Journal logo

My Building Of A Vocal Story

Almost Every One Is The Same

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
6
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

When I build a Vocal story it is never just writing. I receive a lot of criticism especially for challenge entries because I do things that stamp my identity over any Vocal story that I publish. This may be an issue because the story is very me rather than some Vocal template piece, or nothing but text.

However Vocal does insist on an image or video to lead in the story so it can never be just a block of text.

So What Are My Building Blocks?

Any story is made of ideas that are expressed as words, but I like to enhance the words that I share with others.

As children we love pictures and they say a picture paints a thousand words, but I believe that you can use words to create incredible pictures in people's minds.

When I create technical documents I include a lot of white space, because I believe that people will more readily read and digest what you have written if they are not met with huge slabs of text. Huge slabs of text are fine for certain forms of documentation, but not for anything where you are trying to entertain or get a message over to people.

I like to include space and images in my stories because I believe that it makes my story more engaging for the reader.

This is one of the reasons I usually include a video because it also gives the reader a picture and something to listen to as they read.

When I write poetry I include emojis that are relevant to what I am writing about, and in my last poem, I also included images of what I was writing about, which I believe made it different to most takes on the format, but also stamps it as one of my own creations.

I like to include graphical elements in poems and stories where I can and this is an example.

This microfiction contains the main image, a video and the text. Just two hundred and fifty words, with white space for the paragraphs.

Here is a story for the same Vocal Challenge that, unusually for me, uses emojis to split the sections in a (micro) fiction story.

And What Else?

Of course, words and images are of no use if you don't have ideas and/or facts to back them up but I put these things into a mixing pot and usually something comes out that I believe is a worthy creation.

Whether others read it, in the great scheme of things, should not matter to me because it has passed my quality checks, but if it is ignored or unconstructively criticised it does affect me.

I know that I am seen as a monstrous form lumbering about the land Vocal annoying people, but I do have friends and a good audience who encourage me and would be sad for my writing forms to disappear, and because of that I will not be going anywhere.

Conclusions

I hope that maybe this has given you an idea or two and that you so much for taking your time and reading this piece.

I am always looking for ways to continually express myself. I have a fear of repeating my work, but then I let myself off the hook and think if I write a new story on a particular subject it will be different from the first creation.

I have written stories, especially poems which have repeated titles, but I do have a memory like a sieve, so that is bound to happen.

So, Thank you so much for reading, supporting me, and giving me belief in myself.

how toworkflowsocial mediahumanityhistoryheroes and villainsfeaturefact or fictionadvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I always write short paragraph too because it makes it easier for me to read as well.

  • Our memories share much in common. I'm like the grandmother on "The Nanny", you can tell me a joke as many times as you like & it's always new to me (okay, not quite that bad, but you get the idea).

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Several excellent writing tips, Mike! I especially like the idea of breaking up the text with images. I have already done that with a couple of my nonfiction pieces, but I do plan on employing that for some of my fiction moving forward. But i’m still working out in my mind how to most effectively employ my artistic vision with my storytelling.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.