Journal logo

Baker's Dozen: Vocal.media Reads in February 2022

A List of 14 Reads on Vocal That I Loved in February 2022

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 19 min read
1
Baker's Dozen: Vocal.media Reads in February 2022
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

For January 2022, I made a list of 13 reads off Vocal.media that I enjoyed, largely in hopes that it would get me to start reading a little more in general. This month, I have 14 reads that I loved in February to share!

Now, I've never explained the whole, "Baker's Dozen" thing. The reason why a Baker's dozen is typically the standard dozen with a bonus is because some bakers were not that honest in the past; they would slip sand and grit into their mixtures to cut corners on cost. But when this was discovered and became an issue, rules were put in place and any baker found to be cheating their customers could find themselves in more trouble than they'd care for. To make sure no one could accuse them of cheating them out of product, bakers began including the extra 13th piece.

So why am I listing 14 reads this month?

Well, superstitious bakers tended to give out not just one extra piece of product, but two. This secured them as safe from accusations from others and, in theory, negated the "bad luck" of the 13th piece. I am not so superstitious when it comes to the number 13 - after all, my first initial, M, is the 13th letter of the alphabet. If anything, I have a connection to the number.

Any case, the 14th of February is an important date to me, and not just for the over-hyped relationship day of the month. My grandpa - my dad's dad - was born on Valentine's Day. His middle name was even Valentino. He's been gone many years now, but his birthday always hits my dad pretty hard. Moreover, the date is also the birthdate of my partner! Funny how that turned out, though honestly, it's not the only weird repetition like that in my family/life...

And so, since Valentine's Day is the "big day" in February, it seemed fitting to use that "double bonus" of bakers past for this month's list of reads I loved! I hope you enjoy, and please consider checking these pieces - and their authors - out!

By Nolan Krattinger on Unsplash

1) "The Tank Cleaner" by C. D. Hoyle

One of my first reads in February, this horror fiction piece sees a man waiting on the status of his son in a hospital after an injury. Due to the pandemic, he is informed he technically isn't allowed to wait there, so to tell anyone who asks that he is there to clean the fish tank in the waiting room. Soon, twists begin bubbling up in the tale, and it isn't long before the events give up the ghost!

I really enjoyed this piece, and I knew when I read it that it was going to be featured here in this month's list!

By Cambridge Jenkins IV on Unsplash

2) "Weed so wacky it comes with a warning" by David Heitz

I wondered even as I clicked on the link if this piece would be focusing on concentrates - and I was right! Of course, as soon as I saw the first few lines mentioned Colorado while displayed under the Potent community's new stories, I had to check it out. I'm not very patriotic admittedly, nor do I have much in the way of self esteem/pride. However, for whatever reason, I do have pride for my home state, and it's always interesting to hear about what others think of Colorado. And Colorado weed.

I can also confirm from personal experiences that, yes, a little goes a long way with concentrates.

In fact, David even touches on another thing I know all too well from firsthand experiences with concentrates; the nausea and vomiting if you've used too much and/or for an extended time. I spent several months - in 2016 I believe it was - having stomach issues that we couldn't figure out. I even suffered from it for part of our trip to Ireland that year and spent the first two days there rushing to public restrooms, assuming I was going to vomit, only to get there and feel fine again.

At the time, I didn't recognize that this could be a side effect of the concentrates, as my partner had been using them and not having any such issues. David's article does also mention the one thing my boyfriend has had as a side effect of smoking concentrates early on in his using of the product; chest pain. We even went to an urgent care and did a scan to make sure he wasn't suffering a heart attack once, despite being in his twenties then. Since then, my partner's tolerance for concentrates has only built up, while I've since opted to stick with flower (it's also much easier to clean up equipment, as concentrates are sticky and/or melt).

If you're new to or thinking about trying concentrates, I highly - ha! -suggest checking out this piece. Take it slow, folks. Read the warnings!

Also, if this article interests you, you may consider checking out a previous Baker's Dozen list - and Top Story - of mine: Baker's Dozen: Cannabis Strains I Loved in 2021

By Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

3) "Better Off Without Milk" by Jaye

Apparently an older piece, I found myself clicking the link to this one off of one of the threads in the Vocal Social Society Facebook group. In it, Jaye makes a splash to defend the position that cereal is better off without milk; something my partner would disagree with, but I can see Jaye's point. While I generally eat my cereal with milk, I'll admit to occasionally eating it dry if we are low/out of milk. It can make for a nice snack that way, especially if I'm watching calories.

So if you're looking for something to chew over, I suggest giving this crunchy morsel a taste! Dry cereal does not equate to stale content.

4) "Rise Above Evil" by Clyde E. Dawkins

In this twisted piece, we follow a therapist as she tries to warn a former client about the dangerous man stalking her, fearing it is the client's ex-lover turned stalker. Not everything is as it seems, though, and I was delighted to tag along for this read's adventures! I do love me some dark and twisted tales!

I was equally thrilled to see the author's name after I read it through; I recognized this name. In a year on Vocal.media, I've received two tips - the most generous coming from Clyde recently. I admit, I wondered if maybe my bias was kicking in to help promote someone who helped me, but after giving it some space and coming back, I can safely say no - the tip did not sway my opinion. The piece is good on its own. That said, I do (kind of) hope he reads this and knows that I am very thankful for his support of my newest horror fiction piece on Vocal, "Unwise Gossip". Then again, I'm also cool if no one knows - I'm writing these for my favorite reads, after all. Baker's Dozen lists are written largely for me by me.

I totally suggest reading his work - I'm digging what he's doing!

By Cason Asher on Unsplash

5) "Gluten-Free (Or Not) Pumpkin Muffins with Vanilla Cream Cheese Topping" by Arpad Nagy

Oh man... I can't even begin to say just how satisfying this was to me - and I haven't even tried the recipe yet!

See, I agree with Arpad's mother - reuse! While not apt to using items to death, per se, I am a fan of reducing waste and reusing and repurposing items and foods! So when Arpad mentioned taking his previously carved pumpkins and turning them into puree for later, I was on board!

It has nothing to do with the fact that I also LOVE pumpkin. No, nothing to do with that at ALL. Anyone buying that? No? Damn.

I also have a number of family members who have various food allergies - one being my aunt, who has celiac disease; she really can't eat gluten. I've not gotten together with her in some time due to, well, me (I've been too embarrassed to have her over for years because I struggle with housework due to what is likely depression). I try to keep gluten-free options on hand for her usually, just in case, and if I think she may be coming to a family get-together, I enjoy making items that she can have too. These muffins would be perfect.

Assuming they even make it to the family function, because "oh, yummy pumpkin". Oh man. We're also finally seeing the winter weather coming in here in Colorado and my other aunt and uncle load me up with frozen pumpkin puree; I foresee some gluten-free pumpkin muffins and other baked goods in my very near future. Nom!

By Svitlana on Unsplash

6) "Here's 5 Eco-Friendly Channels I've Subscribed To" by Chloe Gilholy

I am here for all of this! I can relate to watching my money - I, myself, am coasting off of former earnings.

While I'm not personally cutting out meat in 2022 - not entirely, anyway - I have been working to cut back on my consumption of animal products over the last few years. The only time I indulge without any thought is when PMS cravings start kicking in; I figure if my body is telling me to eat something, it probably has something my body needs, especially preparing for that week. I've had great success using flax meal and chia seed in place of eggs in baking, eating black bean burgers when I'm not craving red meat, and a slew of other things that can be read about here in, "Tangling with the Hydra". I'm on this bandwagon.

I'll have my own sources to thank in later posts, but it was so refreshing to see a list of Eco-friendly channels amid the endless poems in my feed - and I generally don't even like poetry (I picked up many poets in my feed off Vocal Facebook groups in read-for-reads)! Poetry is okay I guess, but I'd much rather have a story or something like this! It was truly a breath of fresh air when 20+ poets start hammering out 5 poems a week.

Any case, everyone has their own take on the subject of "going green" and their own preferences in products. I do look forward to checking Chloe's suggested channels out, but I also have my own go-tos.

I was also glad to see Chloe has also had great luck with shampoo bars, as I too have switched from bottles to the much more compact bars. In my case, I don't like contributing to all the water that is pulled out from the water cycle to sit in cleaners and detergents on store shelves and in my closets. Last year, I wrote, "Products I Tried in 2021", and many of the items on it were for a more Eco-friendly life. Where Chloe and I differed there was that, last year, I used stimulus money to make those improvements, despite them being more expensive in some regards to "normal" products. Then again, I was also doing a lot of stress-buying after family drama, and I wanted things to change.

Being more Eco-friendly is always a work in progress, and it looks like Chloe's on that path! I wish her all the best in cutting out meat (I love steak too much for that, though I now treat it as a treat). I totally recommend checking her piece out - as well as the channels she lists!

By Monika Kozub on Unsplash

7) "How to Spot a Problematic Period Resource" by Say Yes to Nourish

Upon first glance, I actually assumed this post would be about different menstrual products and finding ones that work for you. It isn't.

Instead, this article seeks to teach readers the "red flags" that may mean their resource(s) on menstrual cycles may not be the most reliable or unbiased. Most are reasonable, though I must admit; reading this post put me at odds with myself.

The first "flag" threw me for a loop; here, articles referring to menstruating folk with "feminine"-only terms ("women", "lady"...etc) are regarded as "red flags". On one hand, it is true that it isn't inclusive enough for today; "women" does ignore men who menstruate and it could be argued that such terminology ingrains the idea that menstruation is equivalent to adulthood when it is not - a 10 year-old who just started menstruating is, in fact, not an adult woman. On the other hand...

...old ways of thinking.

While I have no issues with the Trans community, I do get hung up on biological, sexual gender. It's not a hang-up in opposition per se, but just that old schooling. Anatomy class covered two genders, and only one bleeds. So even writing about menstruating men? I have no issue with the idea or the people. But my brain gets a little confused reading and typing that; that's not how it was wired to think about the subject. And that is uncomfortable; I support my Trans and gender-fluid friends. But the technical - and grammatical - terminology can throw me. And this post threw me.

I know I need to learn more to be a better ally. I haven't made learning more about what a few of my friends are going through a priority. And I know that I need to work to improve the inclusiveness of my speech and writing (ex: start using they/them in addition to he/she). But when I was confronted by this in reading this post, I found myself asking myself a question my psychologist posed to me in one of my first sessions: "who do I want to be?".

Do I want to be a half-assed ally who can't even define the folk and lifestyles that I'm supposed to be supporting? Do I want to be like a portion of my family, and continue correcting my nephews' grammatically "incorrect" usage of they/them instead of he/she? Do I want to be a writer that willfully excludes terms that possible readers identify with?

My psychologist suggested that I look into podcasts that may cover the topics and information I seek, especially since I'm embarrassed to ask my Trans and gender-fluid friends after so long. While it isn't in my top priorities still, I can say that becoming better educated on the subject has been bumped up considerably.

And the piece that prompted such a thing certainly makes the cut for February's Baker's Dozen.

By Cedrik Wesche on Unsplash

8) "I Can't be Your Grandbabymama" by Kristen Tsetsi

As someone who has never desired to have children (helping take care of my brother with a multitude of special needs is enough work for the entirety of my life, thanks), YES! SO. MUCH. YES!!!

Despite always stating that I never wanted children, and that she already has two grandkids from my sister, it doesn't stop my mother from "jokingly" prodding me about giving her more grandchildren - and I fucking HATE it. Strangers telling me that I'll, "change my mind" are a close second, but obviously, I have to deal with my mother regularly. Under normal circumstances, anyway.

This piece showcases what I'll call, "wannabe grandma pressure" in what I think is a clever and comprehensive way. It tells the story of a son and his lover - happily childless - and then shows the devolvement of their relationship and happiness after his mother wins out, pressuring them to give her a grandchild she wants.

Basically anyone who has never wanted children has been pressured - by family, society, religion...etc. - or otherwise had people attempt to "convince" them that they should have children. Stop that shit. Seriously. Read this post, and stop pressuring folks into lives they don't want. That simple.

By Vlad Zaytsev on Unsplash

9) "The Dragon's Library" by Josephine Mason

As soon as I saw the title, I wondered. Several times, a plot floated on by on my Facebook: one where dragons hoard not gems, coin, and metal, but books. I wondered if this piece had been inspired by that little plot that had graced my own timeline several times.

It was. And the result is lovely.

The typical gold-hoarder is approached by a man with something that intrigues the dragon; the written language. Enthralled, the creature begins trading the gold hoard for more books. And then has so many that new buildings must be built to hold them, leading to this dragon being involved in some historical events!

Truly, it was a journey!

Speaking of journeys...let me introduce number 10.

By Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

10) "Why the Orgasm Gap is Actually Great News for Straight Women" by Lena Simons

Trying to prove any major gap is actually a good thing is tricky; particularly when it comes to gaps in sexual pleasure. But here, Lena tries to put a positive spin on straight women's sexual frustrations. Mainly how straight women average the least amount of orgasms with a (male) partner.

Personally, I see that. Religion and societal expectations have often insisted that "sexual pleasure doesn't matter/the only orgasm that matters is the man's" and that, overall, sex isn't much discussed. So maybe men just didn't realize what inconsiderate - or incompetent - lovers they can be. Sorry, not sorry - there's about a 30% gap between straight men and straight women who achieve orgasm with a partner, according to the chart provided.

From experience, though I've not been with too many men, only my current partner has ever gotten me to orgasm - something that astounded me the first time he did it, when I was also very uninterested in sex due to the side effects of the birth control pill I was taking then and thought there was no way he'd get me off. Why would I expect him to when previous partners never had? I knew the same talk that Lena mentions: women's orgasms were "elusive". I expected to be let down in regards to reaching orgasm with a partner. I am fortunate that I can say I fall in the percentage of straight women who consistently reach orgasm with a male partner now, especially since I am no longer using that birth control pill (switched to copper IUD).

While Lena is right - progress is progress in closing that gap - I do feel sorry for the number of unsatisfied women who still satisfy their men. We're still a long way from the finish line.

By Anshuman Gaikwad on Unsplash

11) "Thanos WAS NOT Right: Debunking the 'Good Points' of the Mad Titan's Plan" by Kristy Anderson

I LOVE a good fan theory. More so if it can hold its own in opposition against a reigning fan theory. Here, Kristy aims to make the case that Thanos was NOT right in trying to erase half of all life.

In fact, her argument largely rests on the fact that Thanos' actions erased half of all life. Not just human life. Not just life on Earth. Half of all life in the entire universe; gone in a snap.

Kristy takes us through how that snap decision would effect things such as endangered species, small populations displaced from their home planets, and the universe as a whole. While I'm not up for making my own snap decision, I will say; it's a pretty valid argument, and I'd love to see more conversation about it.

By Julia Joppien on Unsplash

12) "Plastic Oceans: We Need to do Better" by John Woz JR

We've heard the same tale for decades; our world is polluted. And our oceans are hit hard: from the chemicals spilling and leeching into them to the creatures in them choking on the accumulating garbage, they are not doing well. And there's a whole slew of issues contributing to the decline of our marine environments.

However, John takes care to point out actions being done - and the ones readers can help encourage and support! Government action is a huge help, but often it requires a massive outcry from the public. No one likes being the clean-up crew, but someone has to be responsible. So who's it going to be?

He also mentions 4Ocean, which pulls plastics from water sources. To buy products to help support their work or to find out more about them, I am including the site link here. Don't forget to use EcoCart with it and start making your online purchases carbon neutral!

By Dustan Woodhouse on Unsplash

13) "Plastic Pollution" by VINC

Continuing in the vein of pollution, VINC wants readers to rethink those single-use plastic bottles - especially for water. Plastic takes a lot of resources and energy to make, makes even more issues as trash, and in a lot of cases, is completely unnecessary.

Part of the issue highlighted is the ease of grabbing a cold bottle from the fridge, despite access to good drinking water from the tap. While not all places have good water, it does seem odd to drink from multiple plastic bottles a day rather than refilling a bottle or glass if there is access to good water.

While my partner and I recycle our plastic soda bottles, and we have both talked about cutting the drink out completely, I have to admit, this article has me leaning even more towards cutting soda out completely to avoid adding to the plastic pile. Or at least swapping back to cans - which can also be recycled. At least cans are more readily recycled.

By Vlad Panov on Unsplash

14) "Spider Geckos Survive" by VINC

I didn't mean for VINC to get two posts listed, but when I was looking for a critter piece, he nabbed me again! It is a short piece, though, which seems fitting for this extended Baker's Dozen! Also, most of these are listed in the order they pop up in my feed (so newer pieces tend to be later in the list), and this was among the last for February!

VINC details the habitat - and surprising array of prey - that the spider gecko survives in and with. I enjoy reading up on critters, and this was just the thing to tide me over until the next. It really is astounding how such a tiny creature can eek out a living in such a harsh environment.

And it's so cute!

And that concludes my favorite feed reads of February! I hope you've enjoyed perusing - and I hope you're checking some of these posts and their authors out! If you enjoyed this Baker's Dozen, please consider checking out my previous list for favorite reads in January, the following Top Stories, or check out my profile for a selection of 60+ posts, including 21 short fiction pieces!

Baker's Dozen: Vocal.media Reads in January 2022

Top Story - Baker's Dozen: Comfort Shows in 2021

Top Story - Baker's Dozen: YouTube Channels I Loved in 2021

Top Story - Baker's Dozen: Cannabis Strains I Loved in 2021

list
1

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.