Poets logo

Humanity

One poem, with two meanings.

By Keesha M.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I can see either side of spectrum,

I feel reds and blues and greys.

Though my heart is ever growing,

neither brown nor yellow phased.

I reach out from black, my safety

To white light within my grasp.

I am all and speak it freely,

For I refuse to live in past.

I see all colors bright and true,

Everyone I see is good.

Why should anything divide them?

Each one perfect in God’s sight,

When mixed they stand together

And new hues entice my eyes.

Stand together you strong colors,

All made with wax inside.

Warm brights and cools remember,

No difference can be seen

When day turns into night.

There is room for many colors

On this green and blue expanse,

But the colors never change

What lies beneath this land.

I can see both sides of life,

I feel hatred and divide.

My heart grows in love each day,

But I can’t help them when I hide.

My dad, he is my safety,

And my mom I hold so close.

Neither drop of blood can change

Two beautiful sides that God chose.

I love people the way we should;

Human first, for this is true.

Nothing should divide us,

Standing together makes a view!

Stand tall against the wrong,

The lies and troubled paths.

Stand as one, shoulder to shoulder

Not one more different than the last.

Who we are and how we look

Are not one in the same trait.

Because when our eyes are closed,

A heart does not change,

Just remember grace, forget the shades.

I find comfort among my kind,

And that kind is human race.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Keesha M.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.