Humor logo

At 44, I Gave Up Drinking, Now I Can't Stop Thinking (Of How Hot I Am)

A Medium.com article by Marissa Narski

By Scott ChristensonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2023
21

"You're 44?! You look hot!"

I'd like to let everyone on Medium know (sorry to those who are less attractive than me), that these are the words I need to live with hearing daily. Especially when I stroll the beach in Miami in my bikini.

In the depressing period of my life when I was drinking, I would have a bottle of white wine or two, with the same man in Ann Arbor Michigan every Friday and Saturday night, and on Sundays he would cook dinner for me (I thought he was an alcoholic too, but he went to work in the morning, so he was probably sipping his drinks.)

On some weekends, we would meet friends, people we've known since high school, and on holidays we would gather with our extended family. Family members seemed to care and accept us unconditionally, which felt great on holidays.

Then one day, I gave up drinking and quickly realized how many other people and possibilities exist in this amazing world of ours. I couldn't stop thinking about them!

How could I have been so blind? I must have been wearing pale green white wine bottle glasses up until now.

Miami, my new home.

So goodbye to Ann Arbor and boring Ted, and hello to Miami and exciting first dates on Tinder.

After saying farewell to my best friend Beth, I relocated to South Florida, found a job (one that pays almost as much as I earn on Medium), and located an apartment that nearly has an ocean view.

As I have so much excess mental energy after giving up drinking, I used it refining my Tinder profile into a gleaming diamond. It also helped to have saved a stunning profile photo taken six years ago.

I got busy swiping right and setting up dates.

Divorce is just paperwork, and that's someone else's problem now. I'm not letting it slow me down. Speaking of marriage, I should have married that amazingly gorgeous man with a great body, steamy personality, and hot anger management issues that I was dating when I was 22. The adventures we would have had together! But he's an old man now. The same age as me. Too bad.

Right now, I'm dating an airline pilot who's halfway on a flight to Sao Paulo, an active duty Air Force officer who promises to marry me when he returns on his next week of R&R and hot sex (not that I want that, marriage), and a bartender half my age that I spend Mondays and Tuesdays with.

Those are the keepers. The others, I ghost after 2 dates before they ghost me. Or, three dates, if the guy looks quiet and shy enough to not say anything really mean when he leaves after I tell him why I'm not available to join his Monday bowling night.

Last month, I did need to hide my cancer surgery from the guys I am dating, but that's just modern life. They might be medical phobic like I am. Or worse, what if they all showed up at the hospital at the same time?

Now that that shitty surgery is thankfully over, I'm eating again, and my refrigerator is stocked with the newest brand of probiotic yogurt, one which offers amazing health benefits. I don't like dairy, so I checked the label. Most of it expired yesterday. Is it ok to eat expired yogurt? Is more "good" bacteria even better for my amazing skin? My lack of sunspots, despite spending most mornings on the beach displaying my sleek body to the young men who play volleyball there, helps keep up my youthful hot girl look.

Thinking about where I am now, Holy shit! My life is amazing, and full of possibility. I'm glad I have the opportunity to tell you about it. 

By Vivian Cai on Unsplash

Tonight, I'm attending a sunset goat yoga class at 3rd Street Beach. While that little beast is on my downward dog facing hot little upward butt (I am hoping the goat doesn't decide to wee on my new Lululemon), I'm going to take a look around me. This being Miami, there might be a hot celebrity in the class, and he might be looking back at me. And then, just maybe, I want that goat to have a little oopsy, so whoever the next Zac Efron is comes running over and I can take my pants off.

I'll fill you in next time, wherever you are.

**

Thanks for taking the time to read about my amazing life!

My new book "Life Begins With a Vibrator" is coming out soon from Harper Collins (just kidding, it's self-published.)

"3 Hot Guys, 2 Ex-Wives, and My Ridiculously Amazing Life" will be released soon on Medium.

**

Note: I'm posting this on behalf of Marissa Narski, who states that some characters and events portrayed are fictitious. All photos from Unsplash and Wikimedia Commons. Some text was generated by RoastGPT.

Edited with ProWritingAid, which tried to take out 13 instances of the word "amazing", but which I put back in to keep things real.

RoastSatire
21

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend3 months ago

    I love the comedy in your story. By the way, do you see my pic? I'm 47, and that is a recent pic. I still get asked, "Are you 22?" For the record, I'm still married to that hot guy I met when I was 22! This is a true story, and that is an accurate picture of me, though, like many, you'll only believe me if you get to meet me!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This amused and confused me in equal measure 😅

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    I think I want to be you for a day...or year... 💘🫀😍

  • C. H. Richard5 months ago

    Lol That Marissa is something special 🤣 Amazing actually! Congratulations on Top story!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Narcissistic Narski. Well, she sure had fun-ish. I was like, wow, you can publish other people's work here..um...then I got it. Such brilliance. Congrats.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Back to say congratulations Well done

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oh Marissa. Part of me wants to swat her like a mosquito and part of me want to hug her, but I think I leaning more to the swat side. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    LOL poor Marissa! Quite the piece of satire here, Scott!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    LOL...this is full of desperation and sadness...but hilarious too? Congrats on Marissa getting on the front page in her awesomeness! lol.

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    In a whirlpool of emotions around this one. Sad, funny, pity... Felt them all. 💫

  • Kageno Hoshino5 months ago

    This was quit sad but kind of mix of fellings

  • In my series of lightly roasting some of the popular Influencer types on Medium, any suggestions welcome. The get rich quick clickbait influencers are definitely on my list.

  • Adrianne Kirksey5 months ago

    It was the title for me!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I am unsure as to how this story made me feel…..pity? I found it very interesting.

  • Is there a rendezvous destined between Bubski and Marissa? Talk about polar different stories you might get from such an event! You've done it again! I particularly loved that "nearly has an ocean view".

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I'm in a maudlin mood it seems, I'm left feeling quite sad!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Please don’t feel us in anymore Marissa. Thank you! 😆

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    And the satirical personae multiply! You are a master of the mode.

  • Pilot, Air Force officer and a bartender. Lol. I wished she didn't hide her surgery and they showed up at the hospital at the same time 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.