduct reviewpop cultureliteraturelisthumanityfeaturefact or fictionadvice
19

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Robbins21 days ago

    Completely understand this sentiment. I have received a number of really kind comments and I do try my best to reciprocate, but I have so many other things that press me for time. In the end, I write and read for joy. Guilt can get in the way of joy, so I just have to be kind and gentle with my limitations. And the same for you. Your writing is often considered and joyful. And if I don't say it enough it isn't because I don't think it.

  • Mike, you have a job, publish multiple pieces daily, go for walks, play games, read books, watch TV, etc. I do neither of those things and hence have more time on my hands to read on Vocal. Don't let that make you feel like you're doing enough because you are doing sooooo much!

  • It can be a bit whelming. I didn't get home until about a 6:30 p.m. Prepared supper, went through email, wrote a quick story that had been on my mind through the day, then turned to find 64 new notifications on my feed. I think I'm probably just going to head to bed now, lol.

  • Andy Potts27 days ago

    I'm making an effort this week to comment more (you may have noticed!). Not sure how it will play out. Ideally, it will lead me to new writers and interesting work. But there's a danger I'll mostly get stuck into people I already know and end up going around in circles. Let's see ...

  • Mike, thank you for sharing this. I feel the same way, and although I love to read what everyone is writing, my house needs a good cleaning, my job is calling, and my family needs attention. I think your advice, and that of respondents, to just do our best, IS the best advice!

  • Rasma Raisters27 days ago

    There sure is a lot to read, I know I don't do enough but I try as much as I can, I never think there is a good balance between what I post and what I read. All we can really do is our best,

  • Thavien Yliaster28 days ago

    Yeah, Vocal's become it's own miniature library. I'm surprised that they don't have book publishing capabilities more readily available. Didn't they publish a bunch of competition stories in a book for the writing awards?

  • Babs Iverson28 days ago

    Agree, it's overwhelming!!! The subscriber feed is better than the redundancies of notifications!!! Great article!!!💕❤️❤️ For me, doing what I can when I can!!!

  • The Dani Writer28 days ago

    Mikeydred you are most kind to share your innermost and honest feelings on the subject. There is a LOT of content in just LIFE and we all do the best we can with the time we have. Comparisons do not serve here as everyone battles with different factors and variables. I'm certain that my "to be read" (TBR) book pile is waaaaay bigger than yours. Keep doing what you can. That is all any of us can do with much love.

  • ROCK 28 days ago

    I take a full six or seven hours of reading in a day every two or three days, writing in between. I seem to go to those I already follow every day because I like to read their writing daily then I force myself out of my comfort zone the reading days. I have so much writing not published as I feel reading is integral to improving my own perspective and learning as well.

  • Krishan Mubashar28 days ago

    Yeah, sometimes feeling useless and lazy compared to others here, is something I can relate to. There is a flood of creations every single minute to read and yet, the day only has 24 hours, not enough to read all. I've tried to read more, but ... first real life then writing, then reading and normally I am tired of words after writing. It can feel depressing! I guess, we all encounter this, so we all can relate to it.

  • Anna 28 days ago

    Yeah, there are way too many stories, I could spend my whole day reading them and not even finish😭

  • Judey Kalchik 28 days ago

    I think the more we have to do the longer we will live. So buy all the books and re it’s and such. Make all the plans. Do what you can and enjoy it

  • Gerard DiLeo28 days ago

    Yes, yes, yes. I can't get to them all if I'm writing myself. And now with the story-a-day thing I'm involved in--and happily so--it's worse. Forgive me writers, because I'm zigging when you're zagging.

  • Sandra Matos28 days ago

    I agree. The problem is that most Vocal readers are also writers. Writers must write ✍️ I have not been producing much lately. As far as supporting others, I make it my goal to write a response to at least two writers a day. I have to write something meaningful and genuine about the piece that I read. I'm not going to win any prizes but at least I know that I'm being supportive. This was a great piece. I'm working on a piece about my writing also. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  • kp28 days ago

    agreed. it's a lot to take in. i also find myself overwhelmed by the number of notifications i receive in a day from published stories. it is helpful and can spur some reading to a point...mostly though, i find myself ignoring it and missing things :/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.