Journal logo

More Thoughts On Vocal Interaction

Reciprocity Is The Name Of The Game, Read Others Work And Be Inspired To Create

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
A Quote From A Writer

Why I Am Writing This

I saw the lead image, a quote from Stephen King about the situation being if you want to be a writer then you have to read a lot more than you actually write. This is an unstructured article with my observations on how we should interact with others to improve ourselves and be able to consider ourselves as writers.

So This Is What I Do

I have been on Vocal for eighteen months and once I joined some Facebook groups I found that the best way to get people to read yours was not to ask directly but to read theirs, and leave constructive and encouraging comments on their work. This usually causes reciprocal interaction. At times I feel I do not interact and read enough but I do try, and then let people know that I have been there.

I see others who say “Read My Story” so you do and they do not bother reciprocating, so I eventually ignore their stories, and I am not the only one, I see a lot of stories posted in the groups with no reactions or comments and it makes me a little sad. I do advise these people but they act as though they do not need to reciprocate. I have also heard of people directly messaging people to read stories, and while I might message someone with something that is very relevant to them, it is an exceptional strategy for me.

I believe a story and maybe the lead image should tempt readers in. It should stand on its own merits, and because of copyright issues I now generally generate the image using Night Cafe and that usually creates a positive reaction.

Audience Building

Reciprocal behaviour is a positive method but we are being hit by Vocal’s flawed statistics reporting and the fact that in the Facebook Vocal Groups people lose interest and disappear, though that may be due to real life issues. It makes me very sad when I lose great supportive friends, but I must learn to deal with that. I will always be there for people and sometimes that brings rewards.

It is good to find other places for an audience, groups that will take your story and read it. I often look for Music related groups to post some of my work and sometimes it works and other times it doesn’t.

Then it is good to try other social media streams , such as Twitter, Pinterest, Reddit and Instagram. The latter does not allow links but can be a way of sharing your stories via images.

I get a lot of sharing on Twitter and therefore a few reads, and though I include Vocal and Vocal Creators Chronicle the former never reciprocates but the latter often does but even one acknowledgement can result in small benefits, and these can be used as stepping stones.

I have gained some people on Twitter who I can consider as friends, but have dropped those who don’t reciprocate.

Reciprocation Is A Positive Trait

I have got to say that if I go on Facebook and find someone has left a comment or a heart on one of my stories that it gives me a great lift, and I hope that when I do the same it does the same for other creators.

The Facebook Vocal Groups, while not being something that will allow us to give up our day jobs, make us feel as though we are doing something worthwhile, and that is something worth nurturing to make us grow even stronger.

I will conclude and share my poem which contains my favourite Vocal Groups, drop in and you may find even more ideas, encouragement, love and lifting of spirits.

advicefeaturehow tohumanitysocial media

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Informative, some used the SEO to get read. I read an article how to get more reads from another vocal writer without being in a Facebook group. You get more read when you first start on vocal.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Mike, you know I so much green with this! Thank you for sharing this thoughtful piece. 😃

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.