Humor logo

The Diva's Diary - 2

Day 2 entry

By Lana V LynxPublished 9 days ago 3 min read
DALL-E image of a diva running out of her cosmetic products

During the first day of the Diva’s stay in the bunker, her husband was checking on her whenever he had a break in his meetings. He watched her on security cameras wandering from one room to another, checking the main computer and her smartphone for Internet connection every two to three minutes, attempting to call her girlfriends, trying to see if the TV would show her anything more than a static screen, and moving around desperately in search of something to do.

At one point, she sat to flip through fashion and other women’s magazines from five years before. She quickly found them boring and out of style and got bored again. He was relieved when she picked up the old iPad and started to write her diary entry.

She made multiple attempts to cook something for herself, but every time decided that she lacked some ingredients or skills, loudly swore and quit. She finally microwaved a pizza from the freezer and ate it, a slice at a time, throughout the day. After the third and fourth slice, she went to the exercise room and walked on a treadmill for fifteen minutes. When she wrote in her diary that she exercised for a couple of hours, her husband laughed out loud. What our diva did not know is that her husband's computer was synced with the iPad she was using as a diary and he could read her entries, in real time if he wanted to.

On the first long day, she also attempted to read a paperback. Unfortunately for her, she picked up one of her husband’s favorite books, the Dune. She dropped it on the third page, muttering to herself, “It’s so dense! How can anyone understand it? The movie is so much better!”

She fell asleep, exhausted by boredom and slow time, about midnight. Her husband joined her in the bed at about 2 am. She only stirred a little, happy that he was back, and fell right back into her slumber. Her husband woke up at 6 am, made her some breakfast and lunch, wrote her a little note and left again. Here is the second entry from her diary:

Day 2 (June 7, 2026)

Hubby came back from his meetings very late, like about 2 am. Left very early, like I didn’t even hear him getting up.

When I woke up at 9 am, I remembered what happened (Apocalypse), and checked my phone and iPad. No connection, so I went right back to sleep. What can I do if I can’t be online? Just like eat and sleep.

I woke up again at about noon, and didn't even put my makeup on. Why? Who'd see me here? I went into the kitchen and found the breakfast hubby made for me. The scrambled eggs were cold, so I microwaved them. He also made me some sandwiches for the day, with the note “Lunch and dinner for my love.” I love him so much! But does he really need to be away this much? I am so lonely!

I went to the Apocalypse pool around 2 pm. It’s a community pool, like for all the bunkers in this sector. There was no one there! Are all other people dead? Why no one from the bunkers comes to the pool? Like, are there any other places they go to?

I’ll go to the Apocalypse library tomorrow, just to see if there’s anyone there. I went there today, after I spent like two hours floating at the pool, but it was closed. Do they have office hours??

When I returned to our bunker, I ate sandwiches and watched some old movies on DVDs. It took me some time to figure out how to make them work, it’s all like coming back to me from like my youth. My hubby texted a couple of times, checking in on me. I wonder how the texts still work, when nothing else does? Ain’t they sent over the Internet?

It’s 10 pm, I’m going to bed, alone again. It’s so boring here!

*****

The first day entry is here:

SatiricalWitSatireParodyGeneralFunnyFamily

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Novel Allen2 days ago

    Soon she will call for a therapist, and make your own damned food woman, hubby is a stalker, narcissist watching her every move. She need to find out that he is hovering...creepy.

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    Dune the movie sucks and the book(s) was great. She is the type who wants to watch rather than read the book. What will her boredom lead to next? Great as usual.

  • L.C. Schäfer6 days ago

    In her defense, Dune is a little dry 😂

  • Love this

  • I'm starting to get some "test subject" vibes going on here as well... can't wait to see where you take this next, Lana!

  • Hahahahahhahahhaha I loved how she worked out for 15 minutes but wrote she did for a couple of hours! Her husband was so nice to prepare breakfast for her. Waiting for part 3 hehehehehe

Lana V LynxWritten by Lana V Lynx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.