Humans logo

Who I Am

Just The Facts

By Dawn SaloisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
27

I was born on the Blackfeet Reservation in northern Montana—the eastern gateway of Glacier National Park. I grew up gathering wild herbs and berries, fishing, trapping, and hunting. I even learned to do beadwork, but it’s been so long since I’ve done it I only vaguely remember how. My parents divorced when I was in middle school and when I was halfway through high school my mother decided to go back to college. So she, my sister, and I moved hundreds of miles away so she could attend college in Billings, Montana.

By Ethan Wiese on Unsplash

Billings was the largest town in Montana and it was a difficult adjustment, but eventually I got used to it and couldn’t imagine moving back to the small town I had grown up in. My town had three television stations, no cable TV (at that time), and no fast food places. I started college with a double major in Math and Biology, but I spent a summer taking a work-study tour in Greece after my sophomore year and decided I wanted to study art instead. I went to Israel the next summer for an archaeological dig and also took an interest in ancient cultures. After college I moved to Vancouver, Washington where my son was born.

Over the years I have done a lot of different jobs. I’ve spent the most time working as a cook, but I’ve also worked as a ranch hand and worked as a special inspector in the construction industry. I spent a couple of years caring for, and homeschooling, my nephew.

My son and I moved to Las Vegas, Nevada to live with my sister and her son. The boys were eight years apart in age, but they grew up as the closest thing either boy would ever have to a sibling. We all eventually moved to Orange County, California and we have been here ever since then.

Over the years I’ve had a lot of different hobbies and interests. I have been a huge Metallica fan for most of my life. I detailed my adventure with cake decorating in my story, Themed Cakes. I love all sorts of superhero movies, science fiction, and anime. My family and I have trained in Krav Maga off and on for the past six years. My son even earned his black belt. My studio shut down at the beginning of the pandemic and I haven’t gone back yet. I would actually love to go back, but I’m embarrassed because I’ve gotten so out of shape. I also love taking walks on the beach.

A sunset on one of my beach walks.

Writing is my new hobby. I had never actually written anything outside of school assignments until I saw an ad on Instagram for the Vocal Doomsday Diary Challenge a couple of months ago. I joined Vocal and entered the challenge. Obviously, I didn’t win, but I found out that I really enjoyed writing that first story. I started writing stories for other challenges and it became almost an obsession. So far everything except my Themed Cakes story would mostly be categorized in the fiction genre. I have been writing a young adult series that I continued from my very first story, Rebirth. I feel like my writing has improved in the short time since I joined Vocal, but I have trouble coming up with ideas outside of writing for the challenges. Having even just one small requirement for the story seems to help me focus. I used the last four SFS challenges to continue my “Rebirth” series.

This is the first piece I’ve written that is not for a challenge. Although I still plan to enter writing challenges, my goal for future pieces is to try to get outside my comfort zone and write for a wider variety of communities. I have also become more focused on reading the works of my fellow creators. I have discovered many amazing writers this way. I just wish I had discovered writing, and Vocal, a lot sooner.

humanity
27

About the Creator

Dawn Salois

Mother of a wonderful son. Writing is a relatively new passion of mine. I love to create my own images. Self-published author of Shadow and Flame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.