Poets logo

scratches in my mind - esteem

Another thought-provoking senryu

By Paul StewartPublished 9 days ago β€’ Updated 9 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
scratches in my mind - esteem
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

adore me, of course

but just respect me more, please

plant my words, as seeds

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Another in my "scratches in my mind" series. The links to the others can be found below.

scratches in my mind

scratches in my mind - passion

scratches in my mind - perspective

scratches in my mind - disingenuous ignorance is bliss...

scratches in my mind - per sempre

scratches in my mind - only four letters

The song I Wanna Be Adored by The Stone Roses has been in my head the last few days, so that may have inspired the above piece, somewhat! This has a much deeper meaning than could ever really be covered in 17 syllables, but I think I make it clear enough. It's always something of a wrestle in my mind.

Here is another piece you might like:

inspirationalStream of Consciousnesssocial commentarySenryuperformance poetrylove poemsGratitudeart

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    Loved this Paul! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Natasha Collazo3 days ago

    Congrats on TS!!

  • Congratulations πŸŽ‰πŸ‘ top story

  • Michelle Liew6 days ago

    A well deserved tribute and top story Paul.

  • Rachel Deeming6 days ago

    Simple but deep. Respect in every relationship is the bedrock, I think. Can never go wrong with The Stone Roses. That takes me back. Nice one, chum.

  • Great to see you back on top stories πŸ˜‡πŸ₯°πŸŒŸ

  • Congratulations Paul

  • shanmuga priya7 days ago

    Congratulations πŸŽ‰ on top story

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Raihana H.7 days ago

    Respect that is lacking these days...congrats on top story!

  • Yess this is how I feel πŸ’― very good 😌

  • D.K. Shepard7 days ago

    Congrats on Top story, Paul!! This has been a great senryu series. Glad to see such a good one get Top Story!

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    Respect is so important to me...it's like the ultimate love verb. Well done, Paul and Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Figures they'd pick a Stewart original to be one of the first Top Stories in this new Vocal age we've entered. Will be curious to see if you notice a difference in engagement with the new setup πŸ‘€

  • Sherif Saad7 days ago

    That's a good work

  • T. Licht7 days ago

    Wow! congrats on top story!

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Spectacular Senyu!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!! β™₯β™₯β™₯

  • Matthew Fromm7 days ago

    hey congrats on the top story pal

  • Hannah Moore8 days ago

    Ooh, that's set me thinking... I'm not sure which I value more!

  • Carol Townend8 days ago

    Yes, it's one thing being adored, but respect is more important. I love your important message in these short words!

  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    Oooh! Nice! Like the message in this! Your accruing quite a collection of gems with these!

  • Oooo, that's definitely very deep! Loved your Senryu! 🍩πŸ₯

  • Thought provoking indeed! I love this one.

  • Jess Boyes9 days ago

    Far out, I haven’t heard that song in ages! Great work, as always ☺️

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.