Humor logo

Pilot, the Pilot

What you think it means...

By Kendall Defoe Published about a year ago 3 min read
Pilot, the Pilot
Photo by Keagan Henman on Unsplash

For my pitch, I would like to do a TV show about...pilots.

I had better be clear about this one. I do not mean that I want to do a sequel to 'Wings' (although I was a fan of the show and always wondered where they would head next). I mean a TV show where every episode is a pilot for a new project.

Now, for those of you not familiar with the lingo of television, a pilot is a television program that introduces a new series. Those of you who watched Quentin Tarantino's 'Pulp Fiction' received an explanation from Jules just before he performed his hit job in an apartment complex (and I still think Mia would have done well with the project). And maybe this is where the idea began to develop in my thoughts: why not a program where we follow a group of actors, writers, showrunners and crew as they face the disappointments and joys of being a part of a television program?

By Nevels Media on Unsplash

This could work! Imagine a television program where you could never guess what the next episode would be about and would have your heart set on edge hoping that this one...or that one...or the next one would get picked up and become something permanent (I know, I know... There are shows that try to surprise us, but they work within one particular frame: you knew that 'Breaking Bad' was never going to do an episode in outer space; 'The Sopranos' never headed back to Ancient Rome or Greece - now that's an idea...)

Along with guessing where the show was going to head to next, you would have a cast that you could follow along and root for or jeer at as they try to make it in the business. It would have to be as diverse as a real casting call, and we could have them go through the whole process of auditioning, getting call backs of acceptance or denial, the opening of the show, and all the general disappointments when their dreams are too big for the screen (did I just say that? Yeech!).

The cast would be very diverse, covering every racial, gendered, spectrum-heavy group imaginable. There are a lot of calls for more representation in the industry and this would guarantee that the powers that be call on those who do not get heard. Just imagine Jordan Peele directing an episode of 'Pilot' - yeah, I am picking some big names out there - creating a drama within a drama about the black pioneers who led the Stonewall uprising (look that up). Or even David Lynch (!) going back in time to a dark comedy within the form covering the life of Edgar Allen Poe (the gears are already turning). And the diversity would not end with the cast trying to get on these shows or attempting to get these shows made. How many executives, producers, directors and so forth come from a background that does not look like a rerun of 'Friends'? Harsh to pick that one out of many that make a major American city look like a plain beige paradise, but I think you understand my meaning (don't you?).

Drawbacks? Well, the budget would have to be quite big since every episode would cover a completely different type of show. The set for a drama in a hospital would create a different feel than one used for a comedy in the same field. And all those historical ideas... Well, as long as there is enough originality and talent out there, these things can get done. And as I said, there would be a huge demand for the next episode...and the next one...and the next one. I could see this running for a few seasons without any real problems developing...if the money is around.

So, that's my plan. Let's have a TV show about pilots...and that 'Wings' reunion should also be considered.

And now...?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

SatiricalSatireIronyGeneralFunny

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Rachel M.Jabout a year ago

    This sounds like a really fun idea, had me coming up with my own reel of pilots!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Kendall, I loved your introduction and the premiss of your pilot(s)! I think that would be such a fun idea! You could even do a single cast that goes through each different episode with all the different roles! This idea made me think of American Horror story, how they try to keep all the same cast but insert them in very different roles each season. But you could do this each episode! Such a fun and great idea!! I would watch the shit out of that! 🎉

  • Mack Devlinabout a year ago

    That's a great idea. I love that if one of the pilots is a really great concept the fans could get it made. I think crowdfunded projects are the future and with that in mind, a show like this could spin off into a million different directions.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    This is a really cool concept. I'd watch it!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    This challenge has me stumped. Not sure which way is up. Looking forward ro your first 'pilot'. Be brave.

  • MT Poetryabout a year ago

    Wow, this poem is absolutely captivating!! Each line is filled with emotion and paints a vivid picture in the reader's mind. Amazing work!!!💕👏🥰

  • ThatWriterWomanabout a year ago

    Heh, A pilot about pilots! I love that humour!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Since we're steeping in TV lingo, I'd say that idea is on the "Button"!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I actually like this idea. They did one for singers/songwriters that did well. This would have a lot more variety.

  • Lol, this was so brilliant! Every episode would be something entirely new rather that the same plot line being dragged out. I would for sure watch this!

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    It sounds like quite an interesting idea. And I recalled something similar, anime Keep Your Hands Off Eizouken. It's not about making pilots though, but about hurdles of creating animated films. Also, it gives some interesting details of the industry in a fun way

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.