Journal logo

Is It Link Bombing?

Why I won't read your story

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
16
Is It Link Bombing?
Photo by Luke Jernejcic on Unsplash

Link-bombing, as referred to in the writing community, is dropping a link on another author's post, thread or comments expecting work to be read with no indication on the "bomber's" part that they have read, or in any way, engaged with the poster's displayed work.

1. It’s Rude

And I know no one means to be rude. So you drop a “like” on the original post. Is that mannerly reciprocity? Possibly. I am not Miss Manners, but I can tell you what it means to me. If I know you and we have interacted previously and I recognize you, then I’m ok with that, or if you’re not expecting a return read, no problem! Most likely, it’s a simple cop out to get away with dropping your link to get the attention of more eyes. What makes you think your time is more valuable than mine? I also like reads and monetary reward, as do the rest of the posters here. I try to be fair about it. I like to put in time reading and commenting. It’s also mannerly. You don’t have to say much, just a note or anything that displays you’ve taken the time to read the piece. A “like” plunked down doesn’t cut it. You don’t have to like it, just acknowledge that you read it. A “like” does not really do that. It’s lazy. Unless, of course, if you’ve all ready read the article and commented elsewhere.

2. I Have Data Caps on My Online Usage

I live in the Boonies, USA. That means I must pay dearly for Internet services, and my usage is limited before reaching complete data caps, eliminating any reliable speed for the month. There is a lot to read on Vocal. I tend to choose to read the stories first of those who authentically engage with me, then go for the stories whose titles, images or author names catch my eye. Those are often by people I have frequently engaged with, but not always. I think that can be attributed to personal taste.

3. I Value My Time and Other’s

People post on the Vocal platform and Facebook groups, Vocal specific and otherwise, because they want others to read their stories, they want monetary reward and they want feedback. Even just a simple “Nice job!” to show authors, they’re efforts were worth it, and their writing connected with someone. Making an effort goes a long way. As a full-time writer, wife, mother, house, family and animal (horse farm) caretaker, my time is used strategically. I am not alone, and I am selective in choosing which stories I give my time. My selection process is stated above under “I Have Data Caps on my Online Usage.”

4. Again - It’s Rude

It’s like going to a party and not even saying “Hi!” to your host, or acknowledging their efforts. After all, she or he has probably provided food, snacks, drinks and free entertainment. Most likely, your presence wouldn’t be appreciated and you wouldn’t be invited back without making some effort to show your appreciation. If you have nothing to say to anyone, it’s probably best to just not show up until you can learn some manners.

Upon writing this article, I can see places where I would like to improve my own conduct regarding engagement. I’ve been lazy. Their are a number of people on Vocal and Facebook that are incredibly engaging, with words of encouragement and/or meaningful feedback. My goal is to be more like that.

I don’t read with the expectation of a reciprocal read, I read to enhance my learning and understanding, but my time is spent strategically. I want to become a better writer, and my guess is that striving to improve, as a writer or anything really, never stops. I don’t always love, or even like, everything I read, but I always learn something from it or at least about the life of the author. That means something.

(Thanks for the read! What’s your take on”link-bombing?”)

advicesocial media
16

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    The data cap thing reminds me of the old days where I had dial up. Great article. I’ve considered some very fruitful replies to the link bombers but never gone through with them.

  • Joan Gershman2 years ago

    Nothing gets me more aggravated than Link Bombing. I wrote a lengthy article about it, but won't post the link here in case that is considered link bombing. You can find it in my Table of Contents in my Profile. When I get a notification that I have a "comment" on my story, then go to the FB group where I posted it and see nothing but other writers' links to their stories, I now click the "hide comment" option.

  • Britni Pepper2 years ago

    Thank you, Keila! Well put. I can't read everything on Vocal or Medium. Much as I'd like to. Nor do I care much if any one person reads or likes my stuff. Relationships develop in these places and a like from someone I've never met in real life but whose thoughts I have shared counts for more with me than a "Good writing" comment from someone I don't know. Yet. For money-making, a cent here and there is nothing much. what really excites me is the rush of unknown readers when for some reason a poem or a story goes viral - even if it's only a few hundred reads viral. I get more money from a wave of fresh faces than I do from the regular picks and pecks. Woo-hoo, two bucks! In the end, I'm not sending out likes and comments in the hope that someone comes back and reads a poem and I get a cent. I press the heart on the screen to share the moment. Have you tried Medium? My online writing is there and I'm repurposing some of my Medium posts here, just to stick my minimus in the water. So far, it's nice. Britni

  • Bravo! Mic drop...

  • This comment has been deleted

  • I shied away from reading this one as I really do not care for complaining articles/stories. Like you I budget my time on what I read and complaining generally is not in that budget. However I was curious in what you had to say here as link bombing is something that gets to me. One of the premises of the Vocal + Assist Facebook group is that Authors get their chance to shine and when someone link bombs their post it takes away from their shine because now people feel obliged to read the link that was left in the thread. What I generally do when one link bombs my little post in which I get to shine is I will not read what they link bombed me with - but I will find something else of theirs in the group and read that then leave a comment. But the reality is I shouldn't have to be made to feel that I must go and read something right now because someone just read my story. My reasoning for that is because within the Vocal + Assist group I make it a point to read at least two or more stories or poems by everyone that is active in the group whether they reciprocate or not. I make the time to read 5 to 8 stories/articles/poems a day across a variety of authors. I have two take aways from reading this article: 1. You made several excellent points and I feel you solidly presented your valid case. 2. This article was impeccably written. Your punctuation, grammar, sentence structure, and writing style are all outstanding. Great job!

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Keila. You. Nailed. It-ahh. Score another one for a well put together retort directed at all those inconsiderate a that we'd smack with adjectives if we could cuz they're annoying as heck.

  • I freaking hate link-bombing! Hate hate hate hate hate!!!!!! Sorry for that. But it really grinds my gears. To me, reciprocation is very important and the main purpose of the Vocal Facebook groups. I always see your comments on others posts and I wish more people would be like you. I just wish these link bombers would be blocked from all the groups. Thank you so much for writing this!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very well said, and I agree.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    I had not thought of data capping, and that truly adds a unique point to this article Always something I can learn when taking the time to read!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    You've voiced so many things that I've been thinking lately as more and more group members are added to fb groups that I'm in. While it's exciting to see more faces and get to be exposed to new and different styles/types of writing, it seems there are a lot of 'drop and runs' going on. I don't to speak for everyone, but I feel it's a good guess to think that we all want exposure. I try to take time each day to read as many as I can in an allotted time. I tend to focus on those that interact with me first, and then look for pieces that aren't getting any attention. It's great when we can be a part of an authentic community :) Great article!

  • Natasja Rose2 years ago

    I'll read, as long as the commenter also leaves some form of comment to show that they've actually read my story, too. It's disappointing when Someone just drops their link and probably didn't even read mine first.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Very well said! I am honestly far more likely to read the work of the writers I see supporting their fellow writers.

  • Not expecting a return read😂 I like reading and I am learning how to write other than technical writing which I did for the last 12+ years of my work history.💕

  • I am just writing a piece in a similar vein. To make this work there has to be reciprocity but some people just expect to be read and never reciprocate. Several friends have mentioned several people that do this and they say three tries then they are ignored. Great article and completely with you on this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.