Humans logo

What Everybody Wants (and How To Give It To Them)

Scammers know this

By Jonathan PeykarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What Everybody Wants (and How To Give It To Them)
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

I learned a lot about people in the last ten years. It wasn't intentional, just the way things happened.

Girls rejected me left and right, so I had to learn how to date better. Prospects rejected my business offers and I couldn't sell. So I had to study my clients and the fundamentals of selling. And, of course, my advertising career shaped how I view people.

You can say a lot about humans. But one thing always stays the same.

What everybody wants (and what scammers prey on)

We all want to feel special. Important. I think it's a combination of our need to feel validated, appreciated, and ego.

We want to feel appreciated at work. Like we matter.It's a good feeling when colleagues "can't do without you" at the office. Maybe it's the biggest compliment. You're needed; others can't do well when you're not around.

Same thing with relationships. We want to be that "significant other". Otherwise, it's probably a casual fling-

Someone you see every now and then for sex. That causal relationship doesn't have much value other than satisfying basic needs.

This reminds me of the Tinder Swindler.

You got a guy making millions out of playing it "boyfriend material" with girls, making them feel special. He flies them in his private jet. Drives them around with his Ferrari. Takes them out to the finest restaurant and clubs.

Of course, this happens only for a short period. Once he made that "WOW!" first impression, making the girl feel like she was in a movie,

he leans back and lets her invest in him.

And why wouldn't she. She's been chosen out of all women to spend time with this once-in-a-lifetime guy.

She must be unique. Special.

What marketers know (that you don't)

I've been launching ad campaigns for clients since 2016.  A lot goes into a campaign. However, the most important thing you need is EMPATHY.

If your ads don't empathise with your prospect, you're losing out as a salesman. Your chances of selling decrease.

Smart marketers know this.

They research to find people's deepest fears, worries, and desires. And when a prospect sees an ad like this, it strikes a chord.

It makes him feel someone finally gets him. "Oh, that's exactly what I need.

This is by far the easiest way to lure people. You focus on the other and make him feel appreciated. Understood.

How to (ethically) make people fall in love with you

You can disarm people and charm them quite easily.

Not long ago, one of my clients worked with a consultant who helped them with strategy.

She was a lovely woman, a professional with good intentions.

But we had a conflicting interest since we competed for our client's money. At the end of the day, I knew my way of doing things was better for the client.

I could feel the tension. I needed to be diplomatic about that.

I picked up the phone and called her. I told her, "Maya, I think you're very professional. I totally appreciate your work."

Then I explained my reasoning for the way I worked.

Since then, everything has become a smooth ride. She didn't resist and even supported my ideas and methodology. Appreciating others is the easiest way to charm them if you ask me.

There isn't much you need to do other than let them know their impact on you. Whether it's an emotional impact, a first impression they made, or whatever.

You can do it in relationships. Career. Family and friends.

The trick is you have to be honest about it. You can lie and have your way, but it'll backfire.

Conclusion

Understand people. Make an effort to study them. Learn how to communicate in a way that gets your message across. With the right mindset and good intentions, you can improve your and their lives.

how todating
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Peykar

I write about relationships, life lessons, and self-improvement.

Get my free ebook, "Life Lessons From Getting Rejected by Hundreds Of Women"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.