Humor logo

POPSICLE

- Melt Me -

By Jay KantorPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2023
39
Double Stick Licks

Author © Jay Kantor

Power of our Pens - Following the 'Free' Publicity this Market Chain received from this silly story management gifted me a huge sugar free cake along with a Company-Cap and offered me a position in their advertising department - Nah - but I took the 'Brain Freeze' what could it hurt.

— For All the Michaels ~ It PAYS to be Nice —

While parking my SUV at the market’s pickup site, I noticed in the next space over a very slight woman wearing a crispy blue Ralphs-Guard uniform, with a gold badge/big gun and all. She was sitting on a store handicap electric shopping cart, bucking it back and forth, trying to take it back into the store.

The woman began yelling across at me just as the pickup-manager, Michael, approached to load me. “Do I know how to run this THING?” I wondered if she was asking me because she noticed that I might be 'Less-Abled'.

Therefore, of course, I SHOULD know how to work the 'THING' — Or, was it just a general shout-out? I just stepped past her and said, “why don’t you call a Security-Guard?” The GUARD pointed to her shiny gold badge and said, “I am a Security Guard.” In passing, I said “then call YOU.” Come-on, I know I was being snide, but it was just a spur of the moment response.

And, I PROBABLY would have helped her until Michael came to rescue her. What a good sport. It was 100+ degrees in the parking lot and Mike just handled it; probably thought she’d shoot him if he didn’t?

As Michael loaded the groceries into my boot he said, “Mr. K, I know you’re one of those Veg-e-Tarians but, wow, you get a lot of peas.” I told him, “I don’t believe that it is within your job description to inspect my food orders.”

He Quipped: “So call The GUARD.” I responded to the retailer’s review request after my purchase (we all get them sent to us) with a nice note. No response at all, even after sending a follow-up to them. You’d think that a 'nice' note would not be as prevalent as complaint letters that companies mostly receive; I don’t know?

So, I finally sent the letter directly to the 'Big-Guy' (verbatim/below) then printed it out and gave it to Michael so he could see what it entailed. Seriously, Michael created a smoothly-run and efficient entity separate from the everyday operation 'nicely' along with his terrific ‘tude! This shouldn’t go unnoticed and I thought 'Corp' should know about it. He got promoted to the position of store-manager (3) days later!

Michael texted me: “On behalf of my wife and son, thank you for being so nice — FREE Popsicles for LIFE.”

* Unlike our generation’s time-table: Michael is (30) with a college degree and still lives with his folks; along with his wife and young son. And, OH SURE, I’m happy for him but, who’s going to 'spoil' me now in the parking lot?

— I’ll just call The GUARD —

ACTUAL Letter to Ralphs Market:

Mr. Q, District Manager, Ralphs (Kroger) Markets Re; Grocery Pickups at the Chatsworth, California Store:

Mr. Q, I would just like to take a moment to express appreciation and to say how accommodating and professional your pickup staff is at the Devonshire street location. What a treat to be spoiling us with this special service. Now designated spaces are even permanently painted in bright yellow; especially considerate for Seniors.

Thank You for That. But, an extra shout-out to Michael, the pickup-manager. He keeps things running smoothly, even when it’s (100+) in the parking lot.

* We once lived on the canal in Long Beach. And, there was a little market called 'Henry’s' where we would quick-visit daily. We really didn’t even need our own fridge; the 'neighborhood' market! When your pickup manager calls me just to let me know that my “sugar-free-popsicles are back in stock,” it reminds me of an old-fashioned 'neighborhood' market; very appreciated!

— Ralphs, a NICE way to do business —

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Family
39

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    It's always nice to be nice. Really doesn't cost us anything! Even a simple smile can actually make us feel better. Moral of the story: make sure the replacement person is also nice, before sending the letter 😁

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    This was such a fun read! Do you really eat a lot of peas? I have a bit of an addiction to them myself… stir fried with garlic and olive oil is the best! And lots of salt, of course.

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Good stuff, funny and heartfelt. Well done

  • Hannah E. Aaron9 months ago

    Jay, you are such a wonderful presence here on Vocal, in your community and beyond! I’m glad Michael got a promotion (though I’m sorry pickup won’t be the same). I bet your note made him feel so appreciated! I’m in a mostly-retail job now at a tearoom and tea store, so when guests thank me and my coworkers, it really means so much.

  • Test9 months ago

    Jay, your comment doesn't show up on my last piece for some reason. Hope this reaches you here. Thanks for the heads up and I'm really sorry to hear of this happening to you. -J

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    nice story

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story 👌👏🎈🤩

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Oh how I LOVE this piece! Jay, you changed Michael’s life! How lucky that Karma came back around in the form of delicious frozen treats! Also got a good chuckle from your comment back to the guard “then call YOU” lol🤣🤣🤣 I’ve read several stories lately tgat are reminding me of my grandmother that passed away last year at the age of 95. She had a Safeway clerk that would sneak in her favorite discontinued fish item to the store orders, and also called her every time her favorite Bluebell King Cake ice cream was in stock. She was as feisty as you are 😂 I think she’s sending me little winks through these subtle reminders of her. Thanks for the sweet memory jog! Cheers (with a popsicle)! 💫

  • Robert Heinrich9 months ago

    By the time we got to the end it actually had a little weight to it 😁. Nice little piece

  • Kelly Khoo9 months ago

    Kindness rewarded! Michael shines, making pickup a pleasant summer experience. 👍🍦

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wonderful story. Congrats on the TS.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Now Jay… you’ve been around long enough to know not to mess with us ‘slight’ women. Our bite is worse than our dainty bark. That was nice of you to write that letter for Michael, who likely saved your ass by intervening. But no, seriously, people do offer more complaints than praises. That was wonderful. Congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Sweet, sweeter, sweetest!!! LOVED YOUR FAMILY STORY!!! Oops didn't mean to have all in caps.♥️♥️💕

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Your story made me smile as I remember their is still good customer service in the world, and so happy you took the time to recognize it - and earned your popsicles! 🤗

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Can I borrow some of those popsicles! Its hot down here too. Really enjoyed this story J-Bud. Especially taking the time to write the letter. I now declare today, Jay Kantor day! Well done, my friend.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Happy for Michael, Praise goes a long way, most of the time. Interesting story Jay. Blessings.

  • Terrilynn: "What a wonderful piece about often ignored customer service. I’m so glad you wrote this. This age old business adage wouldn't be generally expected now. Nice to hear that Michael got recognition for handling his staff and customers in a caring manner."

  • Test9 months ago

    Good on you JB. You got heart brother. -J

  • Awww, this was such a wholesome story! It nice to be nice! I loved this so much!

  • I'm so pleased that you took the time to send that letter & that you believe so strongly in doing such nice things for others. Sorry you lost your pickup manager but congratulations, Michael!

  • C. Rommial Butler9 months ago

    It pays to be nice, but being snide is so much fun in the moment, isn't it? "Nice" way to find a balance, Jay!

  • Shanon Norman9 months ago

    Ok, you inspired me Jay. I had forgotten the power of praise and there are plenty of blue collar heroes who go thankless too often. Thanks for the reminder and inspiration. Peace.

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    Will you people please stop posting pictures of food? I'm within 7 pounds of my goal weight and now I want popsicles! Thank you for being kind to a hard worker. Doesn't it feel good to make a difference in someone's life?

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    It never hurts to be nice (well maybe sometimes but not usually) and acknowledge people for doing the right thing. Nice story, Jay!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A great story, J-Bud! I often think we've lost sight of the this principle, but every once in awhile I get a nice surprise. This was one of those times for you. Thanks for sharing it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.