Journal logo

In The Vocal Communities

I Have Written Stories In All But Six Vocal Communities

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
8
A Few Vocal Communities

Introduction

I was looking at the Vocal Communities and wondered how many I had a presence in. It turns out I have posted in almost every Vocal community which even surprised me (34 out of 40). In this article I am going to go through why this has happened and why it may put certain people off reading my posts.

There are six that I have not graced with my presence and they are:

  • Blush
  • Marriage
  • Serve
  • Chain
  • Unbalanced
  • Wheel

I do believe that a lot of the communities could be merged and make way for some dedicated communities like Comedy.

I mean Gamers, Geeks and Futurism could be merged. Unbalanced and Cleats, Chain and Trader, Potent and Proof, Blush and Styled are all groups that could be merged.

How We Write

A lot of writers and creators are focused on a particular area and that must give them a good reading audience and by concentrating on a particular field then you can hone your writing skills and become and be seen as an expert in that field.

The only slight issue is that your audience needs to be tuned to that particular field otherwise your creation will probably be ignored by people who do not find that field interesting.

The thing is you have some Vocal Creators who are absolute experts in their fields whether or not they are recognised by Vocal and do get great feedback in the Facebook and Twitter Vocal groups.

I tend to have a scattergun approach to my creations which can be in any genre on any subject.

How I Write

This is the reason why a lot of people do not rate me and now deliberately avoid my creations because they are mine. I have been criticised for writing too much, but when I have asked for someone to look over my work and I have looked over theirs not one person has reciprocated, so not my only quality control is me.

Very often, especially with poetry, I can create a poem very quickly, usually a sonnet or villanelle form, because they are very defined and for me it is just a case of slotting words into the framework, and that has been criticised as laziness and incompetence. The reality is that my work is, in my opinion, and the opinion of my audience, generally excellent. I do sometimes take an age when something is not perfect but that is the nature of creativity

I do not focus on any genre at all, although I am working on a Dark Poetry sequence at the moment which I am hoping will result in enough material for an anthology to go with my other three, the working title of this is “There Is A Darkness”.

I have written around 320 poems in the Poets Community but of those only two have been chosen as top stories but a hundred of them are in two of my published anthologies which you can see here.

I have published around 120 stories in the Beats Community and have several top stories and am one of Vocal’s Top Creators there as well for some reason.

Conclusion On The Vocal Communities

Altogether, at this moment in time I have 790 published stories on Vocal and this one will make 791, so the two communities above account for more than fifty per cent of my published writing.

You may actually wonder which of my stories are in particular communities you frequent so if you want to know feel free to contact me.

advicefeaturehow tolist
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Your ability to write for so many different communities amazes me. I do try to step outside my comfort zone occasionally, but I have a very long way to go before I will have written for that many communities. In my opinion, there’s no such thing as “writing too much.” People saying that to you are most likely jealous of your ability to create material so quickly.

  • Now, that's a goal

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Hey Mike, I reply to your comments, I read your story, maybe not a lot, there a many stories everywhere, so One at a time. You truly are versatile and just do your thing. Please yourself, have fun. You make me want to start writing in the categories now. I will try, thanks to you. Go get em!

  • To me, you're very talented and versatile. All the best for writing in the six communities that you've not yet written in and for publishing the dark poetry book!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Thanks Mike. There are a few issues I have with Vocal including their story counts and how top stories are chosen. Some of my most read stories are not top stories. But I do appreciate engaging with other writers and understanding what is marketable and what isn’t. Keep up the great work.

  • Long live the nicheless 🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.