Journal logo

Thank You Vocal

Despite Certain Issues Vocal Is A Wonderful Platform To Share Your Creations

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Introduction

This morning I got up and checked the last story that I shared on Vocal. It was very experimental for me and I had intended for it to be a story based on one of my Tarot decks, the Occult Deck, but it actually turned out to be more like a reading rather than a story. A friend asked me if I ever did readings and I said no, I didn't really know what I was doing with them but just love how beautiful some of these decks are. This was the story.

The music is Sly & The Family Stone "Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)" which Vocal has really allowed me to do.

Issues With Vocal

I have written a number of pieces on issues I have had and still have with them not answering emails, not paying in a timely fashion, certain editor functions not working and the still appalling stats reporting.

You can read more about this in a couple of articles below but these are just the issues that I and others have and mostly they are just an inconvenience and can be lived with.

The challenges are good as prompts although I noticed one of the winners in the last had three challenge wins on Vocal from five published stories, that smacks of being fixed just because this person is a published writer. While it’s not impossible that the stories were worthy there were a lot that I thought were far better from real Vocal supporters which were just brushed off.

Why I Am Thankful To Vocal

Vocal is a great platform to store my creations which are on a very wide range of subject areas. I know this causes problems for some of my audience because they cannot easily pigeon hole me. Some people complain they don’t get reads but you have to grow your own audience to draw people into reading your stories. It doesn’t stop when your story is published, but some people take issue with this.

My readership started to to grow when I started joining some Vocal Facebook groups, the firs of these and still a favourite of mine was The Vocal Social Society and now I am an Admin in Vocal+Assist and True Crime, Horror Story & Dark Poetry

I write a lot of stories and they seldom pass a thousand words but the poetry often goes way over the required hundred words. I share these on twitter and sometimes on Instagram and on the Facebook groups and get a number of reads from them. Most months my income is more than the subscription fee that I pay to Vocal.

The addition of Subscriptions with its feed was really useful although my 360 subscribers probably do not follow me religiously but I use my subscriptions and subscription feeds to follow the writers I have liked and read their new creations.

Then we got reader insights that while nice to have are predefined so you can’t really say what you want to say and there is no negative option on there.

Then we got the option to comment. We have been doing this for a long time in the Facebook Groups, but this gives the option to comment on creators posts when you have no connection with that person, and that is what spurred me on to write this piece. It is lovely when you get something so positive from someone you don’t know on a piece I was really not sure about.

Really Thank You Vocal

You have given me a place to write, and with the love and support of my wonderful audience and friends I hope to be around for quite a long time, and hoping one day Vocal irons out the issues, but it is still my choice of writing platform and I think a lot of my friends share that view too.

I will share a poem in which I list my favourite Vocal Groups.

Thank you for reading, feel free to leave a heart , a comment or even a tip, but really I appreciate that you gave me your time to read this.

advicefeatureheroes and villainsproduct reviewindustry

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Giovanni Profeta2 years ago

    I'm grateful for vocal too, but many times the "saboteur" inside of me creeps in and takes control of my thoughts. It's a struggle between what I want to express and the voice inside my head telling me to stop wasting time writing. I even have a story on development using that premise. Vocal is my go-to when creative juices start flowing.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Great product review of Vocal. I am really glad they added the ability to comment. I have tried publishing on other platforms, but most of my work is still on Vocal.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Those editing issues are the worst! I've taken to writing out what I want in a different document, then copy-pasting into vocal.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I love your no-nonsense pieces and appreciate your candor. I love the Vocal platform, most of the time. I do find the 'read' function to be less than reliable, but I think it's been getting better. The addition of the comment section at the end of these stories has been a great step forward. My one main negative is the way the Challenges are handled, but I'll save that gripe for another day. Well written and honest :)

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    Well balanced. And I’m glad you linked to the poem, as I missed it before!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Nailed it!!!😊💖💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Well said.

  • Thank you for sharing this. I want to touch on a few negatives that you mentioned. "Not answering emails, not paying in a timely fashion, certain editor functions not working and the still appalling stats reporting." I have never had any problem with them responding to the emails I send them. As a matter of fact they always respond in less than 24 hours to me. Same thing with payments I always get them very quick. I have never had a problem with that. I've never had an issue with the stats reporting either. I haven't noticed any editor functions not working but there are functions that I wish they would add. "I noticed one of the winners in the last had three challenge wins on Vocal from five published stories. There were other stories that I thought were far better from real Vocal supporters." My view on the challenges would be that if someone wins they obviously deserved to win. I would hope that they are not choosing the winners because they are 'real Vocal supporter.' The winners should be based on quality of writing and nothing else. Being a 'real Vocal supporter's has nothing to do with whether or not one is a good writer - but I get what you are saying. However when I am of the belief that you do not bite the and hand that feeds you no matter how much or little they feed you. That is why I will not publicly complain about Vocal. But, if I do have an issue I take it directly to them.

  • This was a lovely tribute to Vocal but without brushing it's flaws under the rug. This was a very honest piece and you told it like it is! Awesome job!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.