Journal logo

Encouragement and Did I Really See This?

A Seven Days In Excavation of Two Blog Posts

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
8
I Walked Out My Front Door And Saw This Six Years Ago

Introduction

Every so often stories get a lot of attention on my blog Seven Days In. The "Did I Really See This?" was getting a lot and because of the mention of the song "Happy" I linked the post that started that off and included my own take on the song as well, it is my favourite Rolling Stones song.

Did I Really See This?

I don't know if it's just age or what, but I often think I see things, then look again and realise it's just a trick of the light and arrangement of shadows or something else. I remember seeing a program about a guy who had seen a ghost at work and when he looked into it (he was a scientist) he actually replicated and showed that it was some device that caused air oscillations at a certain frequency that caused the "ghost" to appear. A couple of months back I saw this "flying saucer as I walked out of my front door. It was a cloud formation and a couple of seconds later it was gone. However there are a lot of people who would say that this WAS a flying saucer, and I suppose it could have been, but the probability to me is that it was just an unusual cloud formation.

The thing is that we should always question things and demand proof, even if we have to get that proof ourselves. Although we can assume that some things are true because we trust the framework that helps reinforce our belief. I believe that my keyboard and wires are working because I can see the words appearing in front of me on the screen. That reminds me I had a dream that I got a computer last night but it had a CRT screen, that just got dredged up from my mind because of the analogy I was using.

So my lost contact lens has not appeared although my left eye is a bit irritated, but is that because I have two contact lenses in there or is it just psychosomatic? I don't know but I will keep you posted.

So next in the artists who have covered The Rolling Stones' "Happy" is Nils Lofgren and while my favourite Nils Lofgren song might be "No Mercy", I've gone for "Secrets In The Street", a cheesy eighties video with a great sequencer intro and outro used as a backdrop to an excellent song with some brilliant guitar lines.

Have a great Wednesday

Encouragement

One of the great things in life is when people say what you are doing is good, that they enjoy it, that it makes things better, and that does give you a lift and makes you want to do more. In a work situation, this encourages teamwork and working together. Outside of work, it makes you want to interact more and work with and help others. It can bring your life to another level.

You get the opposite, people looking to find faults, trip people up and cause trouble and mischief, the sort of people who are only satisfied when they and others are miserable. It's not enough to succeed, somebody else must fail.

Part of my job has always been to spot faults and errors and to fix them, the fix rather than blame culture is so much more positive. Also encouraging others gets the best out of them.

Social interaction also helps in a work situation because if you talk about non-work things, it becomes easier to share ideas and deal with problems.

I wrote this post because someone gave me some encouragement, it was unexpected, but it was appreciated.

Also yesterday I saw someone almost resorting to violence because of a small mistake in a shop, and the person behind the counter was being very helpful but the customer was having none of it and ended up being ejected, it would have taken five minutes to sort his situation but he wanted blood.

Anyway, I thought I'd try and find a cover of one of my favourite all-time songs "Happy" by The Rolling Stones, and listened to covers by Nils Lofgren, The Pointer Sisters and Spirit but for my mood, all fall short of the Stones doing that song. However, my next three posts will include songs by each of those bands.

Anyway, it's Tuesday, and it's still dark but dry so have a brilliant day.

And my unprofessional attempt

workflowVocalfact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    Wizened counsel in both parts.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I loved that video of you playing guitar and singing! And yes, encouragement goes a long way. I always try my best to encourage people!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Three cheers for encouragement! My friend and I were just discussing the idea of a lack of enthusiasm and encouragement being shown to others lately. I don’t understand why not?! Scarcity mentality I suppose? Enjoyed your piece. 😁👏

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Encouragement is much needed I think. I don't understand people behaving badly in shops (or anywhere really) like people are just trying to pay the mortgage and sometimes they don't have/can't do what you want. I really enjoyed your thoughts on the tricks of light -that happens to me a lot!

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Great video of you playing guitar, you’re very talented. Very important article you wrote here because mental health issues can be very scary. You don’t know when someone’s gonna be triggered. As you said, small mistakes to some people can cause others fly off in rage. It’s frightening.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Nice video of you playing 🥰It’s always nice to get encouragement. We have a lot of mental health people in the US who get very upset easily and can be a very unpleasant experience. Triggers can cause some people to be violent and unreasonable. There are unseen entities walking around the earth doing their own thing. They are mention a lot in the Bible. We as human beings ignore them because science cannot explain them, yet.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.