Humans logo

To the woman who blew

Lessons in road rage.

By Keesha M.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

To the woman who blew, I didn’t see you. I checked for you, I used my blinker and I waited but you did not appear. Woman Who Blew, I lost my uncle today. I was on the phone to keep my mind at ease while heading into work. I should have stayed home. I should have mourned, but I just got this job, and I can’t afford to lose it. So, Woman Who Blew, I did look for you and when I started to change lanes you were silent. Instead of slowing down or giving a honk that said, “I’m over here!” you did nothing. Instead, you sped up until I was looking over at you and then you laid on your horn as if I was your enemy. You threw your hands up as I pulled away. You made gestures at me.

Woman Who Blew, you took this minor accident to heart. 20 minutes. It takes 20 minutes to get to the small town in which I work. You harbored anger against me for 20 minutes. How your heart must have been troubled. How your teeth must have clenched. I’m sure your blood was pumping, and you chose to hold on to that. The negative energy built up in your car as you drove ahead of me. As I changed lanes to get to work, you slowed down and made more gestures at me. You wanted to give me a piece of your mind, and although I am still confident in what I did, I allowed myself to take fault. I slowed down just to apologize. I mouthed ‘I’m sorry’ with eyes still full of tears from the news I received. I apologized three times. You saw the pain in my eyes, and you scoffed. You looked at me and I looked at you. I saw a spirit of anger and bitterness. You looked at me and saw sadness and sympathy despite your gestures. Woman Who Blew, you knew nothing about my situation. You knew nothing about me, and I knew nothing about you. You looked at my face and it changed nothing. You read my lips and it changed nothing. I looked at you and as I did, I became sorrowful. Woman Who Blew, I wish you were happier. I wish a mistake did not define your entire day. You did not care for my apology. Instead, you continued to fuss. Your goal today was to harbor anger, but it was more than that! Your goal was to spread it to me. As I drove on, I remained hopeful for you.

Woman Who Blew, I had a choice today. I suffered a loss, I lost funding for college, and I am working hard to take care of my family. My morning was rough. I persevered. I cried, I wondered why, and I chose to keep my mind on things above. I told myself before I got on the road today, the devil is trying to get my mind away from all the blessings I’ve received. I said, “Thank you, God! You’ve given me so much and I will not lose sight of that! These trials are like the valley and with God, I will continue to walk through!” So, Woman Who Blew I hope my sincere apology broke up your will to stay angry. I hope that you realized after I was gone that you had a choice too. We had a choice to let an accident that didn’t happen ruin our day or move on. I moved on and I hope you do too. I’m praying for you Woman Who Blew...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Keesha M.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.