Humor logo

Divorce Discovery

in Divorce Recovery class

By Shirley BelkPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
13
yourtango.com

I don't know if there are still divorce recovery classes offered anymore. Are there? Back in the 90's they were widely known and popular. They were usually hosted by local churches and with only a minimal application fee, if any. In retrospect, they were probably a very good idea.

My nurse friend, (Teresa,) from the hospital I where was also working, and I were both going through nasty divorces. We helped each other by venting our frustrations to one another and making fun of our soon-to-be exes. We needed each other and we also needed outside help, too. Besides, we needed something to do when we weren't working, exercising, barhopping, and shopping. (What I wouldn't give for some of that energy now!)

After going to a couple of weekly evening classes, where we had been given a test to see where we were on the divorce grieving process and also drawing pictures to represent our "feelings," it was determined that I was high on the scale of anger but was ready and willing to get on with my social needs. (In fact, I was having the time of my life being single again. But I was, indeed, irately mad because of custody issues.) Teresa's story was similar.

In many ways, I just wanted to put it all behind me and move on, but the fighting over my daughter, child support, and all that ugliness kept me sucked in. He still needed to try to control me and even punish me.

I didn't particularly like going and "sharing" with other people that were virtual strangers, but I'll be honest...it helped to hear stories that seemed worse than mine. I know that's not very kind or Christian or neighborly, but I'm keeping it real.

One week, I tried my best not to go to the meeting. I had experienced a long and frustrating day at work, already. I just wanted to stay home and have a nice cold beer or two. But Teresa was so persistent. There was not a NO in her vocabulary, so I dragged myself up and just went.

Once we got there, a tad bit late, we were seated in the back, of course. That was okay with me. I just wanted a nap...and that beer. But they served coffee, so that sufficed. There was a guest speaker being introduced and I paid very little attention...just stirred the sugar in my coffee.

But then I heard his voice! It was so calm and soothing. The kind that worked miracles to ease the tension I felt in my shoulders and neck. Being near-sighted and far back from the podium, I could barely make out his shape. He appeared to have dark hair and a lean, muscular body...not the kind that goes to the gym, but the kind that had a God-given gift of DNA. And the more he spoke, the more entranced I became. I don't remember what his message was, but that was unimportant. I just liked the tone and sensuality of the words that sang to my ears.

My plan? Well, I wasn't going to waste any time trying to meet this man and see if he'd be interested in having coffee with me or dinner. Yes, I was going to ask him out. Pretty bold of me, right? I had confidence and like the tests said, I was ready to "socialize."

So, at the conclusion of his talk, and when the clapping subsided, I made my way to the podium. I gave him my best big smile, and thinking he looked as good as he sounded, introduced myself. And then...his response, "Well, I'm Father Anthony, and I'm very pleased to meet you."

I was DEAD in my tracks. And I was ready to go home and get that beer!

====================================================

This story was inspired after reading one of Rachel Deeming's story, causing me to remember something from my past...

WitGeneralFunny
13

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 days ago

    I love it 😁😁

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    Hitting on the 'Father'. Three hail Mary's and a week cleaning the church. Still, most of them are really gorgeous, Do you think he knew your intentions devil lady. Saving you from embarrassment.

  • 😂😂🤣That is great!! I attended a divorce support group in 1984. When my divorce was final about six months later, I was asked to host one. It was the funniest thing as I had been reading about how many couples get back together after one year. I don't know if that reading was why but I got back with him after that group! Right away we both knew it wasn't going to work. I ended up in treatment and he ended up with my friend from grade school.😉

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    Hahaha. Blessed be the wicked. 🤣

  • bahahaha, this is perfect! Well, you know....I went one night to one of these...yes, they still have them. I could barely say my name without tears. I don't cry in public, so...I never went back. They reached out to me to give me my money back and /i said, keep it as a donation. In hind sight, I should have gone back. There were some pretty lonely times (and my mom died too) ugh, amazing how just typing the words stirs the emotion. ANYHOOO, I loved this, thank you for the laugh

  • Mariann Carroll16 days ago

    Lol, did not expect that ending 😂😂😂😱. It is definitely hard to get closure in a divorce when you still have to deal with toxic exes. That is a good group to start for sure. I got my closure this year, my ex was put in jail for his evil deed he thought he would get away with forever but it caught up to him

  • Omgggggg, I've had a similar experience where I found out that the guy I had a crush on was gay, lol. The heartbreak was the same hahahahaha. The way you told this story was so funny, I enjoyed it a lot! Also, I've never heard of divorce recovery before!

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Divorce recovery? I was doing the HAPPY DANCE with no looking back🙀🤣🤣🤣

  • Rachel Deeming17 days ago

    Oh, Shirley! I felt for you! Great tale!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.