Journal logo

Some Things Never Stop

While Some Things Stall Or Hit A Brick Wall

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
8
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

These are just a few observations on how some of my writing, especially on Vocal. is read day after day, while others just seem to stop dead.

Movers And Stickers

I am on several Social Media Platforms but am generally seen as a name people know rather than an actual creator.

I have a blog, Seven Days In, which has turned into my reading diary that gets, at the moment, something like a thousand visits a day, though it makes me very little money despite the adverts that are on there. It lives here and has had over 1.2 million visits.

I have an Instagram Channel and there is one shared picture that keeps getting likes and it is this one.

This is slowly getting more likes but most of my images stall after a few days.

My YouTube Channel has over two hundred videos and slideshows and some are still being viewed on a daily basis while others stall after maybe fifty views. Sometimes the tags or subjects bring people in but other times I am at a loss to determine why they are picked up or not.

These are my most popular videos, the Christopher Lee and Nick Cave/Dr Seuss/Dr Faustus ones accounting for 130K of my 220K views at the moment. I have 220 videos and 250 subscribers so can't monetise this because I don't have enough subscribers, but, like Instagram it is a hobby rather than a money-making exercise, like this writing.

Then there is my Vocal writing. Vocal has been the most lucrative dip into creation that I have ever done.

Again some of my stories are read two or three times every day while others just stop after the initial publication. Of my top ten most read stories only three were deemed good enough for Top Stories which proves my audience has far better taste than the Vocal Moderators and their Clique.

Again my audience is still growing, passing 820 now, although sometimes I do get spammers in there and they get removed by Vocal.

As you can see the ones that are not Top Stories don't have many hearts but obviously have the reads, and I am grateful to Vocal that we are paid for reads by non-Vocal members. Unfortunately, I cannot guarantee to see the number of reads for a story unless it is in my top or bottom ten, so if I story gets 50-100 I may never know as, despite the stats not working for years Vocal has done nothing about it and I doubt they ever will, though they could solve it in an instance by including the read counts with the story as they do with hearts (which updates in real-time). This piece is over two years old just to prove how long it has been an issue for me:

We get reads by our own promotion. Thanks to subscriptions and comments and user challenges we can get reads from within Vocal.

These can be enhanced by sharing in the Vocal Groups on Facebook (check out my poem at the end for a few of my favourite ones), and then based on the subject of your story, you can share in other groups via various social media platforms, although I am not sure Threads and Twitter does me any good, my posts with get likes but I don't think anyone actually reads them.

This is my most read piece and that was a result of posting in a couple of Folk Groups, so I know where most of the reads have come from. Subsequent posts have not been as successful.

This was shared in a music group and it stalled then after a few months it started getting a few reads a day and will soon hit a thousand reads, but with this one, I haven't a clue where threads are coming from but you can see there are only seven hearts so not of much interest to Vocal members, or they don't like very much.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading. You have probably realised that I still don't have a clue what I am doing here, but hopefully, this may give YOU some ideas or prompt some of your creativity.

I will leave you with this poem that lists some of my favourite Vocal Groups

social mediaworkflowVocalhow tohistoryheroes and villainsfeatureadvice
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    I sense a sequel to "Clueless" featuring a much older cast. Or perhaps "Clueless on Vocal" as a follow up to "Sleepless in Seattle" featuring a much more mature Tom Hanks & Meg Ryan. I don't have a clue either. And I'm with L.C. The idea of having over a thousand reads on a single story is mind-boggling.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I can't fathom any of my pieces getting 1000 reads! Well done 👏

  • I wish that Vocal would include which stories are being read and where are the reads coming from. Because sometimes, there's a huge increase in reads but I don't know any details about it

  • Staringale2 months ago

    This is so true. The top stories are the ones getting views, likes and reads. The other stories very rarely get views and I am speaking that from my experience on this platform and self-promotion is really necessary.

  • Staringale2 months ago

    This is so true. The top stories are the ones getting views, likes and reads. The other stories very rarely get views and I am speaking that from my experience on this platform and self-promotion is really necessary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.