Humans logo

Products I Tried in 2021

And the Things I Meant to Improve About My Purchases

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 27 min read
3

Generally, I wait until sometime in January to buy the first batch of items I’ve been eyeing for weeks online. This lets me see what I wind up with for holiday gifts as well as what funds I have to work with after holiday shopping. And gives me time to step away and reevaluate what I want to purchase.

These after-holiday orders tend to be a fair number of items with a bit of a price tag. I try to buy what I can, and my partner often offers to pay since we don’t really do many gift exchanges between us. Furthermore, my January orders in particular tend to be for items for the household. Or my health.

To clarify, these are all personal opinions on products I selected, purchased, and tried myself. While I mention some brands outright, I have not been asked to give a review, am not sponsored or otherwise coerced into giving this feedback, nor do I seek anything from creating this article. I just wanted to share the products I decided to try this year and my experiences with them.

I wrote about some of the things I’ve done - and still do - to curb my carbon footprint earlier in 2021 in “Tangling with the Hydra”. However, at the time I wrote that piece, I didn’t know just how chaotic the rest of 2021 would be for me. In some ways, my purchases this year may have been counterintuitive to my goals. But in my earlier piece, I also mentioned that not everything was going to be ideal all the time. So while some of my purchases may not have been ideal this year, I made them for my own reasons. Below, I go over the items I tried in 2021 and the pros and cons of them.

Kiwi fruit leather in one of the food bags (not dishwasher safe).

First off, these reusable food storage bags. I wanted something to replace the single-use big brand bags for snacks and refrigerated goods. While they are no longer available from the same seller on Amazon, there are similar bags sold by other sellers or in local stores.

Pros:

Easy to open and use.

Refrigerator and freezer safe.

Reusable.

Fold flat for easy storage.

Cons:

Not dishwasher safe.

Certain foods can be a little annoying to clean out of corners, especially near the seal.

Drying requires them to be propped open.

Overall, these are a great addition to our household. I mainly use them for snack items, such as dried blueberries, fruit leather, and pretzels, as I tend to reuse old take-out containers for items in the fridge (love those Tokyo Joe's bowls!). My biggest issue with them is the drying, though I’ve found setting them over a glass in the dish drainer works well.

Next, these dishwasher safe reusable silicone food storage bags. Similar to the ones above, but these ones are heavier and dishwasher safe! I tend to use them for storing foods in the freezer most, such as cooked rice and fries after the original packaging is open.

Dishwasher safe food storage bag with cooked rice.

Pros:

Dishwasher safe.

Microwave safe (without the plastic zip piece).

Thick material.

Cons:

Difficult to open the first time (takes a good minute of separating the sides carefully to avoid ripping).

Also need to be propped open to dry.

Do not store quite as flat as the others, due to thicker material and the zips.

These are also a welcome addition to our household, once we get them open! Separating the sides the first time can be a challenge, and I would say that is the biggest issue I’ve had with them. It requires slow, steady pressure to open them without damage. Once they are open, though, these work great! They do fold fairly flat, but not as flat as the previous ones. The top sliders are plastic, so make sure they are removed before placing them in the microwave! These too are no longer available from the same sellers, but can be found easily enough. Mine did not come with the bonus garlic peeler or drying stand - perhaps I ordered mine before the seller offered such things.

Additionally, I purchased two new sets of reusable menstrual pads this year. I purchased my first sets over 5 years ago, and have never looked back! While I have a menstrual cup and enjoy it as well, it isn’t the most comfortable during the entire cycle for me, as the cervix moves throughout. These pads are simple to use, easy to clean, and last for years! I wound up buying extra sets this year because I loved the first so much, and I use them between periods for sweat, leaks (UTIs anyone?), and after getting intimate. Total underwear savers!

One of the newer reusable menstrual pads.

Pros:

Simple and quiet to adhere - uses a single clasp. No noisy wrappers!

Charcoal bamboo - the dark material reduces the contrast versus on white cotton.

Easy to clean - soak and wash in cold water.

Keeps underwear clean and dry under multiple circumstances.

No monthly costs, extra taxes, or extra waste.

Fun prints for a not-so-fun time.

Foldable and portable, and come with a wet bag for used pads.

Cons:

Need to be washed - only an issue if you haven’t washed them before you need them.

You probably won’t want to offer them to the stall next to you.

May require a separate load if you have a partner who is uncomfortable.

These ones don’t work well with thongs (though some are made to work with them).

I adore these! No more awkward exchanges at checkout, or a partner returning with the wrong thing. No extra monthly costs, extra pink tax, or waste! They fold up to fit in purses or pockets, come with a wet bag for used pads, and snap into place - no more telling wrappers crinkling! The charcoal bamboo is soft and grey, and I appreciate how that lessens the contrast versus white cotton where red really stands out starkly and unsettlingly. The prints may not help cramping any, but they do help make a crappy time less so.

While my partner is unconcerned about it, I soak and wash my pads separately in a small load to be courteous. They go into a designated bucket I keep next to the toilet in the bathroom I use most often at home and then I simply dump them into the washer to soak and wash in cold, along with the cloth scraps I use in place of toilet paper for liquid cleanup (seriously, saves so much toilet paper/cost!). With so many now, I’m never without, but I could see washing being an issue if you don’t have many and don’t get them cleaned before you need them.

I don’t know why anyone would wear thongs on their period, but for those who do, this set would not be ideal - though I’m pretty sure I've seen sellers that do offer pads like these made for use with thongs. Absolute must-haves, and I have zero regrets switching to them. I do keep some of those leftover tampons in my purse for those stall-next-door requests, though.

While we're on the subject, let me introduce you to my other best friend come time for the monthly (sometimes bi-monthly) "shark week". I have purchased from Piping Rock for around a decade now; they are based in New York and often have the best deals when I compare pricing! So I take advantage of their "Crazy Deals", and this year I upped my game to start using this blend of Pine Bark Extract and extras.

Piping Rock brand of Pine Bark Extract.

What does pine bark extract have to do with menstruation? Loosely, it seems to have a positive effect in reducing cramps; and I am all for that! I've used a less potent pine bark extract from Piping Rock previously, but this blend tends to be more cost-effective and even better in my opinion! While it doesn't eradicate cramps, it does seem to lessen them quite a bit - mine have certainly been much more tolerable and I've halved my usage of pain relievers when I take it. In order to stretch my dollar, I only use it in the days leading up to the start of my next period and the first few days of, and those are the results I get.

Pros:

Seems to reduce cramps.

Tends to be cost-effective.

Can be part of Piping Rock's "Crazy Deals", which makes it cheaper!

Cons:

This brand is only sold through Piping Rock.

Not ideal if you are allergic to pine, for obvious reasons - same for the other ingredients.

If you don't take it everyday, you must remember to take it in a timely manner before your next period for it to work best.

I highly recommend pine bark extract for reducing cramps. While some studies point to it, it doesn't seem to be widely backed just yet (I think when I looked it up at some point, it was sort of an unexpected effect during another study). I can say that, when I've forgotten to take it in time, cramps were so much worse - and it was only then I realized I hadn't taken it. It can be more expensive than pain reducers, but I dislike relying too heavily on those and this seems to reduce the cramping itself and by proxy reduces my need for the pain relievers. I'll vouch for it.

Homemade dog treats.

The next two fall into the same category: silicone molds. While I've purchased many the last few years for anything from homemade gummy bears to donuts to spooky Halloween chocolate molds, I bought these two to make homemade dog treats for my favorite little doggos! The bone-shaped ones are okay for our ~50 lbs dog, Aleu, but I have since purchased larger molds for more appropriate-sized treats once she finishes the current batch. The tiny round ones are perfect for our “purse puppy”, Armando, who is full grown but still smaller than our cats! His turn out about the size of kibble.

Pros:

Usable in the oven and freezer.

Material folds if needed for storage (to a point).

Dishwasher safe.

The round ones (for Armando) make quite a few in one go.

Easy to dislodge the biscuits after baking.

Cons:

The bone-shaped ones (for Aleu) usually take 2-3 batches - don’t make many per batch.

Bone-shaped ones are a bit small for Aleu.

Aleu!

I’ve really enjoyed using these! Though the round ones for Armando came with two mold sheets, they are so large and with so many pockets, I usually only need to use one for his batch. Aleu’s, on the other hand, usually take a few rounds to make a decent number for her. I’ve since bought larger paw-shaped molds for the next batch for Aleu, so I know I’ll have the same issue there - but at least she’ll have a treat properly sized for her! These bones are okay, but a bit on the small side for her - they’ll be perfect for their new cousin, Finn, though!

Bone-shaped mold; thumb for size reference.

The material allows them to fold up for storage (more so on those larger sheets for “Tiny”), and they are dishwasher safe. Treats pop out without issue after baking.

The pups get so excited for treat time - they love them as much as any store brand, and I love that I know what’s in their treats (organic peanut butter, oat flour, and water)! I could even eat these treats if I wanted to (and boy, do I have a future piece in the works on just that!). I've also bought molds for treats for the cats, but haven't found a recipe I want to try for them yet - plus, my mother bought us a ton of store-bought treats that we're still working through.

A muddy Armando.

After weeks of traveling to help out members of my family this year (see “To Pick South Dakota Sweet Corn” for that story), I decided to check out some more portable hygiene options when I finally saw stimulus money coming my way. It was also coming up on my birthday when I started looking at such products, so I certainly had a splurge! That said, I’ve only been able to try a few of the products I bought so far, as I haven't needed to get into all of them yet. While I’d usually try to make my own in some cases, this year was just so weird, I couldn’t justify the time this year. However, after having the chance to try some, I can say I look forward to trying to make my own in the future! So let’s go through what I bought for easier traveling toiletries!

First, after a BOGO sale for Autobrush, where I had to get one for my special needs brother (I can’t lift him onto the sink counter like my dad when I watch him, so brushing his teeth when I’m on the floor with him is difficult), I really had to take a look at my oral health this year. I don’t really have any income, so I haven’t been to the dentist since I had my wisdom teeth removed - five years ago! Besides some minor sensitivity (likely from jaw-clenching), the biggest thing I’ve noticed was some staining on my front teeth. Not a huge surprise, given how much coffee and tea I drink. I used the BOGO deal to get myself one as well, but the main draw was for my brother. I like it well enough, but you have to buy a recommended toothpaste for it that is less eco-friendly than I prefer.

After traveling, and having to use kid’s toothpaste at one point because I didn’t want to buy a full tube of toothpaste or inconvenience my relatives with a trip to the store on top of all else, I looked into toothpaste tabs again. I’ve looked them up before - mainly to find a DIY recipe - but all that traveling this year made me say, “Yeah, useful enough I should try them out”. I have not been disappointed.

Chewtabs vanilla mint toothpaste tabs.

While I’ve tried a few different brands, the first one was Chewtab. I tried the vanilla mint flavor, which tastes like common after-dinner mints; I’m quite the fan. I ordered the most cost-effective - 180 count - figuring even if I wasn’t a fan, they’d be good for travel. Don't have to love something to use it.

Pros:

Compostable packaging - including the plastic-looking inner pouches!

Easy to chew.

These ones are fluoride free (get into that in a minute).

Travel-friendly.

No globs in the sink anymore!

Cons:

More expensive than I’m used to.

Inner packaging is so similar to plastic, many have commented it is plastic.

I was initially disappointed upon opening the cardboard box, as the three inner packets (containing 60 tabs each) appeared to be plastic. My review on Amazon even said that until I realized that, no, it was not. The product information clearly states that it is compostable material. Upon rechecking my box, it also states the pouches are compostable on the underside of the lid! I’ve since corrected the review. I’d say my biggest issue, once I realized my previous mistake, was the cost. I’m used to picking up tubes of toothpaste for $1 at the local Dollar Tree here, so $20-25 for 3 months is a bit steep for what I’m used to.

Better image of box and print explaining the eco bags.

However, they may be worth the cost. Unlike regular toothpaste, I’ve not had globs of paste in the sinks after brushing (seriously, how annoying is that when you brush your teeth after cleaning the sink and a glob winds up in it?!). I also hate throwing out empty tubes, because what can you really do with spent toothpaste tubes? I try to repurpose as much as I can, but even I haven’t found a second use for the tubes! They are small and very travel-friendly. And as for fluoride…

I am not opposed to fluoride, but I was excited to try a product without it. One of my front teeth has a white spot from dental fluorosis, which occurs with an abundance of fluoride as teeth are developing/coming in, so I have some reservations as I can be a bit self-conscious about it. I was also curious if using a fluoride-free product would help reduce some of the staining I have. While I’m still struggling with a few spots of staining (likely due to tooth positions and textures), I have noticed a marked improvement in the shade of my teeth. I also think the thicker paste may have made it more difficult for my brush bristles to work on the surface of my teeth; they seem much more white and polished now.

Of course, this could also be because I also purchased some new toothbrushes. I wound up with a 10 pack of bamboo toothbrushes. So let me tell you about those next.

Pros:

Bamboo handles - compostable.

10-pack with different colored bristles on each for identification.

Come in cardboard packaging throughout.

Cons:

Bristles sometimes come out - not anchored as well as in plastic ones.

Bristles took a little while to “break in”/caused some bleeding the first days.

Bristles are likely not compostable, but unsure.

Could be argued there is too much packaging.

They look nice. Each individual toothbrush comes in its own cardboard sleeve, which are then all in one larger one. Depending on preference, it’s fine for storage or too much packaging. Each toothbrush has a different color of bristles. However, the first few days, the bristles caused my gums to bleed, until they softened with use. I even thought it was the back of the head cutting my cheek at first. Also, in under two months of use, I have lost about 5 bristles from my first one.

Overall, I like them so far. The bristles aren’t “cemented” in the brush head like ones made from plastic, so it makes sense to me that some will occasionally come loose. My boyfriend uses an electric toothbrush, so I will be the only one using them, and it will still take a while for me to go through all 10. That they are in individual sleeves means that they’ll be protected in my closet until I’m ready to use them. Between the fluoride-free tabs and these toothbrushes, my teeth are much whiter now, except for a few trouble spots that are slowly getting better. Time to dig out the whitening gel that came with my Autobrush combo!

Left: Georganics Tea Tree mouthwash tabs. Middle: One of the boxes. Right: Georganics Spearmint Toothpaste Tablets (yet to be tried).

I also sought mouthwash tabs for those future travels in particular, but also because I’m sick of buying products in plastic, that are mostly water, and are so much bulkier! I found these, and I rather enjoy them as well!

Pros:

Small and portable - hardly take up any room compared to normal mouthwash bottles.

Only use water when you need them, rather than liquid sitting on shelves for months.

Fun to watch fizzle into mouthwash.

No alcohol involved.

Several months' worth in a tiny bottle!

Cons:

Must touch with dry fingers - beware after washing hands!

Charcoal ones leave film on bathroom cups.

The only issue I really had with these was when the charcoal ones I bought somehow popped the lid and the fine powder inside (happens with dry products) managed to cover the rest of the items in the box. I bought both tea tree and charcoal to see which I liked better. Tea tree can be different if you don’t expect it - it’s not minty. The charcoal ones also leave a black film on the plastic bathroom cup I use for mouthwash, though it doesn’t harm anything. Just looks odd.

I love how the glass bottles they come in take up a fraction of the space of the liquid mouthwashes from the local stores. I’m also a fan of reducing as much extra water on shelves as possible (seriously, how much water is stored in products on shelves worldwide!?!), including in our home. My boyfriend enjoys the liquid stuff, but maybe I’ll see if he’ll check some of these out sometime as well. We could use the extra space in the closets….

They are fun to watch dissolve - and they don’t take much water. It is important to handle them with dry hands though, or extra water will “activate” them. I also think they don’t have such a lingering taste after use, versus the liquid brands.

Kiba charcoal bamboo floss kit.

And to conclude the oral hygiene products I’ve tried this year, let’s finish this grouping with floss! I’m not going to lie; I’ve always been terrible about flossing. And I hated throwing away the strands after a single use. But I knew, especially since I haven’t been going to the dentist, that I needed to get better. So what could I do that would maybe help me floss more? The answer? Let’s find some floss I can compost!

My floss search initially saw me looking at silk. Not bad, but when a cruelty-free, vegan alternative shows up… well, I’m not going to pass up that search. Now, I am not a vegan or even a vegetarian - but I do think we should harm less in the world. Use as much as we can from animals we consume, recycle and repurpose what we can… that kinda thing. A little more mindful. So when bamboo charcoal floss showed up in related searches, I eagerly browsed around. I needed a floss dispenser for travel, at least, and am all about buying in bulk; the less shipments I need and the more money I save, the better. So this kit was perfect for me!

Pros:

Comes with a glass dispenser that can cut the floss.

Comes filled and with an additional 3 refills = 4 floss bundles.

Compostable; made from bamboo, which grows quickly.

Vegan/cruelty-free.

Cons:

Can separate some, but usually not an issue.

Really hard for me to fault this product! The minty taste is pretty mild, and the dispenser cuts without issue. Packaging is a small, compact cardboard box. I could be mistaken, but it does seem to expand some with contact with saliva, which makes sense. I have noticed sometimes it seems to separate into two strands while flossing, but this has never been an issue and it holds together - just spreads out?

I’m still not as great with flossing as I should be, but I can certainly say I am flossing more than I ever have previously! The same can be said for all things concerning my oral health! Changing over to products I’m more excited to use has really helped me start taking better care of my teeth! Now that I think about it, I haven’t even noticed any sensitivity the last 2-3 months since I started using these products together!

But my 2021 product journey didn’t end there! Besides oral health, I also sought to look into a better option for my hair care while traveling - and instead found another product I love even for our house! My first shampoo bar! Technically, shampoo and conditioning bar.

Bamboo Earth Coconut shampoo and conditioning bar, approximately 30 washes in.

Pros:

No plastic packaging or bottle.

No excess water.

Travel friendly.

Climate pledge friendly!

One bar = over 60 washes!

One bar does both the shampooing and conditioning!

Cons:

Coconut oil (for those with allergies).

Scent doesn’t transfer to hair much/soft scent.

Should be set on a soap dish for best use.

Costs more than I am used to.

I had wanted to try shampoo and conditioner bars prior to 2021, but I largely couldn’t get used to the cost. I was raised using VO5; usually .80-1.00 per bottle here at local stores. I could buy up to five bottles of each product for the same amount as one of these bars. And this is one of the “mid-priced” ones - often a single shampoo bar will cost about $10, and a single conditioner bar an additional $10-12. At $10 for both shampoo and conditioning, it’s not terrible. And there are sets they sell for 4 for $25; I have one such set in the closet, waiting. They aren’t my favorite scents, but for that price, I'll give them a shot. That all said, $10 for potentially 75 washes - months - is not so bad.

But, how would it do? Shampoo and conditioner combos in something like hotel rooms had never worked well for me, and I have fine, straight hair.

The bar comes in a small, cardboard box, and is wrapped in a small piece of tissue paper inside. The fragrance is mild for the coconut one I tried. I opt to lather it up in my hands, to avoid hair getting stuck on the bar, and let me tell you; I love it! After the first wash, I wondered why I had waited so long to try it! I’ve probably used it for 30 washes at this point, and it’s still going strong. I will say, the scent doesn’t transfer much to my hair, but I don’t consider it a con outright; do we really need to smell like something all the time? Still, I was expecting it to be a stronger scent, though there is a faint scent after washing. I love that it is free of excess water, travel-friendly, and climate pledge friendly! I did have to buy an extra soap dish to preserve it best; at $10 a pop, I’m not letting the product go to waste! I highly recommend it! Much love to VO5 though - I've used that for 30 years, and my boyfriend is still using them after switching from more pricey brands when we started dating.

Eventually, I’ll get around to the other bars I bought, but that’s many, many washes from now! Assuming I’m still writing on Vocal.media at the end of next year - 2022 - I’ll likely have a proper “review” of them then! Same for the deodorants and soaps I bought this year, which I’m still testing out!

Wellow deodorant and toothpaste tabs, yet to be tested.

Next, let’s talk about these strange little socks I bought. My parents were practically in stitches when I showed up with them one day. My boyfriend and I, though, rather like them. Me wearing them, and my boyfriend because I am wearing them. So what on Earth are these things doing here?

"Heel socks"

Well, I try to get to 10,000 steps a day (currently, I’m on a 90+ day streak!). While the streak is new, my habit is not, as I explained in “Night Walker”. I’ve been getting in huge numbers of steps for years, even if I didn’t always hit the 10,000 mark. And all that walking around - barefoot on carpet and then hardwood the last 5 years - has left me with some decent calluses. Notably on the heels. Throw in Colorado’s dry winters and the heaters kicking on, and it’s no surprise that I've had to deal with cracked heels year after year. I hate putting on lotion - especially when I'm on hardwood, and regular socks on that same hardwood turns the house into a skating rink. But with these “heel socks”, my heels are both covered and cushioned with gel. And the front half of my feet being left exposed means I still have traction and control. Still have calluses there too, but those ones are much harder to crack. But of course my folks didn’t see it that way; they just saw some wonky-looking things on my feet! Parents, let me tell you….

My recorded steps and current streak.

Pros:

Covers heels.

Cushions cracked heels/protects from further damage.

Exposed front half of foot/feet allows for traction on surfaces regular socks slide on.

Keep your feet cool if you hate your feet getting too warm.

Can slip on flip-flops for those quick runs to the mailbox with them.

Cons:

Can take a minute to figure out which side is which.

Gel requires cold wash, line dry.

Washing inside out can lead to unraveling!

May cause unwanted laughter/attention.

I’ll start off by saying that, with the gel, they need to be washed in cold water and line-dried. Also, I thought it would be wise to wash them inside out, but that turned out to be the wrong move; I destroyed one in the dryer (no heat cycle, to pull out any pet fur) as it hooked one of the seams and unraveled. Also, figuring out which opening goes over your ankle and which goes over the foot can be a bit tricky. The easiest way I’ve found is to look at the openings themselves, as the one going over the foot will be a little bigger to cover the wider area. That all said, I adore these! I already wash in cold water most of the time, so I just need to be mindful that they aren’t inside out when I toss them in. After destroying the one, I even bought another two packages, so I'm never without them while washing, drying, and always, always walking! And my boyfriend thinks they’re cute!

The ruined sock.

And finally, to close out the products I bought and tried this year, I have to mention the photo light box I bought! It was a recommended item for some reason (I hadn’t purchased or looked at things for photography in ages), but I instantly saw value in it for pieces like these on Vocal.media! I loathe some of the early photos I took that saw random junk in the background, so this little box was a must-have! I’m still getting used to it, as I have still taken photos with it that show too much of the sides of it, but I have taken many others that turned out a lot better than just laying the items on a table or counter with who-knows-what in the image!

Photo light box, and a prime example of what I would like to avoid in future photos!

Pros:

Folds to about 1 inch flat.

Easy to assemble - like 6 clasps.

Has 3 light settings and 6 solid-colored backgrounds.

Lightweight and extremely portable.

Uses a USB plugin (for the light)

Has a top-view window.

Cons:

Can still see the sides/gaps in some images.

Does not come with a USB outlet plugin.

Folding up to put away can take a minute as you figure it out.

For about $25, this was not a bad investment. I was really able to showcase most of the stuffed animals in my piece, “The Cuddly Power of Stuffed Animals - and Crochet Butterflies”, the journal for my (ongoing) 3-month sleep experiment, and many of the images of products in this article with it. Hopefully also plenty more on Vocal.media in the future, but we’ll see where my journey on Vocal takes me as I get ready to go into my second year on the site soon.

I imagine I’ll be spending the next few weeks looking at items I may want to buy in January for next year’s improvements. I’ve bought enough toothpaste tabs, floss, mouthwash tabs, shampoo and conditioner bars, and molds for pet treats this year to last me throughout the next - and hopefully allow me to focus on finding DIY recipes for most of those! But there’s always something to replace or improve. I do wonder what next year’s adventures will be….

I meant to learn a lot about how to improve my purchasing this year - I really did. But I had a lot of unforeseen travels this year that interfered, and then family drama derailed me for the rest of the year. I literally spent weeks doing nothing but pacing, left disjointed after that initial upset. I’m only now starting to get our house back in order, in preparation for me seeking therapy (presumably in January, 2022). I want things in decent order before I start, so I can focus on my mental health and those types of issues, rather than, “Hey, on top of all this crap, my house is a wreck”.

I meant to figure out if I could buy any of these mentioned types of products locally, rather than individually shipping them out - better to buy items that have been shipped in bulk somewhere, in theory. I meant to look into what kinds of products are best for the environment, from sourcing to production to packaging and shipping. I meant to take a look at what products I should consider paying more for if it means they are better for the future.

Herb'neden Oatmeal Honey sample soap, recently acquired.

Is the bamboo toilet paper I just bought to try next year actually better for the environment? It grows much faster than trees, but is where it's grown - how it has been grown - sustainable, and not affecting biodiversity? What other products can I buy that will reduce how much water is stored on my shelves, rather than being an active part of the water cycle? What - and how - can I buy that will lead me to a more sustainable future? What will I have to compromise on due to everyday circumstances? I’ve done a lot of things in the last 6 years or so to try and curb my impact. I haven’t been perfect, and never will be. All I can do is strive to be better. To do better, in so many regards.

I have a lot of things to look into in 2022. But first and foremost; I gotta find me a therapist and get a bunch of crap sorted out. If only fixing mental health issues was as easy as placing an order. Or even just identifying them. Oy.

product review
3

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.