Humor logo

Dementia is no Laughing Matter... Or is it?

Seeing the bright side...

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a year ago 3 min read
Dementia is no Laughing Matter... Or is it?
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Welcome to my wacky world…

Dementia is a very serious illness. It's not something to be taken lightly. Being the 24/7 caregiver of someone with dementia is a tough job all the way around. But it does have it's humorous side.

I care for my mom. She is in the advanced stages of dementia and some of the things this little 86-year-old lady says are hilarious.

One afternoon she was napping when she briefly woke up and lifted her little head and shouted out in her loud and demanding voice, "Give me a beer and a cigarette." It was so out of character to hear such a thing coming from my tiny mom that I just began cracking up.

I have a bath aid come to the house three times a week to bathe my mom. This one particular morning my mom was going to get a bed bath. But she was not cooperating. She was kicking and punching the bath aid. The bath aid managed to get my mom's gown off her. That’s when my mom said in a loud gruff voice, "Give me back my dress you bi*ch." I was shocked and the bath aid just looked at me and we both started laughing.

One afternoon my mom and I were talking. She was talking about how the dogs were acting up and it was causing a lot of problems. (Just as a note we do not have any dogs). So, I asked her, "What are we going to do about the dogs?" She quite decisively said, "Kill them." I was shocked. So shocked that I couldn't do anything else but laugh.

My friend Brian came over to have lunch. My mom, Brian, and I were sitting at the table together eating pizza. I gave my mom a small slice of pizza, one that she could handle. She took a good-sized bite and began chewing. With her mouth still full my mom looked toward Brian (mind you my mom is 100% blind). Brian was not sure what to expect. Then suddenly, the unexpected happened and my mom spit her pizza out at Brian. He was mortified she spit the pizza all over his shirt.

But wait, there's more!!! I ran upstairs to the bathroom to grab a washcloth so Brian could clean his shirt. While I was up there my dentist called to let me know we had to reschedule my appointment. When I made it back down (6 - 7 minutes later) my mom was sitting with no top on letting everything hang out. All I could say was, "Brian, meet my mom the nudist."

My mom often has a hard time coming up with the right words when speaking. This makes it a challenge for me to figure out.

The following is a list of things she's asked and what she meant:

Chicken wire = Kleenex

Hot rod = Toothpick

Flag = Toilet Paper

Apron = Kleenex

Dryer = Toilet Paper

Bobby pin = Toothpick

Cigarette = Toothpick

Cereal = Toilet Paper

Riviera Material - Kleenex

Sandpaper - Kleenex

Separate Menu - Blanket

Black Rose = Kleenex

The one that had me confused the most was Black Rose. My mom said, "Rick, give me a black rose." I was stumped. Her body language wasn't giving me any clues. So, I asked her, "What are you going to do with the black rose?" She said she wanted it for her nose. That's when I knew that she was asking for a kleenex.

I thought chicken wire and sandpaper were interesting. Those are both rough materials. I can only imagine blowing my nose with either one. Wouldn't that be something if I actually did give her a piece of sandpaper.

SatiricalLaughterIronyGeneralFunnyFamily

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Humor is pretty much the only way to get through hard times, and it cannot be easy caring for a parent with dementia. Your mom is lucky to be with family. I already have no filter, so if I get dementia, I hope my son handles it as graciously as you! I love how honestly you write.

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    You must be a smart man. I probably would have handed her the sandpaper, and quickly grabbed it from her when she went to wipe her nose

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    This is relatable in several ways! We dealt with my mom's dementia toward the end and there were a lot of things I had to laugh at, like the day we brought her a carton of cigarettes, only to be told belligerently that she didn't smoke. I can feel my own gears beginning to slip at times and Pam suffered a mild stroke a couple of years ago, which left her searching for the right words on occasion, so we spend quite a bit of time laughing at/with each other. thanks for writing about the lighter side, Rick!

  • Heather Hagyabout a year ago

    My grandmother had Lewy Body Dementia. I cared for her the last three years of her life before she died at age 93 right before the pandemic struck. In order to keep my sanity, I had to find the humor in her diagnosis. She would hallucinate often. One time she said she had frogs, lizards, and bugs crawling all over her apartment. This went on for weeks. She even threw out perfectly good groceries I had just bought for her because she said the bugs had gotten into them. She once microwaved a package of peanut butter wafer cookies because she thought they were something else (something microwaveable, apparently). This act destroyed the microwave and her apartment stunk for days. My favorite, though, was when she said a circus family had moved into the apartment with her - a grandpa, mom, dad, boy, and girl. She said the children were unruly, writing all over her walls, and that she had to clean up after them all the time. One time she had a particularly nasty fall. When I asked what happened, she said the circus grandpa and a midget had jumped her. It took everything I had to keep a straight face. Those three years were a rollercoaster of emotions for both of us, and I'm sure some people thought I was being mean by finding the humor in her (our) situation, but that's just my nature - to find the funny in hard times in order to get through them.

  • Omggg Rick! This was freaking hilarious! I thought "Kill them" would be my favourite but on thought, it's "Give me back my dress you b*itch!" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 And the pizza, lol, what was up with that? You have no idea how many times I literally Lol-ed reading this!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Bless her heart... You are handling things wonderfully!

  • I've always loved the outlook of Nanny Fein's grandmother on "The Nanny". Talking to the kids about growing old & loosing your memory she made a remark something along the lines of this: "Turning senile isn't so bad. No matter how many times someone tells me a joke, it's always new to me."

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    My sister and I had many funny moments with my mow that we all laughed about, even my mother. Have to have some levity through rough situations. Thank you for sharing.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    These were hilarious kudos to you for taking such good care of your mom she’s lucky to have you.

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    It's so heartwarming that you're finding bits of joy in this journey. It's tough. My mother had either Lewy Body Dementia or Late Onset Schizophrenia depending on which doctor was around. Some of her highlights included: Got fat, can't stand ya. (directed at my high school sweetheart after we reconnected 20 years later) You'd find a man if you weren't so ugly...put some makeup on. You're pretty, you're just fat (both this and the previous said to nurses) Why is everyone so stupid (said to pretty much anyone)

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with such light-hearted grace. It helps to remember that even in dark moments, there are patches of light and people to share it with. 💓 Wonderful piece, Rick!

  • Irene Economouabout a year ago

    Kudos to you, Rick, for finding a lighter side to what you go through taking care of your mom. Thank you for sharing this! 🥰❤️😄

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Outstanding humorous story!!! Thank you for sharing the horror of dementia and it doesn't have to be horrific!!! With humor and grace, you showed and demonstrated how to take things lightly, calmly, and patiently. ❤️❤️💕

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Such a fun story...You're an interpreter too? Wow, you have mad skills, Rick! Thank you for sharing the brighter side of dementia. It was entertaining.

Rick Henry Christopher Written by Rick Henry Christopher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.