Humor logo

Ever So Often

Do You Get This Urge???

By Shirley BelkPublished 23 days ago 3 min read
10
from Pinterest

Confession: I follow the app below because I have a love of "words." It's always a challenge to see an unfamiliar word and test your skills/insight as to what that word might actually mean. But, as you can tell, if and when you open this link, I picked the wrong definition. All, the same, the word, "lalochezia" intrigued me...especially when I discovered its true meaning. I giggled.

Strictly from the above article and not my words:

Definition: the emotional relief gained by using vulgar or foul language

Origin: The word "lalochezia" is derived from the Greek words "lalia" meaning speech and "chezo" meaning to relieve oneself.

Example: After stubbing his toe on the coffee table, John let out a stream of lalochezia to relieve the pain and frustration.

The use of vulgar or foul language to relieve stress is a common phenomenon, with many people finding it to be an effective way to cope with difficult or frustrating situations. Lalochezia is a term that describes this practice, and it is often seen as a way to release pent-up emotions and tension. While some people may find this type of language to be offensive or inappropriate, many others view it as a harmless way to blow off steam and let out their frustrations. Whether it's yelling profanities at the top of your lungs or muttering curses under your breath, lalochezia can be a useful tool for managing stress and releasing negative emotions.

:) :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

My story:

I vividly recall practicing the art of lalochezia at my first nursing job! Now, it was behind private doors and away from the earshot of the public and patients, of course. But it simply had to be done!

I had no other outlet at the time. I couldn't run off and "blow off steam" at a bar and I didn't have a dog to kick. (I would NEVER kick a dog!!!) I was still at work and my patients still needed tending to...by me. I was only halfway through my shift; I didn't even have the time to run to the bathroom and have a good cry.

All of the call bells, the doctor's orders, the paperwork, etc. were coming at me with the speed and force of an atomic bomb, but it was me who was about to explode or implode (whichever came first...it was hard to tell.) I just had not been able to catch a break or a breather. There was nowhere to run and no place to hide, so to speak.

I was getting further and further behind with the same gusto that I was using to dig myself out of the "too many expectations and too few of me to go around with" hell that I found myself in. There wasn't a nursing fairy popping up offering to manage any time management magic that I could possibly wish for, either.

All I could do was to go behind the locked safety of the medication room to hide and breathe. And it was then and there that lalochezia found me, although I never knew what to call my episode until now.

Yes, I said the short word for sexual intercourse about a thousand times until I felt better. Each time I said it, I felt relief. Then I noticed that each time I verbalized it, it came out of my mouth a bit differently. First it was booming with rage, then after a while, a very serious tone bellowed to go along with a touch of irreverence, then a more confident and slightly formal spew, and after that...with a matter-of-fact bravado and a tone of pretension, (I think?) But lastly, I giggled! Call it nervous laughter, but I felt so much better. I came out of that room ready to seize the day, grateful for lalochezia!

If you can relate, or have your own recall, please leave me a comment. I promise not to tell or to judge :) But I might giggle...

GeneralFunny
10

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale22 days ago

    Now I will never forget the word lalochezia. You just upgraded my vocabulary.

  • Gabriel Huizenga22 days ago

    This is a hilarious and informative piece!! I will never forget the word lalochezia, haha!

  • I love this story. My big swear words were learnt from my hot tempered mother: B****y H*ll😳 As a nurse in my 20s… kicking the Pan Room door (pretending to… swinging at it) & silently screaming in there, really helped relieve stress! Better yet is to scream loudly, but tricky to find a suitable spot!😵‍💫

  • Short word for sexual intercourse! That made me laugh so much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I don't think I have any instances like such but I do whisper "wtf" to myself probably a hundred times a day hahahahahahhaah

  • Caroline Craven23 days ago

    Haha! Fab! Every day is a school day! Learned so much from this! So much better to say I suffer from lalochezia rather than saying I curse a lot!

  • John Cox23 days ago

    This is an absolutely wonderful explication on the medicinal benefits of the F-word, Shirley. I loved it. And the photo of that puppy climbing those steps is absolutely priceless! Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.