Journal logo

On The Road Of Creation

Some Notes On My Road To My Many Creations

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Introduction

The music is the wonderful "Road" by the sadly missed Nick Drake.

Eighteen months ago I was tempted into signing up for Vocal and I have been writing on this platform ever since. Prior to that I had been writing on my blog "Seven Days In" for fifteen years and had started about three books which are still only just started and I am not sure whether they will ever be completed.

The one that may be further developed is called “MiTaranTula” but is both free form and anarchistic without the concept of story but more a stitching of ideas and concepts.

And So Creativity.

On Seven Days In in 2019 I posted 368 times, so averaging more than one post a day, and you can check that out here

But last year I had decided to scale down my posting and writing in general and then Vocal came along. Seven Days In now has maybe one or two posts a month plus is a resource for stories to share on Vocal every now and then as there are nearly two and a half thousand posts on there. The thing is I was the only quality control so some posts were just a sentence long and contained very little. There was no upper or lower limit on words but I shared a lot of music and links and in that time I got six subscribers and nineteen acceptable comments.

I shared my posts on Twitter and Facebook but only one or two people actually read the blog posts although the blog has had three quarters of a million visits but I have a feeling a lot of those are robots.

When I started for Vocal it became my main writing platform and despite its numerous issues I do find it a perfect place for my eclectic and wide ranging writing like this item.

In my eighteen months here I have written nearly eight hundred articles, poems and stories and compiled some of these into three anthologies that I have self published and have another three in progress at the moment.

Further Along The Road To Creation

Vocal itself does not encourage you to write. It tempts you with big money challenges, pays you for reads and for the challenge you do pay a $10 monthly subscription, but I always receive more money from Vocal than they take from me. They give advice on promoting your writing yourself and pay you for external reads as well.

My writing really took off when I joined some of the Facebook Vocal groups where I started to get read. But the thing that really raised my confidence in my writing was when the Vocal Creator Call Me Les gave me two one dollar tips for my writing and I then believed that my writing was worth people’s attention.

Since then I have received several Top Stories from Vocal, have a place as a Top Creator in their Beat Community and I do feel appreciated by many people.

I have also started to create digital art using Night Cafe including the lead image for this story and I have written a few Vocal pieces on digital art as well.

Vocal has been the solid base and foundation on which I have been able to create my articles, takes and poetry.

There are other places where I could do this and I share a little on Medium but Vocal does allow me to be my most creative without having to put lots of effort into promotion if I don’t want to.

Conclusion on Creation

I have done nearly eight hundred stories and received eighteen thousand reads. That is only twenty reads per article but many have only one read and my most read has almost twelve hundred reads so there is a big spread there.

Today when I got up I was feeling that I had nothing to write about, then this came up and also a surreal poem idea which I have just published, and you can read below.

I hope you have enjoyed this, have a great day and follow the other great creators on my Vocal profile.

advicehow toproduct review

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Such a wonderful writing journey. Soon you'll be hitting the 800th story milestone and I can't wait for it!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I enjoyed getting to know more about you! Despite its flaws, this really is a great platform. Thanks for sharing!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.