Humor logo

My Name is Caroline Jane, and I am a VOCAL Challenge Addict

✌❤

By Caroline JanePublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
26
My Name is Caroline Jane, and I am a VOCAL Challenge Addict
Photo by danilo.alvesd on Unsplash

My name is Caroline Jane, and I am addicted to VOCAL Challenges.

True story.

They are like my Meth.

I was not going to enter this one, the #200 one, and then at the final furlong, I was like, "Well, what's the harm? Just have a wee punt. You know you want to..."

I do, I really do! Arghhhh... I can't stop!

By Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

The Prognosis:

I have consulted Doctor Google about it, and they have confirmed that I have all the symptoms. This is a screenshot of my phone as I type:

Fellow VOCALITES, I am 8 for 8:

(... and I only asked for 3 symptoms!)

Mood Swings:

I have got a great idea... oh, this is soooo insightful... soooo of the moment... coherent, fluid, fascinating [5 mins later] What the **** is this **** I just wrote?

Increased Temper:

Why the hell can't I access this? I know my password! This IS my password. Arghhh!

Tiredness:

I shall just get this one last paragraph down- just one more. What? I have work tomorrow? Whatevs.

Paranoia:

You cannot accuse VOCAL of being "like" Meth. OMG!!

Defensiveness:

This quote is from an author's note on one of my stories. (You have to love the backhanded defensive action here!)

The Wake of Weekend Warriors is a favourite poem of mine, but it did not touch the sides of the poetry challenge it was entered into. I understand why completely. Although, as I note at the end of it - if, as Poet Carol Ann Duffy describes, "Poetry is the music of being human," surely, there is room for some heavy metal souls.

Mwahahahaha.

#getoveryourselfCJ!

Agitation:

- insert whole of life in general -

Inability to Focus or Concentrate:

What's my name again?

Poor Judgement:

Those two words are going on my gravestone, just above the words "Let's hope God really does love a trier."

So, yeah, you could say I have a problem. But then, you could also say...

I had written nothing, nada, zilch, nowt of note for 46 years of my life, and along came VOCAL and their challenges, and suddenly I was all: "Where's my pen?!" One hundred and twelve stories in nearly 3yrs (including this one and a whole raft of haiku where I had no clue what a haiku really was beyond a syllable count) and 11 challenge placements... and yeah... I think that perhaps, maybe, possibly... I can perhaps, maybe, possibly write.

(still terrible at grammar obvs!)

Now, here is the soppy part, the part that the street-wise barrow-girl* in me wants to hide behind the humorous bravado:

Without VOCAL's challenges, the writing community that comes together every day on Facebook groups, the encouragement of VOCAL peers, and their comments and hearts, I would NEVER have achieved what I have.

Never.

Like many of you, all I ever wanted to do was to become a good writer. Until VOCAL, I thought this ambition was a pipedream. Vocal incentivised me with challenges, gave me a platform where amazing writers cut their cloth, and gave me the privilege of a level playing field to pitch alongside them. Vocal gave me an IN to a world that seemed so far away from who and what I am.

I have never had one creative writing lesson past my secondary school education. EVERYTHING I have learned has come from VOCAL, self-learning, or the amazing people who create for VOCAL. Every comment has encouraged me, whether in a Facebook group or on the VOCAL platform itself. Good, bad, or indifferent, VOCAL has facilitated perspectives that I would never have been able to reach on my own.

I have met some incredibly talented people and made some wonderfully considerate friends, all of whom want to help me and help each other get good at this writing malarkey! Is there anything more unifying than a common goal?

Is there any wonder that I am addicted to VOCAL and its challenges?

There can also be no wonder that throughout the whole of January, I have struggled to find anything of any substance to say on the matter of VOCAL ambition. Then, with one day to go, I thought - Sod it - What I have to say may seem comparatively shallow, and I may look as though I am blowing smoke up the proverbial, but I repeat, "Whatevs!" These are my truths, and if I am lucky, I may get a top story off the outlandish back of them!

Caroline Jane's VOCAL Aspirations for 2024:

1. Have fun on VOCAL and enjoy the self-growth that comes with success and failure.

2. Encourage everyone and help where I can.

3. Write. 112 stories in nearly 3 years is not a lot. I can do better!

4. Think about what to do with the skill VOCAL and all the VOCALITES have helped me cultivate.

5. Do not worry if you come up with nothing for number 4.

And there we go. That is it—my Vocal aspirations in a nutshell. From me to everyone who makes this platform - The VOCAL Team, The Creators, The Readers - please know that I love you all. Yes, I have had a couple of whiskeys tonight, so inevitably, I was bound to declare my love for the universe; still, out of the mouth of a slightly tipsy, hardworking *grocer, please take this sincerity for exactly how it was intended...

With love,

CJ xxx

Vocal
26

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz3 months ago

    And we are better for it, with you on Vocal. ( You addict lol) Congratulations

  • Hi Caroline, my name is William and I am an addict. My drug of choice is also Vocal. Ha, this was such a brilliant way to do this. All the way through I kept thinking of an AA meeting with you giving your testimony!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I see a few have the aspiration to write more, but I gotta warn you... the more you write, the more you write! 😁

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Love that you didn’t start writing again until you were 46 - and then you smashed it out of the park! Your writing is so good. I’m sure you’ll be notching up another win with this entry!

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    Yes we must carry on.

  • Meagan Dion3 months ago

    Loved it!!!!

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙💙

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    I enjoyed this so much! Definitely feel the addiction part! I think of all the ones to have though, it's not so bad! Perfectly written as always and love the humour 🤍

  • Excellent piece, and congratulations on your forthcoming Top Story. I am still banned from vocal at home :)

  • Gary Ragnarsson3 months ago

    I absolutely loved this! Great effortless writing and humour to go along with it. It's strange, we SOOOOO share a style when I'm not all depressive or serious, and you've kinda changed my mood just now. You've got a new subscriber and I can't wait to read more!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Fantastic. I feel like I could have written this myself. In the same way that I stand Infront of some pieces of modern art and think "well I could have made that myself". Ah, but you didn't Hannah, did you, because you didn't have the concept and you would not have, let's face it, executed it as well if you had.

  • Whoaaaaa, you have 11 challenge placements?! That's crazyyyyyy! But in a good way, of course! A hugeeeee congratulations to youuuu! 🎉💖🎊💖💖🎊 I'm a Vocal addict too but not to challenges. I'm addicted to reading on Vocal. Like I just cannot stay away! Lol! Also, yes, what Brin said. Your battery life is giving me anxiety. Charge your phone, woman! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 All the best for all your goals and here's to more challenge placements! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Brin J.3 months ago

    🤣 your battery life. This was such a delight to read. So upbeat and fun. And let's be honest, out of all the addictions that exist, this isn't a bad one to have! Could be worse!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    😅 Yep! You have all the symptoms alright...At least it's a healthy addiction. This was very entertaining, CJ. Best of luck in the new year!

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Also if I had a couple of whiskey, my writing would not look this good! 😱

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    This was so great 😄

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I just love tipsy Caroline. Have a couple of more and write a story. bahahah. Love this piece. I was smiling from beginning to end. (I really want to add some silly little emojis, but I have no effin idea how to do it on my effin laptop. So, just imagine the little yellow smily/laughing whatever thingys.)

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    ❤ it! Good luck to you Dear Caroline! 😊

  • J. R. Lowe3 months ago

    Hahahah I always love the stuff you put out, Caroline. You have an amazing sense of humour 😂 But also, great goals. Can’t wait to see where things take you this year!

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    I love the humor in this.

  • VOCAL = Voice Of Caroline Ain’t Lemons

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    You are among friends. And this really speaks to me. ;)

  • Sara 3 months ago

    This made me laugh out loud - I love how you shared that vocal motivates you to write. Keep the awesome content coming!! 🫶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.