Humor logo

12.5 Things in 2.5 Minutes

A few further exercises in lunacy!

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
12.5 Things in 2.5 Minutes
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

So, as many will know, I am not one to shy away from some of the most ridiculous challenges. For instance, I set myself the challenge of writing a piece of poetry that used two words from each of the previous 99 pieces I had published to celebrate my 100th Vocal published piece. Crikey, that's a lot of use of the word "piece." Never mind. For the full experience, you can check out that lunacy below:

I also had long-planned writing a piece that utilised the Fibonacci Sequence because - why not? Haha! You can check out the results below:

I then, following the trusted guidance and direction of Judey Kalchik (she's still getting the blame!) I took part in the brilliant fun and lunacy that was the #100 Things in 20 Minutes challenge. You can check that out below:

To break up the work I am doing on several pieces and to help jog my mind to come up with something great for the Mythmaker challenge, I've been trying to think of similar but different challenges.

One idea I came up with was "20 poems in 100 minutes,"...which I might do. I have no idea what the requirements would be, but I think there would need to be at least 3 or 4 lines per poem for them to count.

Even though I am not a numbers guy, I decided also to start messing around with the challenge above's requirements. Halving seemed a fun way to go - a quicker and shorter challenge might be easier and may produce similarly interesting results.

I like the idea of "50 Things in 10 Minutes", but it doesn't feel pressured enough. So, I halved it again.

"25 Things in 5 Minutes" sounds good, but still, halved it again.

"12.5 Things in 2.5 Minutes" seems a bit random, but maybe I'll come back to that.

"6.25 Things in 1.25 Minutes" seems even more ridiculous and unlikely at best.

and "3.125 Things in 0.625 Minutes" is just a disaster waiting to happen.

So..."12.5 Things in 2.5 Minutes" it is...

So...I got the timer ready.

My 12.5 Things in 2.5 Minutes

  1. This should be a lot easier. There are less numbers, at least.
  2. I wonder if anyone else will take up the challenge.
  3. I've really enjoyed the amount of unofficial challenges there have been
  4. The response to them has been nothing short of exceptional.
  5. I don't really have a clue what to say, actually.
  6. The sun is shining, and it looks like it is going to be a good day.
  7. We are waiting for an engineer to come out for our broadband
  8. It is not working properly.
  9. Reminds me of dial-up times sometimes.
  10. I don't miss that at all.
  11. We might be going to see Barbie tonight. I don't know.
  12. I am looking forward to it. Unironically
  13. This was not as hard as I thought.

So...13...I'm happy enough with that.

My 25 Things in 5 Minutes

Not convinced by the above, I felt I should probably give this a go too, so here is my 25 Things in 5 Minutes.

  1. So yeah, our broadband is very sketchy right now. Hope it gets sorted.
  2. Interest in our 6 puppies is very slow at the moment, but Ruth has made changes to the original ad and is going to put one up somewhere else too.
  3. I only have vague ideas for the Mythmaker challenge. The ones I've read so far have been so great.
  4. I have not finalised my list of pieces for this week's Vocal Deep Cuts.
  5. It will be imaginatively called Vocal Deep Cuts 3. I am happy enough with that. Does what it says on the tin.
  6. I know who I am going to feature this week. No, I will not divulge those details in this piece.
  7. It's funny when you focus your mind to just write, what actually comes out.
  8. I am pleased with the recent poems I have published. Sorry, bit of self-promotion there.
  9. I also am planning out my Writing Guide Writer's guide thing. So that should be done this week or next.
  10. It's actual real work I need to find.
  11. I am also thinking of buying/picking up some old furniture and restoring it. Even though I have no real experience doing it.
  12. Saw some YouTubes and TikToks and think it might be good fun and make a few pennies!
  13. I'd stick to wooden pieces because metal might be much more labour-intensive.
  14. I have no idea what number I am on, but I am also not going to check
  15. I still want to do a Guilty Pleasures playlist/piece about why it is wrong to call things Guilty Pleasures, especially when talking about music. But my playlists are never really well received, so I'm not very motivated to do it.

Damn...only 15...I'm not very good at this haha!

Well, there you go. I did better at the smaller, quicker one. If you do have a go at this, pop a link in the comments so I can applaud your better efforts than mine. If not, that's fine too!

*

Thanks for reading!

FunnyGeneral

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    I enjoyed reading this! I never attempted this because it seemed too stressful and I don't function well under pressure. But your 12.5 things in 5 mins seems not too bad. I won't for go the 25 things in 10mins. That still stresses me out, lol! Here you go 🍩🥐

  • "Piece out, man!" I say with a drugged out look, two fingers stuck up in the air (on the same hand & in the friendly direction), & a spell check that doesn't check for homonyms.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well, now I don't know what to do! Let's see, if I get 24 words to the gallon, and there are 5 thoughts to the ounce - or is that the other way around? Wait, are we using the Imperial scale? And why would I want to stack pancakes on top of a doghouse, anyway? (I still intend to give Judey's challenge a try, but I suspect it will look something like this.)

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Super, loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I’m interested to know what you & Ruth thought of Barbie. 😊

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I enjoy your process to recreate the 100 things! The intent (for me) is to jingle up my creativity. I wonder if it helped break loose a mythmaker idea for me? My entry came in almost a whole piece when I sat to write is, so maybe so!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.